Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harstine reader
A just-right collection for the medium-NY Times solver. And, of course, typically NYT clever. Love it.
Published on December 3, 2009 by Harstine

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but erratic in difficulty
As those familiar with NYT know, Wednesday puzzles feature all kinds of clever twists, word plays, spelling variants, numbers as characters, and such things. The puzzles in this volume fall into that category.

I'm giving the volume 3 stars instead of 4 or 5 for one reason: I find that the puzzles vary dramatically in difficulty. Some of them are almost like...
Published on March 1, 2012 by Sitting in Seattle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but erratic in difficulty, March 1, 2012
This review is from: The New York Times Favorite Day Crosswords: Wednesday: 75 of Your Favorite Medium-Level Wednesday Crosswords from The New York Times (Paperback)
As those familiar with NYT know, Wednesday puzzles feature all kinds of clever twists, word plays, spelling variants, numbers as characters, and such things. The puzzles in this volume fall into that category.

I'm giving the volume 3 stars instead of 4 or 5 for one reason: I find that the puzzles vary dramatically in difficulty. Some of them are almost like Monday or Tuesday puzzles and I can complete them almost straight through in ink. This is often because there is an obvious theme that reveals many answers once it is glimpsed.

But other puzzeles are extremely difficult (for me), more like late week puzzles that have obscure references to things like minor people from decades ago, often further obscured by indirection or pun. The good thing, I suppose, is that the volume is not uniform but stretches your abilities. Unfortunately much of the stretching feels to me more like random tidbits rather than systematic progress. It is somewhat dispiriting to do one puzzle well and then fail abysmally on the next one.

As for the print, I like the soft cover (as opposed to spiral) newsprint style -- yes, you have to fold the cover back which is a pain. But it makes the volume extremely light and packable to take on the go.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harstine reader, December 3, 2009
By 
Harstine (Shelton, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Favorite Day Crosswords: Wednesday: 75 of Your Favorite Medium-Level Wednesday Crosswords from The New York Times (Paperback)
A just-right collection for the medium-NY Times solver. And, of course, typically NYT clever. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ripoff, February 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Favorite Day Crosswords: Wednesday: 75 of Your Favorite Medium-Level Wednesday Crosswords from The New York Times (Paperback)
Puzzles were tiny ( same size as NYT ) and printed on poor quality paper . I've bought the spiral bound puzzle books before & they are far superior. This is overpriced junk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect travel companion, November 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Favorite Day Crosswords: Wednesday: 75 of Your Favorite Medium-Level Wednesday Crosswords from The New York Times (Paperback)
this book is a great size; it's big enough to fit comfortably in the hands and be easy to read, but is small enough to be great for traveling. if I had one complaint, it would be that the pages are too thin to make using an inky pen viable, but they're no thinner than normal pages! I can stick to a Bic :) I highly recommend this book to any intermediate-puzzler. the puzzles are challenging and fun and help improve crossword skills...hopefully by the time I'm through with this I can tackle the Thursdays!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great puzzle book. Classic Wednesday crosswords., August 31, 2014
By 
Tech-Guru (Northern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Favorite Day Crosswords: Wednesday: 75 of Your Favorite Medium-Level Wednesday Crosswords from The New York Times (Paperback)
Great puzzle book. Classic Wednesday crosswords. One suggestion (if Will Shortz reads these reviews...)...put the date that the puzzle was originally published next to each puzzle...this would better help with the context of the clues...for example if the clue invoices a President, but the puzzle was published in 1975, I can eliminate a bunch of possibilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good and Fun, June 5, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Favorite Day Crosswords: Wednesday: 75 of Your Favorite Medium-Level Wednesday Crosswords from The New York Times (Paperback)
The Wednesday puzzles are fairly difficult but are a good challenge for me. As with the other NYT sword puzzle books, the clues are fun and the design of the book works well, with one puzzle on a page. I wish the paper were a bit more rugged, but its not a big problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't go wrong..., May 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Favorite Day Crosswords: Wednesday: 75 of Your Favorite Medium-Level Wednesday Crosswords from The New York Times (Paperback)
....with the NY Times crosswords, and Will Shortz is the greatest editor to date, in my opinion. These puzzles provide entertainment, challenge, and were obviously hand-picked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NY Times Crossword, February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Favorite Day Crosswords: Wednesday: 75 of Your Favorite Medium-Level Wednesday Crosswords from The New York Times (Paperback)
Gift for my Son who is enjoying the book quite a lot. He likes the challenges of the NY Times Crosswords.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good mid-range puzzle book, December 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Favorite Day Crosswords: Wednesday: 75 of Your Favorite Medium-Level Wednesday Crosswords from The New York Times (Paperback)
This book is about the right level of difficulty for me. I work the Sunday ones, and usually get through them after a time, but when I want to take it a bit easier, the Wednesday ones are my choice. crbernin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finished Them All -, November 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Favorite Day Crosswords: Wednesday: 75 of Your Favorite Medium-Level Wednesday Crosswords from The New York Times (Paperback)
Wednesday puzzles work out the best for me, though that doesn't mean much for others - we're all different. Appreciated also the fact that these didn't have too many foreign words or questions about 1920s movie stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.