Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$41.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 27, 2001
"The X-Files: Fight the Future" is an endlessly fascinating and complicated movie that ties together all the mythology pieces from the popular series upon which it's based. Although I think that people who never watch the show can enjoy this movie, I doubt they can understand it very well. Heck, I watch the show religiously and I still don't think I understand everything.
However, it succeeds in introducing the audience to the characters of Agents Mulder and Scully, without rehashing the things that are familiar to the fans of the show. When we are first introduced to our favorite duo, their conversation on their cell phones is enjoyable to both old audiences and new ones alike.
The film also makes clear the deep affection and love Mulder and Scully feel for each other--something regular viewers already know--which comes to a head in the famous hallway scene outside of Mulder's apartment.
The film is top quality, as we've come to expect no less from "The X-Files," with an intelligent story-line, great action sequences and special effects, and plenty of aliens to satisfy the sci-fi junkie in all of us. But don't get me wrong--you don't have to be a sci-fi junkie to enjoy this film. You have to like a good suspense/thriller, with some action, intelligent story-telling, and yes, a little bit of hinted-at romance. I mean, for "The X-Files," any 'Shipper will tell you that this is a pretty romantic movie. As one of those so-called 'Shippers, I was very angry at that darn bee, which was my biggest disappointment.
The DVD itself is nicely presented, with all the theatrical trailers, an informative commentary track by Rob Bowman and Chris Carter, and an interesting behind-the-scenes look at the making of the film. Best of all, it has added footage not originally in the theatrical version.
This DVD is sure to please all forms of movie-goers. =)
11 comment| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2000
I wouldn't pretend to be one who regularly watches the television series on which this film is based. However, I've often watched and have always marveled at how life is played out in the head of creator Chris Carter. To base a motion picture on a television series, you have to give a regular viewer more than you would normally and yet still make the movie comprehensible to the viewer of happenstance. I think Mr. Carter succeeded.
The movie opens in the past. Quite a ways past, in fact. 30,000 B.C. in a place we now know as North Texas. At this point in time, North Texas is a cold and barren place but something happens which sets the stage for what is about to come.
After this incident, we move to "present-day" Dallas, Texas where the FBI is investigating a terrorist bomb threat in the Federal Building. We shortly meet our two heroes, agent Fox Mulder (David Duchovny) and agent Dana Scully (Gillian Anderson). In short order, we're told that the X-Files have been closed but that Mulder and Scully are still partnered. Scully is somewhat exasperated because her partner is again being unorthodox and searching another building across the street from the one the rest of the Bureau is searching. Finding nothing, Scully and Mulder prepare to leave the building when Mulder decides to buy a soda from a nearby vending machine. Instead, what he finds is the vending machine unplugged and a bomb -- a very big bomb -- inside it. And Mulder is locked in the room with it. This being the 90s, Mulder calls Scully on his cellular phone and she arranges to have the building cleared and the FBI team brought to the building to get Mulder out and defuse the bomb. One part of the plan works.
This is brilliant screenwriting because once you accept that agent Mulder is a tad unorthodox and has an uncanny knack for stumbling into the truth, it's completely believable to believe a scenario that would have a terrorist call in a threat to one building and blow up a different one. The resulting explosion evokes memories of the Oklahoma City bombing quite chillingly. However, instead of Scully and Mulder being hailed as heroes, they're hauled in front of an inquiry to explain why five people died instead of the countless number that would have died had the bomb not been discovered.
As Mr. Carter points out in a short "Making Of..." presentation before the movie begins, the truth is not always the truth and things are not always as they seem. The Dallas bombing sets off a chain of events which takes us not only through the Southwest, but to England, Antarctica, and Tunisia.
This really is an excellent piece of filmmaking and there's lots of credit to go around. First, there's a solid, finely nuanced story by creator/screenwriter Carter and collaborator Frank Spotnitz. This is a piece of work that stands completely on its own. You don't have to be a fan of the television series to enjoy the film; however, the movie is almost completely consistent with the series and fits like a puzzle piece with it. The acting is really quite superb. David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson are fresh and lively in their portrayals of Mulder and Scully. There is a guest appearance by Martin Landau as a conspiracy theorist doctor who, in shadowy fashion, guides Mulder toward the truth. Blythe Danner appears as the chief investigator of an inquiry where the outcome seems already determined. Series regulars are much in evidence as well. Mitch Pileggi as Assistant Director Walter Skinner and, especially, William B. Davis as the Cigarette-Smoking Man keep the action moving throughout the film.
Regardless of whether you're a fan of the series or not, this film will make a fine evening's entertainment.
[Originally written 18 October 1998]
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2003
At the end of the outstanding fifth season, Chris Carters genius found a new canvas via the silver screen in this, the culmination of five years of superb episodic television. On the silver screen; The X-Files, David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson are in every way movie stars and the genre in this format are visually stunning. Chris Carters genius shines through as this film was made prior to shooting the fifth season of the episode and therefore they had to design the entire fifth season around the film. In no uncertain terms, Chris Carter and the other producers of the series proved that they could exceed even their own high standards and take the genre to the silver screen. The only real question is, now that the series is over after nine years, are or when are they going to film a second movie?
The premise: MINOR SPOILERS
At the conclusion of the fifth season, The X-Files have been closed as those who have been conspiring with the alien forces have desired to do, since Mulder and Scully were getting a little too close to their flame.
The movie opens with a stunning scene taking the viewers back thirty five thousand years where we witness an encounter between cavemen and an alien. We're then taken to the present day where Mulder and Scully are in Dallas, TX. The X-Files are closed and they're working as normal agents, searching for a bomb on a hot Texas day. Unfortunately for them, although Mulder discovers the location of the bomb, it still goes off, killing a senior agent and supposedly three other people in the building. This leads to the FBI needing scapegoats and directing the separation of Mulder and Scully. Of course, Mulder can't sit still for this and in the only way he and Scully know how, they begin to uncover the conspirators' plots.
What follows is simply a silver screen masterpiece as we are finally, after five wonderful years of questions, given some answers. Unfortunately along with these long awaited answers we find that there are more questions. As the producers of the show have stated all along, they've been making television movies all along and were ready for the big screen, so right they were.
Exceptional performances by David Duchovny, Gillian Anderson, William B. Davis and Mitch Pileggi. Nods to Chris Carter and director Rob Bowman for casting Martin Landau. Mark Snow who has done the score for every episode is, of course, given the opportunity to exceed his own high standards in the film, as the score is beautifully played out. Highlighting the score is the film being digitally THX mastered.
Bonus Features:
The Making of "The X-Files;" Audio Commentary; Extra Footage and Theatrical Trailers. Included in the DVD case is a special eight page booklet giving a short synopsis of several of "The X-Files" key players and a small card displaying one of the many wonderful paintings done of Gillian Anderson and David Duchovny.
I would highly recommend this film, even for the casual viewer or somebody new to the genre as the filmmakers ensured to make it accessible to even those who'd never once seen an episode.
33 comments| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2006
There are additional features in this the "thicker sets". dvd features for season one not in the slim include:

Interviews with Chris Carter about 12 of his favorite episodes: Pilot, Deep Throat, Squeeze, Conduit, Ice, Fallen Angel, Eve, Beyond The Sea, E.B.E, Darkness Falls, Tooms and The Erlenmeyer Flask

Paranormal and Alien Abduction Trivia and Weblinks

Cross Reference of 24 Previews

An all new 11-minute "Truth About Season One" documentary

47 promotional television spots

DVD-ROM Games

11 "Behind-the-Truth" segments from F/X

but if you never heck out extras go with the slim versions.(some stores have marked down the thick versions to the same price as the slim)
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2007
...you care about having the bonus features that are on these sets, to respond to S William Shaw's comment. The slim sets do not come with bonus features (or at least do not have nearly as many bonus features as these sets do).

So, if you care enough about the X-Files to be interested in Behind-the-Scenes stuff and other features, this is the set you want to buy, even though they're more expensive. However, if you just want the episodes, of course you should by the slim sets. For me, I want the features as well, which is why I own these (of course, I did buy them before the slim sets came out).
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2004
The X-Files "Fight the Future" takes place after the end of season five when the X-Files have been shut down. FBI agents Fox Mulder (David Duchovny) and Dana Scully ( Gillian Anderson) are assigned to a Federal building in Dallas to locate a bomb. Unfortunately, the bomb goes off before it can be defused, and an FBI agent as well as three fireman and a boy are killed in the explosion. The FBI needs someone to blame for what happened and look to Mulder and Scully. Wanting to find out what really happened to save their careers, Mulder starts searching for clues. He soon encounters a paranoid doctor ( Martin Landau) who reveals to Mulder a conspiracy dealing with a deadly virus that could be alien in origin - and capable of destroying all life on earth. Mulder and Scully are soon forced to put their careers and lives on the line, when they are pitted against a powerful group of men known as the Syndicate, who are somehow connected with the virus and willing to kill to keep their secrets safe.
The X-Files film "Fight the Future" offers a very enjoyable transition from the television series to the big screen. I first saw the film, back when it was released in theaters. I had never seen a single episode from the show, and even though there were some things I did not understand, like who the Lone Gunmen were, the Syndicate's role in the overall conspiracy, etc., the film managed to entertain me. Now that the prices on the DVD sets for the show have been reduced, I was able to go back and finally watch the first five seasons. I recently watched the film again, and I really enjoyed it because I was finally able to understand all the smaller details that eluded me the first time around. David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson are in fine form once again as Mulder and Scully. Martin Landau was very good as well. Fans of the show will be happy with the film, because it does a very good job expanding on the overall mythology, as well as bringing in characters from the show like Assitant Director Skinner played by Mitch Pillegi, the Lone Gunmen, and the Cigarette Smoking Man played by William Davis. The special effects, action sequences, and suspense this film brings will entertain people who have never seen the show.
In my opinion, "Fight the Future" can be enjoyed by hardcore fans of the show, as well as a person who has never seen the show. I know this from experience because I was able to watch the film from both points of view. In fact, it was seeing the film the first time around that made me want to watch the show in the first place. The DVD itself offers top notch picture and sound quality, as well as commentary from Chris Carter, and an in-depth featurette on the making of the movie and the transition from the show to the big screen.
A solid 5 stars...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2007
Yes, this package is pricey but I read on tvshowsondvd com that on Nov. 6, 2007 the studio is releasing the Complete Collector's Edition. A whopping 61 disks (but no briefcase) - All 9 seasons and the movie and gobs of extras. The number of disks per season matches the original releases and NOT the slim sets. MSRP is $329.98 (that's $5.41 per disk), so Amazon's price will probably be under $300.00 should they decide to offer it.

So, if you want to pay an additional $220.00 for the "cool" briefcase, get this one. If not, wait 'til November.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 1999
This "wave" (5), along with 6, are the video representatives of the third season of the X Files. Since the X Files have set a standard of excellence that will most likely NEVER by equalled in television again, discussion of the merits of this or that particular episode/season should be qualified; in other words, even the BAD episodes (there aren't many) have something of interest in them. That being said, I feel that season three is the best overall season to date; although only 12 episodes have been chosen (as with the other seasons), they easily could have rounded up another 8 of similiar quality ( e.g. OUBLIETTE, GROTESQUE, SYZYGY,THE LIST,etc). The mythology 2-parters from the 3rd season are the absolute best to date. Newcomers to the X Files will be blown away by the production values these shows exhibit. Also included are writer Darrin Morgan's masterpieces, self-mocking,quirky and strangely moving. I can't recommend these episodes highly enough; it's a very rare phenomenon indeed when high art is extremely popular. The X Files IS such a phenomenon.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 1998
These two episodes from the first season of The X-Files are both fascinating in their own way. "Beyond The Sea," my favorite episode of the first season, is a unique in-depth character study of the female protagonist of the series. A young couple is kidnapped and it's up to FBI Agents Fox Mulder and Dana Scully to use a doomed serial killer's psychic ability to save them. The killer, brilliantly played by Brad Dourif (Oscar nominee for "One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest) has a psychic connection to someone in Scully's life who has recently passed away and Scully shows her willingness to believe in things paranormal. "E.B.E" is somewhat less satisfying. UFO's are the focus of this episode, as the ongoing conspiracies of the series continue for Agents Fox Mulder and Dana Scully. Of note to X-Philes, "E.B.E" introduces us to the trio of Frohike, Langly and Byers, otherwise known as The Lone Gunmen, characters who will play an important role to the agents as the show progresses... Five Stars for "Beyond The Sea" Four Stars for "E.B.E" END
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 1999
I watched this movie without ever watching an episode of the series before. I came into the movie only knowing that the main characters were FBI agents Mulder and Scully who sought the truth about aliens and government conspiracies that tried to cover up their existance. That was all I knew, I didn't know anything about the black oil, or the bees, or even who the Smoking Man was. This movie did a good job presenting the basics so a first timer (like myself) wouldn't feel totally lost while watching it. David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson were superb in their big screen roles of Fox Mulder and Dana Scully. The hallway (I think you know what I'm talking about!) scene was one of the best scenes of the movie. Now if only there was no bee.... Overall, this movie was X-cellent. The acting was great, the special effects were cool, and the plot kept me on the edge of my seat. I recommend this movie to anyone who has ever watched The X-Files and loved it, and also to anyone who hasn't seen an episode before but likes sci-fi movies. And I'd just like to say thanks to Chris Carter and crew for a really good season 6 - here's onto season 7, unfortunately the very last one. I'll be looking forward to the next X-Files movie, I can't wait until it comes out!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse