Customer Reviews


297 Reviews
5 star:
 (155)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wraith's Wrath
This is an excellent movie. I just recently saw this on cable and it reminded me of the fact.Charlie Sheen really is an excellent actor and the female lead in this, Sherilyn Fenn is a pretty, talented and appealing actress.I can't say good enough things about Sheen and Fenn. One thing I didn't like about this film was that you don't see a lot of Sheen in this even though...
Published on May 21, 2003 by phantom

versus
45 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THOSE HAIRDOS
THE WRAITH is one of those films that definitely cannot deny its 80s heritage. With a soundtrack laden with 80s greats like Bonnie Tyler, Ozzie Osbourne and Robert Palmer among others, the movie is a homage to those delightfully corny times. And the hairdos...Clint Howard's pompadour, Nick Cassavettes "bad guy" look; the punk look of Skank, and of course Charlie Sheen's...
Published on June 20, 2005 by Michael Butts


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wraith's Wrath, May 21, 2003
This review is from: The Wraith [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is an excellent movie. I just recently saw this on cable and it reminded me of the fact.Charlie Sheen really is an excellent actor and the female lead in this, Sherilyn Fenn is a pretty, talented and appealing actress.I can't say good enough things about Sheen and Fenn. One thing I didn't like about this film was that you don't see a lot of Sheen in this even though he is the lead actor.
The story is a teenager is murdered by a gang. The gangleader is pretty much a psychopath and him and his gang murdered Jamie, the character who dies and comes back as The Wraith.This was probably motivated by jealousy and a possessiveness of Sherilyn Fenn's character who is not interested in the gangleader at all romantically.
Charlie Sheen's character Jake, previously Jamie in another life, returns to wreak revenge on the gangleader and his gang, who are illegal car racers.The Wraith challenges them with his prototype Interceptor car and one by one the gang end up dead;their cars a wreck. They should each be burned beyond recognition (the only way to identify them through dental records) but strangely enough they are unburnt and their eyes are missing.
The action in this is great, it is one of Sheen's best movies. Standout action scene is where there is a car chase and new cars fall off a semi-trailer onto the road.
The special effects are fabulous where The Wraith disappears. I have seen a lot of special effects in movies and these are one of the most impressive I have ever seen.
Thoroughly recommended for Sheen fans, fans of cars and teenagers.I loved it and I am not a teenager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THOSE HAIRDOS, June 20, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Wraith (DVD)
THE WRAITH is one of those films that definitely cannot deny its 80s heritage. With a soundtrack laden with 80s greats like Bonnie Tyler, Ozzie Osbourne and Robert Palmer among others, the movie is a homage to those delightfully corny times. And the hairdos...Clint Howard's pompadour, Nick Cassavettes "bad guy" look; the punk look of Skank, and of course Charlie Sheen's nice guy fluff. Not to mention the divine Sherilyn Fenn in her pre-Twin Peaks day. The movie opens with something coming from outer space that morphs into a hot car and a costumed driver. We learn that a gang of punks (led by the irrepressibly vile Nick Cassavettes) have murdered a young man who was messing around with Nick's honey (Fenn). Soon the guys are picked off one by one by the mysterious driver in the souped up car and Sheriff Randy Quaid sets out to find out who this mysterious stranger is. Viewers will figure it out pretty quickly, but THE WRAITH is an entertaining movie, with little unpredictable twists, but the sense of poetic justice is satisfied and that 80s soundtrack is pretty exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still A Good View, July 28, 2007
This review is from: The Wraith (DVD)
I once watched this 5 times in one day. I was young and stupid....not to mention really bored at the time. Luckily, it was a pretty good movie, so it was not such a chore to get through.

The plot is basic: new kid moves to town, and gets interested in a local girl, Keri. The local hot rod gang leader also has an interest in her and decides to protect those interests. Jake, the new guy, finds himself on the other side of death with a new machine and serious axe to grind. The revenge starts with challenges to races, and as the gang dwindles, so the panic increases.

By today's standards, the effects are on the cheesy side, though that does not entirely detract from the movie's charms. The acting is pretty much what you would expect from a fairly low budget movie, though it is certainly not the worst about. Sheen makes a good impression with his portrayal of the Wraith/Jake, with his "boyish charm".

It is a cult classic, and that is what "The Wraith" will probably always be. It appeals to a particular taste, but if you are into unusual films, this could be worth a look. I still enjoy it, a decade and more later. Still a great film to kick back and zone out with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 80's classic, February 22, 2006
This review is from: The Wraith (DVD)
great 80's movie, watched in late night wen i was a young kid. had to buy the dvd to re-live classic memmories. buy it today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of my favorite movies of all time, September 6, 2002
This review is from: The Wraith [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The Wraith is awsome!
the movie is about a kid named Jamie Henkins who gets killed by a car gang led by Packard. the rest of the gang includes Oggie, who drives my favorite car, Minty, Clint Howard (forgot his character's name) and my two favorites, Skank and Gutterboy.
a new kid suddenly shows up to town named Jake, who is really Jamie in his new form and comes back to take back his love, Keri Johnson.
from here, the action begins. the car the wraith drives, from what i heard, is a Dodge Turbo Interceptor, custom, and awsome! the best car in the movie.
after racing Oggie and Minty and getting his revenge on them, he then runs head on into their warehouse where they kill the lively duo of Skank and the Gutterboy. these two are hilarous and if for not the cars, then these 2 hooligans will keep you watching this film over and over.
Packard, after denying that Jamie, the wraith has come back for him, Packard is confronted by the wraith in a cemetary where Pack sees his own grave! in one last brilliant race, the Wraith and the Turbo race Pack and his corvette. the ending is brilliant. head on crash, ball of fire, just flat out awsome. this movie is awsome!
movie stars Charlie Sheen, Randy Quaid, Clint Howard, and Sherilyn Fenn. great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you're all wrong, November 16, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wraith [VHS] (VHS Tape)
this movie is not about the car(although it's a really cool car) this movie is about a love so true that even death couldn't stop it. the hero was murdered by the villain and his crew cause the villain wanted the girl for himself. the hero thru the power of his love returns to exact revenge and reclaim his love and teach her to be strong enough to stand up for herself even though she too is scared of packard and it's also about the love of a brother and his last gift to him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great 80's Hero/Revenge Story with a tough of love, November 17, 2003
By 
K. Dean Anderson (Port Angeles, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wraith (DVD)
I was 16 or 17 when I saw this movie and I loved it. If you are looking for a deep, serious, modern, adult, tear-jerking drama, you don't want this. Having said that, this is an otherwise very cool movie! It is one of my favorite movies of the 80's (top 20) and an early masterpiece for Charlie Sheen. Hero ghost comes back and gets revenge, scores points with the girl, and sets up his bro with a hot supernatural car... sounds a little cheesey? Hey, it's a 1986 action movie about a ghost coming back for revenge! But, for it's time it is EXCELLENT! I recommend it. The car is incredible and yes, I want one. To this day (I'm 32 now) I look for photos of it on the web. The Dodge Turbo Interceptor. Anyway, the movie is a good action/revenge movie with a hint of comedy and an awesome soundtrack. "Where's the Fire" by Tim Feehan is fantastic and ahead of it's time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An awsome movie and even better soundtrack, August 22, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wraith [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I have never gotten tired of this movie. I have the soundtrack on tape. I have just remastered it on Cd so I will never lose its quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A movie that I never get tired of watching, April 29, 2000
This review is from: The Wraith [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The electrafying story of a man who was murdered, who comes back to life with a different face and a car with a futuristic design and a Unstoppable Car and a Real Rock and Roll Soundtrack that goes along with the movie. Stars then unknown, are now quite well known. This movie was well written, the special effects are great. I wish I could obtain the soundtrack as it has 'one cool bunch of tunes'.I myself have watched this movie in excess of of 250 times, I never tire of this movie that has the best qualities, I hope to get it in a D.V.D. Directors Cut, as I will be the first in line to buy it, and was made with Dolby Surround, Sci-Fi and Horror fans alike will be taken by this movie. If it is your 1st time or your 50th time, Buy it take my word that you will not be let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great undiscovered treasures of the 80's, November 16, 2005
This review is from: The Wraith [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I remember seeing The Wraith the night before Thanksgiving, 1987. I was surprisingly impressed. Even though it can be a little cheesy at times, it has enough character to make up for it. The Wraith-mobile was the coolest car that I had seen growing up, except for K.I.T.T. or the General Lee, until 1989's Batmobile. The cast including Randy Quaid, Charlie Sheen, Sherilyn Fenn, and Clint Howard turned in exceptional performances. Charlie Sheen comes back from the grave as a Wraith with a really cool car to avenge his death from a group of road pirates and to get his old girlfriend. Be sure to look for Skank and Gutter-boy. They are a hoot. If like off-the-beat films from any era, especially the 80's, then you have got to get this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Wraith
The Wraith by Mike Marvin
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.