Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, medium level crosswork puzzle book.
The Wild Crossword book was just about what I was hoping for. The puzzles are challenging for me - my level of comfort is with NY Times Wednesday/Thursday puzzles - and with a sufficient variation in level of challenge to keep things interesting. Hidden themes were sometimes obscure, but I guess that's a part of it.
Published on March 2, 2010 by Richard Klein

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wild Medium Crossword Puzzles
To me, these are NOT "medium" difficulty. These are "hard", at least, for a normal, intelligent person and not a pro.
Published 16 months ago by Paul-Peter Carr


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, medium level crosswork puzzle book., March 2, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Wild Crossword book was just about what I was hoping for. The puzzles are challenging for me - my level of comfort is with NY Times Wednesday/Thursday puzzles - and with a sufficient variation in level of challenge to keep things interesting. Hidden themes were sometimes obscure, but I guess that's a part of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, December 12, 2009
By 
John R. Fox "WxHerk" (Yoknapatawpha County) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Wild Crosswords: 150 Medium-Level Puzzles (New York Times Crossword Puzzles) (Paperback)
As I've said about other collections, it's typical Will Shortz: Clever puzzles that WILL cause you to smile when you pick up on some of the themes. Will Shortz' genius lies in his trusting his contributors and not "adding salt to the soup" when it's not needed. Mr. Shortz is almost singlehandedly responsible for the clever, witty, fun crossword, but if you didn't already know that you'd not be reading this review!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NY Times X Word compilation, April 15, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Wild Crosswords: 150 Medium-Level Puzzles (New York Times Crossword Puzzles) (Paperback)
This book is exactly the level of puzzles that I was hoping to find when I purchased it; not too hard, not too easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection, February 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Wild Crosswords: 150 Medium-Level Puzzles (New York Times Crossword Puzzles) (Paperback)
Will Shortz's clever editing skills shine in this collection of medium-difficulty puzzles. They are just hard enough to challenge me, but not so obscure that they take an inordinate amount of time to solve. I am enjoying the book enormously and hope that Shortz has produced other books in a similar vein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way more challenging than I was expecting!, February 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Wild Crosswords: 150 Medium-Level Puzzles (New York Times Crossword Puzzles) (Paperback)
I had previously purchased the Easy crossword book, I believe it was the Lazy Sunday book, and pretty easily finished the majority of the puzzles in one go through. I decided to get this for my girlfriend as a step up from the previous book, thinking it would be slightly more challenging. These puzzles are far more challenging than I was expecting. I'm no crossword pro and I like to think I can handle my share of crosswords, but I can go pages through this book without being able to complete more than a few clues.
Definitely a challenging book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wild Medium Crossword Puzzles, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Wild Crosswords: 150 Medium-Level Puzzles (New York Times Crossword Puzzles) (Paperback)
To me, these are NOT "medium" difficulty. These are "hard", at least, for a normal, intelligent person and not a pro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating -, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Wild Crosswords: 150 Medium-Level Puzzles (New York Times Crossword Puzzles) (Paperback)
Too many questions involving two or more words and about names of people, even a puzzle with a number of deliberately misspelled words and another with some clues almost non-existent. I think I should have gone for a Tuesday book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good challenge!, October 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Wild Crosswords: 150 Medium-Level Puzzles (New York Times Crossword Puzzles) (Paperback)
This is my second Will Shortz's puzzle books and they are a good match for my skills. Yes, they can be solved without too much frustration, as some more difficult puzzle collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NYT Crossword Puzzle, March 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Wild Crosswords: 150 Medium-Level Puzzles (New York Times Crossword Puzzles) (Paperback)
Great book. I'm a huge fan of New York Times crosswords and this was very challenging!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just right for my level, May 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Wild Crosswords: 150 Medium-Level Puzzles (New York Times Crossword Puzzles) (Paperback)
Very pleasurable. I can solve these puzzles without resorting to reference works, so I would put them at the Wednesday level of the NYT. Thursday puzzles sometimes stump me, and Fridays and Saturdays are usually beyond me, so this book gives me just the right challenge at the end of the week!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The New York Times Wild Crosswords: 150 Medium-Level Puzzles (New York Times Crossword Puzzles)
$10.99 $8.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.