Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Quacking Killer!
When I first read the reviews about "The New York Ripper" it definitely sounded like a movie that the avid gore hound should check out. Well I couldn't find it anywhere. So I decided to buy it.

While I don't believe it is Lucio fulci's best movie I did find it to be pretty good. It is nothing like his other films with zombies and other creatures from the depths...
Published on January 6, 2005 by Guido

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a slasher flick with b@lls
Okay, let's try to remember a time when slasher movies weren't so en vogue that Hollywood cranked out a new one every week. Let's try to remember a time when every slasher movie DIDN'T have a fresh, artificially pretty teenage hunk/starlet in the lead role. Let's remember that Fulci was one of the most underrated Italian horror directors out there, and his work was...
Published on November 9, 2000 by man_invisible


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Quacking Killer!, January 6, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Ripper (DVD)
When I first read the reviews about "The New York Ripper" it definitely sounded like a movie that the avid gore hound should check out. Well I couldn't find it anywhere. So I decided to buy it.

While I don't believe it is Lucio fulci's best movie I did find it to be pretty good. It is nothing like his other films with zombies and other creatures from the depths of hell. "The New York Ripper" deals with a maniacal psychopath that slices and dices his way through The Big Apple. Of course being a Fulci film you can expect the usual terrible acting and horrible dubbing, which always makes me laugh, and yes the killer quacks like a duck but the killing scenes are in typical Fulci fashion (GORY!) A woman getting gutted, a broken bottle shoved into the forbidden area, a nice straight blade through a helpless victims eyeball and nipple, and an impressive head shot at the end of the film.

You've heard all the other reviews. The film is seedy, it is misogynistic, violent, brutal and there's plenty of T&A to satifsy fans of the flesh. I found it to be well worth adding to my collection. If you haven't seen a Fulci film before may I suggest "Zombie", "The Beyond" or "City of the Living Dead". If you have seen Fulci films before check out "The New York Ripper". All in all not a bad murder mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a slasher flick with b@lls, November 9, 2000
Okay, let's try to remember a time when slasher movies weren't so en vogue that Hollywood cranked out a new one every week. Let's try to remember a time when every slasher movie DIDN'T have a fresh, artificially pretty teenage hunk/starlet in the lead role. Let's remember that Fulci was one of the most underrated Italian horror directors out there, and his work was often misunderstood by the masses.
"The New York Ripper" is a slasher film that--upon initial inspection--is mean-spirited, very violent, and misogynistic. But if you view it few times, the plot becomes clearer and the film feels less contrived. The story is quite simple--psycho killer stalks and kills pretty girls--but there are many complicated details and subtle clues that make the slasher's identity a mystery up until the end.
Out of all Fulci's films, this one probably has the most unsettling violence, and there are spots where things drag a bit. But stick with it, and you'll be able to recall a time when slasher films--and horror movies in general--were much more daring than they are now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece in slasher films. Long live Fulci!, October 6, 1999
This film is very unique for horror master Lucia Fulci. One of few slasher films that the artist made, this masterpiece takes the viewer through a "who done it" rollarcoatser, Fulci style. As with all Fulci films, it will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very end, and then leave you a little confused. Of course, as Fulci's trade mark, the film has great gore effects. Now uncut and in widescreen the film is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Indefensible thriller with plenty of sleaze appeal, June 20, 2000
This review is from: The New York Ripper (DVD)
THE NEW YORK RIPPER
[Lo Squartatore di New York]

(Italy - 1982)

Aspect ratio: 2.39:1 (Techniscope)
Theatrical soundtrack: Mono

It's virtually impossible to defend THE NEW YORK RIPPER on any level - the film's up-front misogyny provides director Lucio Fulci with the flimsiest of excuses for several landmark splatter scenes in which beautiful women are stabbed, slashed and razored to death in graphic, lingering detail. Abandoning the Gothic fantasy of his 'Golden Period' (1979-1982) which spawned such miniature gems as ZOMBIE and THE HOUSE BY THE CEMETERY, Fulci's grim examination of the sexual excesses of contemporary New York follows a stereotypically hard-boiled cop (Jack Hedley) in pursuit of a psychopathic killer who's been murdering a succession of women in the Big Apple, most of whom are depicted as prostitutes or depraved sluts with a taste for rough trade. Yeah, it's that kind of a movie...

Despite a mild twist near the end which throws the killer's identity wide open, the plot has few of the intricacies normally associated with the giallo thriller and instead relies on splashy set-pieces to maintain forward momentum. Luigi Kuveiller's hand-held camerawork evokes an appropriately realistic milieu whilst also making the film looked rushed and sloppy (this is the same guy who photographed Argento's baroque masterwork DEEP RED!), while the cast does its best with the ungainly dialogue and amateurish dubbing. The standout is Alessandra Delli Colli, playing the beautiful wife of a rich cripple who records her sexual adventures on audio tape for her husband's pleasure, until she finds herself tied to a bed beside a man who may (or may not) be the killer! Given the frankly unpleasant nature of some of the material she's asked to play, her performance here demonstrates a level of commitment which goes way beyond the call of duty.

Overall, the film exerts an undeniably sleazy appeal, and while the target audience will certainly admire its audacity, others will be appalled by its uncompromising scenes of horror. Either response is equally valid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't get tortured by this duckling, June 30, 2008
By 
This review is from: The New York Ripper (DVD)
This duck don't give a f#$%! We've got lots of blood, nudity, and a Donald Duck sounding slasher. Just some nice trashy cinema for the fellas. Nothing too deep, just high impact violence and sex like only Fulci can give you.

Lots of rippin quack quack
Lots of slashin quack quack
Sleaze quack please quack don't hold back

Brutality in all its shocking beauty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare yourself for this one..., December 2, 2004
By 
WeezyBoPeep (RUSTIC NORTHERN MD) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New York Ripper (DVD)
If you're looking for academy award-winning performances in this film, you need help...If you're looking to see something shocking, you're in luck.

The first time I saw this flick, I had to close my eyes in several parts-it is that gory. Some of the things Fulci shows in detail in this movie have never and probably will never be shown again in popular film.

In short, there is not much plot...a duck-quacking loony is slashing women. But if you love horror, this one is well worth seeing for sure. Just make sure there is no one home that could possibly be offended...because if they walk in while you're watching this, I guarantee you they'll be offended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fulci's sickest and sexiest, September 8, 2007
This review is from: The New York Ripper (DVD)
New York Ripper is very different from Fulci's other movies and is kind of a return to his giallo/slasher roots. It is known for being Fulci's most depraved and violent movie, especially towards women. It is a very strange and dark slasher filled with sex and sleaze that takes place in New York and is up there as one of my favorite Fulci flicks.

The cinematography and story are excellent in this one, and even though the thought of a killer with a duck voice is kind of cheesy, there is a very good reason for it and I think it's pulled off really well. I really can't understand all the bad reviews for this one, I think it's one of the best giallo/slashers I've ever seen and deserves a way higher rating then 3 stars.

Gore includes, but is not limited to......vagina slashing, nipple slashing, eyeball slashing, stomach slashing, booby slashing, slashing, slashing and more slashing.

There is also some soft-core thrown in for good measure, full female frontal nudity and one scene (my favorite scene) involving a toe and a womans private area.

If your a hard-core Fulci fan like me, I suggest you look past the negative reviews and pick this one up, you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for deranged viewers only!, June 19, 2000
This review is from: The New York Ripper (DVD)
In my opinion, Lucio Fulci's "New York Ripper" is as every bit perverse and deranged as his later "Dangerous Obsession" a.k.a. "The Devil's Honey."
A burned-out New York City cop gets stuck on a case where a madman is chopping and slashing up young, beautful women; hookers, models, athletes, sex-show performers and anything else the blade can touch. If a "normal" director was given this cliche` storyline, this film would be not much more than another murder-mystery. However, Fulci takes "homicide" to a whole new level without his classic use of zombies or the supernatural. Fucli even has a bit role as the Police chief and is dubbed with a rather amusing Yankee accent.
The Anchor Bay DVD print is beautiful and properly letterboxed.
Packed with plenty of S&M, nudity and arguably the some of the most convincing gore in Fulci's 20-year directing career, this is one horror/giallo film that will NEVER make it past the BBFC. Check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Fulci's best, but well worth the time and money, September 24, 1999
By A Customer
This graphic little thriller may as well be one of the sickest serial killer flicks around, but its very satisfying. Not that anyone would watch this movie for its social value. Its a Fulci film. Gore is what you come for, and i tell you gore is what you get. Women are gutted, torn open with a broken bottle, slashed with razor blades (in one of filmdome's most sleazy scenes), and sucumb to overdone throat slashings. Gore fans, don't miss this, its a classic. Women, wimps, and old people: Just stay away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Totally sick (in a good way), October 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Ripper (DVD)
How can one best describe Lucio Fulci's prime cut of perversion, also known as "The New York Ripper"? Sick? Disgusting? Crude? Tasteless? Senseless?

Yep, that pretty much sums it up. NYR is a brutally violent masterwork by the master of brutal violence. The plot doesn't always make sense, but I couldn't care less. As a catalogue of human perversions, it's a de Sade classic. As a portrait of grindhouse-era New York City, it's a Rembrandt. As exploitation cinema at its most exploitative, it simply can't be beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The New York Ripper (Special Edition)
The New York Ripper (Special Edition) by Lucio Fulci (DVD - 2009)
$14.98 $8.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.