Customer Reviews


201 Reviews
5 star:
 (150)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


197 of 209 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the end of the Vancouver era
Although most diehard fans of THE X FILES are in agreement as to the merits of Season's Three and Four, the 5th year seems to have elicited more of a mixed response. Certainly the season, to which I give an unqualified recommendation, was unique from a number of perspectives.
Most crucially, the chronology of the production was different from any of the previous...
Published on February 14, 2002 by Ian K. Hughes

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Twilight Time
Season five marked several highlights in the production of The X-Files. It was the show's last season in Vancouver before moving to Hollywood, and because The X-Files movie was shot in a few months right before, season five was the shortest to date, totaling 20 episodes compared to the average 24. With the movie set to take place AFTER season five, Chris Carter and crew...
Published on May 21, 2002 by Freddy Morris


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

197 of 209 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the end of the Vancouver era, February 14, 2002
By 
Although most diehard fans of THE X FILES are in agreement as to the merits of Season's Three and Four, the 5th year seems to have elicited more of a mixed response. Certainly the season, to which I give an unqualified recommendation, was unique from a number of perspectives.
Most crucially, the chronology of the production was different from any of the previous years. The crew went into production of the X FILES MOVIE in the summer of 1997 immediately after finishing Season 4. For this reason Gillian Anderson and David Duchovny were, for the first time, aware in advance of where the show's mythology arc would be leading them. It seems impossible that this foreknowledge would not affect their performances; the sustained dramatic intensity characteristic of Season Four was loosened quite a bit in Season Five.
The actors weren't alone in having a tough time adjusting to this odd schedule. The excellent staff writers, having in the two prior years wrung out the most consistently creative scripts in the history of the show, now had their own work looming as their most formidable obstacle! So, from the writing standpoint it is hardly a surprising that Season Five would present a unique challenge. What is remarkable is that apart from a few notable misses ( and one complete bomb ), this year had so many excellent scripts, especially in the "stand alone" episodes.
In contrast to its immediate predecessor, Season Five's strengths are weighted toward scripts displaying some of the humorous eccentricities of the 3rd year, most evident in Vince Gilligan's three contributions ( a sort of equivalent to Darin Morgan's famed triptych from Season 3 ). His "Bad Blood" is an absolute tour de force for the actors. The script draws on subtle aspects of the Scully/Mulder personalities and then "tweaks" them, presenting their differing recollections of a single case; slightly distorted perspectives from both agents with neither one corresponding exactly to what actually occurred. Gilligan's knack for characterization also shines in his "Unusual Suspects", which fleshes out the Lone Gunmen in way that had not heretofore been done. His "Folie a Deux" is not quite at the same level but contains some classic X FILES moments.
John Shiban's "Pine Bluff Variant" is a tightly scripted espionage thriller, one of the finest examples of his writing. David Duchovny seems to revel in the physicality of this episode.
Chris Carter's bizarre but touching "Post Modern Prometheus" ( filmed in black and white ) is essentially an X FILES fairy tale, owing as much to David Lynch as to the gothic horror novel written by Mary Shelley.
"Kill Switch" was written by the science fiction authors William Gibson and Tom Maddox. I'm not familiar with their work but the episode, with its blending of computer technology and contemporary "cyberpunk" subculture, is very well done. The beautiful oldie "Twilight Time", sung by the Platters, is nicely integrated into the framework.
Frank Spotnitz' "Detour" links with previous episodes ( "Darkness Falls" and "Quagmire" ) in its forest setting and environmental theme. This fun "monster of the week" script ( hellishly difficult to film ) has a beautiful scene with Scully and Mulder stranded together in the woods ( mirroring the "holdout" scenes in the other "forest" episodes ).
"Chinga", credited to Stephen King and Chris Carter, is easily the weakest episode of the season as well as the worst script I can recall from the first five seasons. Carter obviously had to dress this one up in a way that plays strictly for laughs.
As regards the mythology arc, the two season opening episodes ( "Redux" / "Redux II") were part of the trilogy linking the previous season's cliffhanger and features some flashback sequences similar to Oliver Stone's "JFK". This two-part script, while quite good, was the first of many future myth episodes that were somewhat self consciously "explanatory" in nature. A heaviness began to set in, with the episodes from mid season ( "Patient X"/"The Red and the Black" ) suffering from increasingly confusing and tangential plot developments. I attribute these problems primarily to the conflicts between the storyline the film would be using, which effectively shut the writer's out of being able to develop the "A" material for television. Additionally, a tinge of ambivalence crept into David Duchovny's performances.
In the prior year Scully's bought with cancer set the stage for the more purely dramatic type of storyline seen in the 5th season's introspective two-part episode titled "Christmas Carol" / "Emily". This script features well-known "Scully" themes from prior seasons: her grief and guilt over her murdered sister, the loss of her ability to conceive, the flowering of a previously dormant religious faith, the emotional bond with Agent Mulder. As some of the steam went out of the myth-arc storyline in the following years, the longstanding "Scully" storyline moved into the foreground and grew into a highly complex melodrama focusing on the two agents interdependence. This approach was not without its aesthetic pitfalls but it seems fitting that the unique Scully/Mulder "symbiosis" would dominate THE X FILES in its final seasons.
Finally, the concluding episode of the Fifth Season was appropriately named "The End", the title reflecting not only the myth arc plotline but also signaling the end of the show's production in Vancouver. The location in British Columbia furnished so much of the shows ambience that it's hard to imagine THE X FILES ever becoming the phenomenon it did without it being filmed there. There are clear signs that point to the Vancouver era ( esp Seasons 3 thru 5 ) as the absolute creative apex of THE X FILES. The location, along with the vital and often cited contributions of the actors/writers/crew, played an important role in lifting the show to the heights of its well-deserved success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The X-Files Season 5 Another outstanding season!, January 17, 2003
By 
K. Wyatt "ssintrepid" (Cape Girardeau, MO United States) - See all my reviews
Intricacies, subtleties, nuances and BLAM straight in your face, long awaited revelations are what Season Five is all about! All of it leading up to "Fight the Future" which was filmed prior to filming this entire season that leads up to the movie! Simply stated, Chris Carter and his entire staff are geniuses.
Redux - {mythology} - Last seasons "Gethsemane" ended with Fox Mulder appearing to be dead from a self inflicted shotgun blast. Mulder is able to obtain an ID that allows him access to a DOD complex where the CSM allows him to escape with the cure for Scully's cancer.
Redux II - {mythology} - This is the outstanding conclusion to the mini trilogy. The CSM offers Mulder all the answers. Scully's cancer is finally in remission thanks to the device that Mulder found. Mulder weeds out the FBI mole, who is shortly thereafter assassinated. The big news, the CSM is shot in his own apartment, yet no body is found. With episodes like these first two, season five continues to prove what an excellent experience The X-Files is.
Unusual Suspects - {mythology} - A beautifully well scripted episode detailing the events in 1989 that brought the "Lone Gunmen" together. This episode also includes a surprise appearance by "X" as well. Surprisingly enough, the events of this episode are what put Mulder and the Lone Gunmen on the quest that they are all on.
Detour - Another well written episode where Scully and Mulder are stuck having to go to team building retreat with a married pair of agents. Fortunately for Mulder's sanity, they have to stop along the way because of a police road block. They find out that people were coming up missing in the woods in a strange way. This episode has some very touching scenes belying the relationship that is building between Mulder and Scully.
The Post-Modern Prometheus - This episode is an absolutely wonderful, campy black & white episode where The X-Files once again proves that they can lighten up and have a little fun. Jerry Springer stars as himself in the background as Mulder and Scully find themselves in a town full of die hard Springer fans and a monster in "The Mutato."
Christmas Carol & Emily - {mythology} - Simply stated, these are two of the finest, touching and most heartfelt episodes of not only the season but the entire series! Scully is on Christmas vacation with her family in California and receives what seems to be a phone call from her sister, who was killed in an earlier season. This phone call leads to the discovery of a little girl that Dana believes to be the daughter of her sister! "Emily" brings Mulder into the picture and the real "mythology" aspects of these two spectacular episodes kicks in! These two episodes alone make the entire season!
Kitsunegari - Déjà vu', Robert Modell from the third season episode "Pusher" is back. He's survived the bullet that Mulder put in his head and he's back to "pushing" people into what he wants them to do. This episode is one of the most intriguing of the season.
Schizogeny - This is a particularly intriguing episode about child abuse and the way one woman dealt with her abuse.
Chinga - Written by Stephen King and Chris Carter. This episode certainly qualifies as one of the best of the season and the entire nine year run as producer Chris Carter welcomes the "King of Horror" in Stephen King as a co-writer. This episode has everything that one can expect from King, suspense and horror in full measure. This is certainly a classic X-Files episode that is not to be missed.
Kill Switch - This is a superb episode in both its setup and execution as The X-Files explores Artificial Intelligence in the best way that only they can. This is a perfect "Lone Gunmen" style episode.
Bad Blood - This is another outstandingly funny, yet scary episode that the producers have proven their superiority at. Mulder and Scully find themselves in Texas looking for a vampire and ultimately find much more than they bargained for. The banter between them just keeps getting better and better.
Patient X & The Red and the Black - {mythology} - Two outstanding episodes that serve extremely well to further the mythology of "The X-Files." Mulder's lost faith is quite prominent as Scully gains faith in the possibility of aliens. Some of the "facts" that die hard fans have been waiting several years for are beginning to slip from Chris Carter finally. This is also the episode that introduces Agent Spinder, CSM's son.
Travelers - {part mythology} Travelers is a brilliant prequel episode that first takes us back to 1990, before Mulder's taking the X-Files, then takes us to a case going back to 50's and his father working for the State Department.
Mind's Eye - A beautifully well written episode that is both touching and heartwarming. It is about a woman, blind from birth who has been accused of a brutal murder.
All Souls - This is another breathtaking episode where The X-Files explores Scully's faith in God.
The Pine Bluff Variant - Agent Mulder finds himself undercover and in the midst of one of the very government conspiracies that he seeks to expose, but finds the truth too shocking to reveal.
Folie a deux - This episode contains the best one liner to date in the series. Mulder is sent to Chicago to discover who is threatening an office with terrorism and finds that he is seeing the same thing that the "madman" was seeing.
The End - {mythology} Another outstanding season finale that leads up to the movie. CSM is back and in full force and doing his thing. This is the episode that introduces Gibson, the child who, born with alien DNA is capable of reading minds. CSM succeeds in having The X-Files closed.
Extra Features - Just as it was with the first four seasons, the special features disk for season five is outstanding. This one finally includes some blooper scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Intimate Season. "Travelers ?", May 25, 2008
This review is from: The X-Files: Season 5 (DVD)
I think season 4 was a shade better because, it had 24 episodes to this seasons 20. But they were busy making the movie, which was somewhat disappointing when compared to the series. Like season 4, this one was a roller coaster ride. It had emotional angst, humor, suspense, special effects, action, & some unexpected surprises. The relationship between Scully & Mulder is what stood out the most, there was more depth which gave them even more chemistry.

This is the first season to be presented in anamorphic widescreen, there are 6 discs: 5 with 4 episodes each & 1 with extras. The info book has quotes, chapter stops, images, & other info for all the episodes.

Here are some of the best episodes. Redux 1&2: mulder has shot himself? No, he is actually searching for a cure for Scully's cancer. He has also lost his belief in the validity of aliens. He now thinks they are just a government cover for something more sinister. Surprise, "Cigarette Smoking Man" is shot!
Unusual Suspects: A back in time sequence where Mulder meets & becomes friends with the lone gunmen, a very well paced episode.
Detour: Scully & Mulder are hunted through the woods by a camoflaged humanoid being.
Christmas Carol/Emily: Scully helps someone & comes across a suicide that may actually be a murder? She later finds a dying girl who may be related to her? While Mulder tries to find information on her condition while Scully fights to keep her alive.

Schizogeny: is nature killing people? Are the abusive parents reaping what they sowed? A good suspense thriller.
Bad Blood: Mulder kills a vampire. They get sued while each agent tells the story from very different perspectives. A dark, goofy episode.
Patient X & The Black Oil: Jeff spender & his mother Cassandra are introduced. She is a multiple abductee, & her son is full of surprises. while the ever devious Krycek faces the syndicate over the vaccine to the Black oil.
Travelers: a flashback episode where Arthur Dales appears. This may have been the best episode of the season?

All Souls: some deformed girls are struck down in identical ways, while Scully deals with her tormented emotions over Emily's loss. A true sci-fi classic.
Pine Bluff Variant: has Mulder gone bad? I won't tell, just watch this one.
The End: The mind reading boy Gibson Praise appears. As the boy is hunted {by who?} the drama grows. An exceptional episode with many twists. There could have been more extras, but this is still a fine collection from a five star show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great season, great price, February 10, 2006
This review is from: The X-Files: Season 5 (DVD)
The last season shot in Vancouver has some of the finest episodes of the series. While the show would slip a couple of notches in quality with succeeding years, the fifth season still shows the production staff and actors in top form. The fifth season features one of my favorite episodes "The Pine Bluff Variant" about a group of U.S. terrorist that modify a bioagent produced by the military to kill rapidly and that can be passed on common objects. It's got a frightening opening that chills not just because of the drama but also because it reflects the fantatical insanity of terrorism. Excellent performances abound in this terrific episode written by John Shiban and the taunt direction is worthy of a feature film.

"Kill Switch" by author William Gibson is a mind bending episode where Mulder gets jacked into a computer that wants...information from him. It reminds me of "The Prisoner" in many respects with a new sheen applied. I've never seen the original script for Stephen King's "Chinga" but it's undoubtably the most disappointing episode here and the weakest. it recycles an idea that was old even when writer Charlues Beaumont scripted it for the original "Twilight Zone". I'm not sure how Carter revised the script (if he did at all or if it was more collaboration)but it would point to some of the shortcomings in future seasons--recycling older ideas and not doing it very well. Carter's homage to old horror movies "The Post Modern Prometheus" shot in stark black and white images that recall "Bride of Frankenstein" and "Son of Frankenstein" with its use of surreal set designs and impressionistic lighting is an example of style succeding when there isn't enough substance. Directed by Carter the look and feel of the episode (as well as the performances) carry a script that is OK if a bit deliberate and heavy handed. Still, it's one of the best looking episodes the show produced. "Emily" the second part of a two part episode in which Scully gets a call from her deceased sister saying "She needs you" is touching. It's an example of "The X-Files" at its best--emotionally honest yet dealing with complex issues and a great story. The first part "Christmas Carol" is equally as good but the conclusion of "Emily" is heartbreaking and has the edge of the two.

The humourous "Detour" is a great stand alone episode. A fan favorite returns in "Kitsunegari" with Pusher returning. The marvelous Robert Modell returns (why doesn't this guy appear on TV more and someone, please, get him a TV series or cast him in a major movie. The last time I saw him was in "Battlestar Galatica" last year). The humorous "Bad Blood" is another superior episode about a vampire on the loose in a small town. Mulder and Scully have very different memories of the circumstances and when each tells the story from their point of view the contradictions are hillarious. "Mind's Eye" was an episode I missed during the series original run and didn't see it until the DVDs were released. It's a great episode with strong performances about a blind woman who is implicated in a series of murders. The solution is surprising (or was to me) and powerful.

A great set the show will looks the same here as the previous boxed set because Fox is using the same digital masters and transfers for this set. As to extras will if commentary tracks, deleted scenes and anything on the disks with the episodes will be included but the bonus disk of extras (the game, featurettes, etc.) will not. You won't miss them trust me on this. Definitely worth picking up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Twilight Time, May 21, 2002
By 
Season five marked several highlights in the production of The X-Files. It was the show's last season in Vancouver before moving to Hollywood, and because The X-Files movie was shot in a few months right before, season five was the shortest to date, totaling 20 episodes compared to the average 24. With the movie set to take place AFTER season five, Chris Carter and crew had to, for the first time in the show's history, pre-plan the mythology arc, and structure it to lead into the summer release of the film. This made for some challenges, most notably in the characterizations of Mulder and Scully, who reversed roles after the events in the Gethsemane-Redux trilogy. Mulder becomes a disillusioned skeptic. He's shown that his obsessive quest for the truth about aliens was merely the impetus for a hoax he unwittingly perpetuated for a shadow government. Scully, meanwhile, becomes more of a believer after inexplicably defying the odds against surviving her cancer.
This dynamic is best explored in "All Souls." Mulder tries to persuade Scully into thinking that the mysterious deaths of quadruplet sisters are nothing more than the work of a religious psychopath. However, Scully has trouble reconciling the conflict between her scientific knowledge and rejuvenated religious beliefs. Though somewhat similar in structure to season one's "Beyond the Sea," "All Souls" is a deeper character piece seldom seen in seasons past.
Overall, the standalone stories in season five are less fantastic than in previous seasons (but no less entertaining). There's fewer flukemen and Mexican goatsuckers, and more of reality-based material (terrorists in the taut "The Pine Bluff Variant," artificial intelligence in the hip, cyberpunk "Kill Switch," mass hysteria in the off-beat "The Post-Modern Prometheus").
The X-Files mythology, on the other hand, gets even more convoluted with the introduction of the faceless rebels, the Spenders, Agent Fowley and Gibson Praise. Fans were curious to see how the movie might resolve or expand upon the new conflicts beset by these characters, only to be disappointed that they weren't even featured, or at least mentioned, in the film at all.
The X-Files hit its peak by season five, reaching a mainstream audience and losing its cult status. With the movie, the creators tried to maintain the show's integrity for longtime, hardcore fans without alienating the new ones. Unfortunately, this politican approach followed into subsequent seasons, marking the beginning of the end.
TECHNICAL:
I want to clarify the popular misconception that The X-Files--The Complete Fifth Season isn't truly widescreen. I just compared the DVD's with the original broadcast episodes I recorded on VHS, and I found that the DVD's are in fact, widescreen. The picture is constrained from top to bottom (not cropped), noticeably diminishing the onscreen text but not so much the actual photography; the lateral field of vision is greater, showing the viewer more from left to right.
That said, I appreciate Fox and 1013's decision to release this set in widescreen format, serving to accentuate the cinematic aesthetic of the show. Chris Carter & Co. always treated each episode of The X-Files as a 44-minute featurette, and with Season 5 in widescreen on DVD, fans can experience that theatrical quality in full effect. If only seasons 1 through 4 were shot in widescreen....
One glaring flaw of this set that hardcore X-Philes should be aware of, though, is the omission of alternate taglines for certain episodes. In the main titles for "Redux," the tagline reads the usual "The Truth is Out There" instead of the alternate "All Lies Lead to the Truth." The same goes for the finale, "The End," where the tagline should read "The End." This may be something that the casual viewer could care less about, but for true, nitpicky fans like myself, this oversight needs to be rectified, if not for season 5, then at least in the future DVD releases of seasons 6 through 9.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The glorious twenty, May 1, 2002
By 
C. Mejía "CMM" (Btá, Cmarca Cbia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The X-Files' fifth season had only twenty episodes... but THEY ARE TWENTY GREAT EPISODES. The Redux two parter is one of the best season openers ever (only surpased by The Blessing Way and Paperclip). The first half of the season deals with two major changes in the characters: Mulder becoming an skeptic after Redux II and Scully's realization of the fact that she has a child as a result of her previous abduction. Then in The Red and the Black, Mulder's sistem of beliefs is restored. In The End, we are left with nothing... one of the most important X-Files record ever (a kid who could have the answers Mulder has been looking for since his work in the x-files began) gets burned along with everything in his office. And then the agents get reassigned. This season also shows one of the cleverest comedic episodes of the series: Bad Blood (Mulder and Scully show their two contradictory versions of an investigation that dealed with vampirism). This episode is just glorious. The standalones are very good with the exception, perhaps, of Schizogeny and Kitsunegari. But this low point of the season is perfectly balanced with the outstanding two parter dealing with Scully's daughter: Christmas Carol and Emily. This season shows the highpoint of the relationship between the Scullies (Dana, her mother Margaret and her brother Bill): we see them during Redux and Christmas Carol. This is my TOP10 for the season:
10. The Postmodern Prometheus (this show got a lot of EMMY nods but of course didn't won a single one... this is one of the true classics of the series... Mulder and Scully investigate a town where there is a mutant. The question about whose creation is this turns into whose creation is this town? The Cher songs, the humour, the black and white cinematography and the comic book look make this a very rare, eclectic and fascinating episode).
9. Chinga (This episode was written by Chris Carter and Stephen King. It's scary, yet funny. The song the little girl hears over and over is perfect for the episode. I really liked this. It's not over the top, it's not too experimental, but it's nevertheless perfectly written).
8. The End (season finale that opens the way for the movie).
7. Detour (A lost-in-the-woods kind of episode that deals with team work. It's a perfect average X-Files episode with a little twist into the funny metaphores).
6. Folie a Deux (a man thinks his boss is a giant bug that turns people into zombies... clearly, the man is a wacko... is he? Only Mulder can really ask this question. Another perfect Vince Gilligan episode)
5. Unusual Suspects (this episode centers on the lone gunmen trio. We see Mr. X for a brief moment in this episode, which is always nice. This one turns to the begining of this team of geeks and is very funny).
4. Bad Blood (Vince Gilligan's third in a row in this list).
3. Christmas Carol / Emily (We go deeper in Scully's mind and past... her solitude seems to be comforted by the appeareance of a little girl who could be her daughter. But this little child has not been created for being loved).
2. Redux / Redux II
1. All Souls (Scully's conflict after being forced to let her daughter die turns up in this episode about three girls who seem to have a celestial origin... something is reclaiming her souls by killing them... what reclaimed her daughter's soul?).
This season also introduces the faceless rebelds who are fighting the colonization project. But this purpose could be a real problem for Scully, whose implant makes her a part of this project.
This was a great year for the series, and there is no doubt that the DVD box makes justice to this fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I would have bought it for "Post Modern Prometheus" alone!, May 22, 2002
By 
Just Bill (Grand Rapids, MI United States) - See all my reviews
I used to think Season One was my favorite. No more. Season Five has blown away all previous seasons of The X-Files.
Since I was not an X-Phile throughout the run of the series, and only watched an occasional episode, I had the privilege of watching the show unfold before my eyes, episode by episode, when I purchased the first four seasons on DVD. Then I totally immersed myself in the program.
And I was hooked.
Obviously, not being familiar with the unfolding story line, when I watched the last episode of Season Four ("Gethsemane"), I hadn't a clue how Mulder was going to return from the dead following that season's cliffhanger episode...and I had to wait until the release of Season Five on DVD to find out. I watched and re-watched every episode right up to that point...and wondered how in the hell Mulder was going to pull that one off.
Finally! Season Five was released on DVD, and my curiosity was satiated.
To say that I've been impressed with Season Five is a very mild understatement. So far, the first five or six episodes, alone, have left me with my mouth hanging open, riveted to every scene, clinging to every word.
"Redux I" and "Redux II" are astonishing episodes. Very powerful and gripping. The perfect way to start the new season.
Thankfully, each episode in Season Five has held similar sway with me.
But -- and I'm almost ashamed to admit this -- the episode that blew me away the most was the very offbeat, quirky-to-the-core "Post Modern Prometheus." I've watched that episode three times now, and I'm more impressed and touched by it every time.
What a remarkably creative episode! Shot entirely in black and white, and telling a familiar horror movie tale ("Frankenstein"), "Post Modern Prometheus" weaves a spell over me like no other epside ever has. From the Cher-fueled score, to the tongue-in-cheek performances, to the Tim Burton-esque dream-like oddity, to the emotionally touching ending, "Post Modern Prometheus" is a jewel among an already glistening array.
I would have bought Season Five just to get my hands on "Post Modern Prometheus" alone!
The X-Files Season Five DVD set contains some of the best episodes the show has ever offered. If you're a fan of the show -- or if you'd like to know what the buzz is about -- you truly need to watch Season Five. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible season.. Best I have seen yet, June 17, 2004
By 
Up until recently, I never watched a single episode of the X-Files. Now that the DVD sets have been reduced in price, I had the opportunity to start watching the show. After watching the first four seasons on DVD I have become a huge fan, and in my opinion The X-Files is one of the most addictive and well done science fiction shows ever created. However, the only five star season that was great from start to finish, was the third season. Going into season five, I never expected to see a season of The X-Files that could manage to overcome season three in terms of storytelling and episode quality. I was wrong. The fifth season was absolutely amazing. I enjoyed every single episode, and I doubt that any season for the rest of the show will be able to top it.
The thing that I probably enjoyed the most about season five, is that Mulder and Scully switch roles. Based on what he learns at the end of season four, Mulder turns somewhat skeptical and comes to think that everything he believed in was a lie, while Scully starts to become more of a believer based on things she discovers about her abduction. The fifth season offers so many wonderful episodes, it is hard to choose a favorite. The first two episodes "Redux" and "Redux II" offer a wonderful conclusion to the season four cliffhanger. One of my favorite episodes "Unusual Suspects" goes into how the Lone Gunmen came to be. "The Post-Modern Prometheus" is loosely based on the Frankenstien monster, and is shot in black and white. This was definately one of the best episodes I have seen so far. Everything from the writing and cinematography, to the music used was fantastic. "Bad Blood" is the funniest and most entertaining episode of The X-Files that I have ever seen, and will probably go down as being my favorite episode of the entire show. "The End" is the best season finale of the show that I have seen so far, and is definately on my top ten list for best episodes.
Overall, the fifth season of The X-Files is the best season I have seen so far. While there were only 20 episodes, each one managed to be fantastic. The fifth season would be worth owning for the episodes alone. However, the DVD package is great. This was the first DVD set to offer the episodes in widescreen! The extras are very good as well. My favorite feature was the 45 minute "Inside the X-Files" featurette. It was very in-depth and featured tons of great information. You also get deleted scenes with commentary from series creator Chris Carter, commentary on the episodes "The Post-Modern Prometheus" and "The Pine Bluff Variant" from the writer of those particular episodes, and more.
A solid 5 stars...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continued Brilliance, January 27, 2003
By 
Busy Body (London, England) - See all my reviews
Season Five of The X-Files is definitely one of the best seasons from the show's nine-year run, in my opinion. Season Five is where the mythology arc of the show really takes over, resulting in a superb season finale before finally leading to box-office glory in the summer of 1998 with The X-Files Movie: Fight The Future. Season Five was actually filmed after the movie, despite the movie coming out after Season Five! This brilliant season of The X-Files contains a mere 20 episodes - the movie was Chris Carter's excuse as the concluding 'episode/s' to the season. David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson as FBI Agents Fox Mulder and Dana Scully are on form as their usual best in this season.

As previously stated, Season Five is where the mythology arc of the show really takes over. These conspiracy episodes are the best from any season in The X-Files, and made Season 5 more epic than any other. Season Five begins with the great episode Unusual Suspects. In a flash back scene from 1989, the Lone Gunmen meet for the first time and join forces with Mulder to stop a covert government experiment that may be targeted at the American public, after been contacted by a distraught woman. We finally catch up with what happened at the end of Season 4 in the first two-parter of Season Five; "Redux/Redux II." Mulder was presumed dead at the end of the previous season, yet the agents play the game better and are one step ahead of everyone else - I won't spoil it for you, but it's truly an amazing two-parter, definitely one of the best in the show's history. The next two-parter we receive from Season Five is "Christmas Carol" and "Emily." In the former, a mysterious phone call leads Scully to investigate a woman's suicide and a young girl who may be the daughter of her deceased sister, Melissa. In the latter, Scully attempts to adopt three year old Emily Sim, only to discover that the girl has developed a disturbing illness that may be the by-product of a sinister conspiracy.

The next in a long list of Season Five two-parters is "Patient X" and "The Red And The Black." In the former - after a group of alien abductees are burned alive by faceless assailants - Mulder and Scully uncover proof that the event is linked to alien colonisation. In the latter, the agents discover more evidence of the planned alien colonisation of earth and set out to preserve what may be humanity's last remaining link to freedom. Since the beginning of Season Five, Mulder's opinions on what he believes have been severely challenged. We see an extremely sceptical Mulder in this two-parter, not willing to believe anything without proof. The fans aren't used to this, so it's just as glad he reverts to his normal self soon. The Season Five finale - "The End" - is another absolutely stunning episode in which Mulder and Scully discover a 12-year-old clairvoyant whose life may be in danger due to his gifted ability to solve all the unexplained phenomena in The X-Files. The Cigarette-Smoking Man really gets involved in this finale, arriving back with full force - intent on complicating things more than they could be and, of course, covering up the truth.

The stand-alone episodes of Season Five are amongst the best the show has ever produced. While containing some superb ones such as "Kitsunegari," "Schizogeny," "Kill Switch," "Mind's Eye," "All Souls," "The Pine Bluff Variant" and "Folie A Deux," it also contains one atrocious one - "Travelers." This is just a rubbish episode, which I turned off inbetween the first viewing. One of the best episodes of Season Five is "Detour." In the episode, Mulder and Scully are stalked by an ancient legion of lethal beings while out in the woods investigating a boy's claims that he was attacked by an invisible creature. The striking and rich greens of the trees in the forest make this one of the most memorable episodes in The X-Files' history. "The Post Modern Prometheus" is a special episode, filmed entirely in black and white. While investigating the appearance of a freakish creature in a rural town, the agents uncover a dangerous genetic experiment that has spun wildly out of control. The comedy scenes (Mulder and Scully suddenly appearing from behind a door-frame to quiz a suspect is hilarious) make for a much-loved episode.

"Chinga" is another one of the season's highlights. Rumours of witchcraft and sorcery surrounding a bizarre murder lead Scully to a little girl and a cursed doll that may be hiding a murderous secret. The episode was co-written by horror story legend Stephen King and contains some truly scary moments - such as the supermarket one. And watch out for the "I want more cherries!" scene! "Bad Blood" has to be the funniest episode of The X-Files you will ever see. While exploring the deaths of cattle killed by a series of blood extractions, the agents uncover a cult of vampires residing in a small Texas town. Both Mulder and Scully offer their sides of the story on what happened in flashback scenes. At one point, the agents become so annoyed with each other that when Scully explains what location they were at (with that trademark writing appearing at the bottom of the screen), Mulder cuts in and believes Scully to have got the location wrong. The writing at the bottom of the screen then changes to what Mulder believes it to be! Very funny stuff!

OVERALL GRADE: 10/10

Season Five of The X-Files is one of the best seasons of any TV show I have ever seen. The season contains many different characters such as the Cigarette-Smoking Man, Alex Krycek, the Lone Gunmen, Maria Covarrubias, Diana Fowley and The Bounty Hunter which only add to the season's quality. Be a part of The X-Files legend and own Season Five on DVD today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual suspects, October 23, 2002
By 
I really can't add much more to this that hasn't already been wrote in the other 5 star reviews on this. These collections of the seasons of The X Files are all fantastic. I am so glad they put them on DVD. I didn't always watch the show when it was on TV, so alot of these episodes are new to me. Quite an addicting, program to say the least! This season is in wide screen giving it more of a theatrical feel, which is good. It is so much more then a series, every episode is always done with such care and skill that they are mini movies. Season 5 includes the "Unusual Suspects" which shows us how Mulder met the Lone Gunmen, the Stephen King wrote episode, "Chinga", and the hilarious story telling in "Bad Blood", just to name a few. This DVD, like with all of the other season DVDs, includes documentaries, behind the scenes, deleted scenes, and a DVD-ROM game. This set also has an enjoyable 45 minute F/X special "Behind the X Files". All of these box sets are must haves for the collector. My only complaint is with the packaging. These sets come with a slip cover and the inside of the covers are these cardboard flaps that start getting in the way of the disks when you slide them in and out. I actually had to tape mine up because it started peeling off from the inside. I will always give this show 5 stars because of the quality of programming that it is and that there is a wide range of emotions, thoughts, open mindedness and even humor involved. It definitly breaks any kind of conformity. That is so refreshing with a drama like this. It actually [pulls] you into the lives of Mulder and Scully and it is hard for me to set down and just watch one at a time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The X-Files: Season 5
The X-Files: Season 5 by R.W. Goodwin (DVD - 2006)
$39.98 $14.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.