The Zebra Wall and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Zebra Wall (Puffin Books) Paperback – May 1, 1989


See all 16 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, May 1, 1989
$0.99 $0.01

"The Island of Dr. Libris" by Chris Grabenstein
What if your favorite characters came to life? Celebrate the power of imagination with this adventure where the real story starts after you close the book! See more
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

"Castle Hangnail" by Ursula Vernon
From the creator of "Dragonbreath" comes a tale of witches, minions, and one fantastic castle, just right for fans of Roald Dahl and Tom Angleberger. See more

Product Details

  • Age Range: 8 - 12 years
  • Lexile Measure: 800L (What's this?)
  • Series: Puffin Books
  • Paperback: 160 pages
  • Publisher: Puffin (May 1, 1989)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0140329692
  • ISBN-13: 978-0140329698
  • Product Dimensions: 5.1 x 0.5 x 7.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5.3 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #8,730,905 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Henkes's offbeat, ebullient story concerns the already large Vorlob family, anxiously awaiting the birth of (yet another) new baby. Ages 8-12.
Copyright 1989 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From School Library Journal

Grade 3-6 Henkes' story presents a lov ing, creative family with Adine Vorlob, a sensitive, intelligent youngster as the main character. The arrival of a sixth child provides the catalyst which helps ten-year-old Adine understand her ec centric and bossy Aunt Irene. As the oldest, Adine has participated in the traditional creation of a special nursery wall to celebrate the first initial of each of her five sisters, all named alphabeti cally from B to E. All of the family is convinced that a sixth female will join the line. The title announces a surpris ing change. Aunt Irene comes to care for the girls while their mother is in the hospital and stays to help out after wards, much to the children's dismay. With her sisters, Adine plots to get Aunt Irene to leave, but in the end learns compassion and understanding. Henkes' characters are well drawn and appealingly unusual. As in Two Under Par (Greenwillow, 1987), he writes with humor about a caring family. Fans of Beverly Cleary and Betsy Byars will enjoy this newest Henkes selection. Renee Steinberg, Fieldstone Middle School, Montvale, N.J.
Copyright 1988 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
75%
4 star
25%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful A Kid's Review on March 30, 2006
Format: Paperback
The Zebra Wall

By: Kevin Hankes

Reviewed by: E. Shim

Period: P.6

This story is about the Vorlorb family. The main character is Adine Vorlorb who is ten-years-old. She has 4 younger sisters. Their names are in order, are; Adine,(age 10), Bernice, (age eight), Carla, (age seven), Dot, (age four), and Effie, (age 2). There was also another baby coming, and they were expecting it to be a girl, since they already had 5 girls in a row. Whenever the family was having another baby, they would make a list of names that they liked. Alphabetically, this next child would have to start with the letter 'F'. Later on her mother goes to the hospital and the girls are forced to stay at home with their most hated aunt, Aunt Irene. Soon to find out that Adine's mother had a son, not a daughter. When her mother had brought the baby home, they couldn't decide what to name him, so they left him with the name 'Baby' until they could think of one that they all liked. Adine doesn't like Aunt Irene or her ugly cat Deedee, so one day when it was raining and she was home because she was sick, she scooted Deedee out the back door and closed the door on the cat, when she knew it was pouring cats and dogs outside. Later she overhears that Aunt Irene was so thankful for having such wonderful nieces, and Adine feels guilty, runs outside, and brought back Deedee. At the end, Aunt Irene and Adine have a special bond between each other, and become best of friends. Adine's mother gives the opportunity for Aunt Irene to choose Baby's real name. Aunt Irene chooses the name Zachary, the name that Adine wanted to name her little baby brother.

I liked this book because it explains to me, as a reader that she felt isolized from her aunt's own 'world'.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful A Kid's Review on October 9, 2005
Format: Paperback
the zebra wll gives you a good idea of what children with ginormous families (and a pregnant mother) are going through. it is a FANTASTIC book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By Emily, age 8
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Jessa E. Marie on July 30, 2014
Format: Hardcover
Great Condition! Thank you!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on November 26, 1997
Format: Paperback
I think this book was very good. I like how Kevin Henkes writes all his book. I think He should write a sequel on The Zebra Wall. Maybe he could have a miracle come in The Vorlob family. I think they should end up being able to have more children and have it be another girl, and redue the F wall.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

More About the Author

Kevin Henkes is the author and illustrator of close to fifty critically acclaimed and award-winning picture books, beginning readers, and novels. He received the Caldecott Medal for Kitten's First Full Moon in 2005. Kevin Henkes is also the creator of a number of picture books featuring his mouse characters, including the #1 New York Times bestsellers Lilly's Big Day and Wemberly Worried, the Caldecott Honor Book Owen, and the beloved Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse. His most recent mouse character, Penny, was introduced in Penny and Her Song (2012); her story continued in Penny and Her Doll and Penny and Her Marble (a Geisel Honor Book). Bruce Handy, in a New York Times Book Review piece about A Good Day, wrote, "It should be said: Kevin Henkes is a genius." Kevin Henkes received two Newbery Honors for novels--one for his newest novel for young readers, The Year of Billy Miller, and the other for Olive's Ocean. Also among his fiction for older readers are the novels Junonia, Bird Lake Moon, The Birthday Room, and Sun & Spoon. He lives with his family in Madison, Wisconsin. You can visit him online at www.kevinhenkes.com.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?