Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding
This is a great book - lots of new ideas for the experienced cook who's tired of everything in her all-in-one cookbook. I brought it home from the library to see if it was just another gimmicky book, or did it have real content to interest me. I loved it - I'm buying it!
Published on October 15, 2007 by Mary loves Murder

versus
45 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Most recipes call for hard-to-find ingredients
I'm sure this is a wonderful cookbook for more sophisticated cooks, but I was unimpressed with it. My main gripe is that almost every recipe calls for something that I would probably have to go online to find. Examples - vin cotto, halvah, Turkish apricots, coffee extract, demerara, Calvados, fleur de sel, aniseed, brown rice flour, and the list goes on. Another...
Published on January 25, 2007 by Phillip O.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Most recipes call for hard-to-find ingredients, January 25, 2007
This review is from: The New York Times Dessert Cookbook (Hardcover)
I'm sure this is a wonderful cookbook for more sophisticated cooks, but I was unimpressed with it. My main gripe is that almost every recipe calls for something that I would probably have to go online to find. Examples - vin cotto, halvah, Turkish apricots, coffee extract, demerara, Calvados, fleur de sel, aniseed, brown rice flour, and the list goes on. Another disappointment is the lack of photos (only 2 sections of about 10 color photos) and overall bland presentation and style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, October 15, 2007
By 
Mary loves Murder (Indianapolis, Indiana USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New York Times Dessert Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is a great book - lots of new ideas for the experienced cook who's tired of everything in her all-in-one cookbook. I brought it home from the library to see if it was just another gimmicky book, or did it have real content to interest me. I loved it - I'm buying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New York Times Dessert Cookbook, March 8, 2007
This review is from: The New York Times Dessert Cookbook (Hardcover)
Very good recipes, and they all work. Many of them have been previously published in Wedenesday's DINING IN section of the NY Times. Unlikke many other cookbooks this covers a broad spectrum of desserts, for any occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loaded with fabulous recipes, May 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Dessert Cookbook (Hardcover)
Hi-I just received this cookbook yesterday and have already planned out what to make this afternoon and this coming weekend. I love the idea of tapioca fruit trifle; I think that will go well after tonight's dinner (pasta) and this weekend will be fabulous for any of the flourless chocolate cakes from the book, after a barbecue. Many chefs and food writers have contributed to this large volume,and there are no duds in the whole bunch. The author,Florence Fabricant,personally included a number of terrific sounding recipes. I look forward to cooking my way through this,starting with that luscious tapioca. Hurray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Missing the Mark, May 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Dessert Cookbook (Hardcover)
Wonderful recipes that are precise and easy to follow. Sadly, the book has very few photos and so loses points for me. I want to know what the end product should look like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exhaustive and creative... Wonderful!, April 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Dessert Cookbook (Hardcover)
I just love the breadth and wealth of the fantastic-sounding desserts, plus the comprehensive coverage of lots of old-timers as well. It's worth every penny...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, August 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Dessert Cookbook (Hardcover)
it doesn't have images
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The New York Times Dessert Cookbook
The New York Times Dessert Cookbook by Florence Fabricant (Hardcover - October 3, 2006)
$29.95 $22.47
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.