Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful!
i loved this book.it's not only about his life but a way of life. what a man and a singer.he's great!
Published 10 months ago by nightlavender

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars He doesn't take any real chances here...
"The Zen of Bennett" doesn't get to heart of Tony Bennett's life and career.
It's the second recent documentary about the supposedly "last and greatest" legend of music industry.
Danny Bennett - who conceived and produced it - and Unjoo Moon thought it would be more informative to concentrate on the "Duets II" pop music market, which net Tony Bennett's family...
Published 21 months ago by leon robinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful!, November 10, 2013
This review is from: The Zen of Bennett (DVD)
i loved this book.it's not only about his life but a way of life. what a man and a singer.he's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, September 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Zen of Bennett (DVD)
If you like Tony you will love this film! The book is even better if you have the chance to read it but the movie also have stuff not in the book so my advice is the get both lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don,t miss this!!!!, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Zen of Bennett (DVD)
I am a big fan of Tony Bennett and had already bought his new book when I saw this advertised....Should have been in the local movies but just glad I got it...it is a beautiful documentary and tribute to Tony,s life.Loved the behind the scenes of the making of his Duets 2 cd....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love anything: TONY BENNETT, December 21, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Zen of Bennett (DVD)
The man is a giant of the entertainment industry. Yet he mentors the young and talented. He does all he can do when it comes to helping the less fortunate and injured. The USA is fortunate to have a man such as TONY BENNETT as a citizen! He is truly a citizen of the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Movie, December 5, 2012
I like this movie. He's astonishing, that he still has such a great voice, and he's such a gifted watercolor painter. Who knew. Yes, it's slow, but it's a movie about an 84-year-old legend and it should be paced accordingly. I loved watching the duets in action, too. Tony Bennett is a gentleman and a generous spirit whose gift goes on. It's a lovely 87 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BENNETT, March 11, 2013
By 
Carnagie Thornhill "bungalowjoe" (Treasure Island, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Zen of Bennett (DVD)
Tony Bennett is the master of master entertainers and has
always been. Humble and unassuming. Tony Bennett is every man
and every man would like to be him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't think this would be important ........, February 20, 2013
By 
D. Coyne (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Zen of Bennett (DVD)
I suppose this could be considered by some to be a self-serving promotion, but I really think that an awful lot of folks consider this man to be an icon of measurable proportion. If you are sincerely interested in certain celebrities, I know I am, then I want to see stuff about those people. Some friends or mine saw this in what I would call an artsy - fartsy theater. I bought this DVD because my Sweetie Pie loves this guy. Not caring one way or another about Tony Bennet, other than like a comparison to age like Betty White and how they keep chugging along; I wasn't crazy about the opening presentation, it made me like him less. Then as it unfolded I garnered respect for a man that I once thought was an arrogant hanger-on. It's about him yes but it also explores the relationships he has with his heirs. I'm glad I took the time, I have a new appreciation for this man. It would appear that he just might deserve some adoration after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars He doesn't take any real chances here..., December 1, 2012
This review is from: The Zen of Bennett (DVD)
"The Zen of Bennett" doesn't get to heart of Tony Bennett's life and career.
It's the second recent documentary about the supposedly "last and greatest" legend of music industry.
Danny Bennett - who conceived and produced it - and Unjoo Moon thought it would be more informative to concentrate on the "Duets II" pop music market, which net Tony Bennett's family millions, but leads the old singer alone with his sporadic comments on his musical partners in his long career and on life, in general: truth, quality, love, perseverance, and beauty et all, without explaining or trying to explain what those things are all about.
Overall, with a few exceptions, I found the documentary to be an uneven disappointment.
It's like sampling a generic fabric without the rough texture of real life and love.
Mr. Tony Bennett doesn't take any real chances here, leaving the DVD pretty incospicuos, emply and lacking in imagination.
There are a couple of good performaces to watch ( you can check them out on Tony Bennett Duets II: The Great Performances (DVD) as well), but far too much mediocrity drags this documentary down to the level of nothing special.
If you are a Tony Bennett fan you might head out to buy it, but there is really no other reason to rush out and pick up the documentary.

Danny Bennett : Producer, Conception.
Unjoo Moon : Director.
Dion Beebe : Cinematografer.
Running Time : 84 Minutes.
Film presented at The Tribeca Film Festival 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BENNETT, August 24, 2013
This review is from: The Zen of Bennett (DVD)
I watched The zen of Bennett because I believed that it was a movie, but then I realized that it was a documentary.
When I began to see it with this perspective, It did not seem ti me unlikely, seemed to me to be a bit commercial, not very complete, but I liked to watch it, I like that recollection stays of him speaking in order that they all know that he is a pacifist person and sensitively, like it is possible to estimate in this filming.
I like it and I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An utterly commercial exercise., November 26, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Zen of Bennett (DVD)
Mr Bennett probably reached his artistic peak on very few occasions but never has he reached such a low point as this.
Quite simply, this is a 'very old' artist who is so desperate to cling on to his appeal to young people that he has tried hard and everything, even the last 'vampire' duet card, literally using and vampirizing some of the most popular and successful "chart stars" on the market...
This latest DVD is simply patronising, self-indulgent and an utterly commercial exercise.
"Unjoo Moon trails the vocalist while he records his 2011 Duets II record.
Imagine your favorite elderly uncle waxing on about life, art and the intersection between the two, and you've got a good idea of the music doc's tone. This assumes, of course, that said relative has anecdotes about working with Duke Ellington and spends his afternoons cutting tracks with a giddy Lady Gaga...". David Fear
"Director Unjoo Moon's authorized production mainly focuses on Bennett's star-studded recording sessions while developing his "Duets II" album with last appearance of Amy Winehouse...", and other too-often-talked-about suspects such as John Mayer, Lady Gaga, Michael Bublé et all...
"Outside of the scene with late Amy Winehouse, however, the only time we see a modicum of conflict is an off-the-cuff moment when Bennett complains about attempts to pitch his work to younger audiences...".Eric Khon
"Billed as "conceived, created and produced" by Bennett's son Danny, "Zen" has a somewhat insular feel that both intrigues and frustrates.
There are glimpses of temperament just frequent enough to seem pointed in their inclusion, yet too poorly contextualized to provide any actual insight.
Unjoo Moon and d.p. Dion Beebe (the latter is the cinematographer who filmed Tony Bennett Duets II: The Great Performances (DVD)) go for an odd, almost furtive visual presentation that constantly plays with image focus, likewise suggesting an extra dimension that fails to fully materialize, and that may strike some as simply mannered.
These elements leave the documentary hanging somewhere between a glorified making-of album promo and a more in-depth portrait of the artist".
If you have or have seen Tony Bennett Duets II: The Great Performances (DVD), then there's not much more on this DVD.
All the black-and-white scenes, which are cleverly and purposely added and sprinkled into it, have the only aim to give a sense of bygone style and epoque to it and to fill the DVD up to 87 minutes.
We are tired and saturated of these commercialism/money oriented products.
In reality there is no insight or special message from Bennet: he has already said it all, many times now, on TV, newspapers, magazines, talk shows, books, interviews.
The great Andy Williams and Frank Sinatra, just to name two fantastic singers close by genre to Mr. Bennett, have never done that when they were alive. Ever.
He should stop his son from over-using his image and tarnishing it.
His time has come to give up and retire gracefully. Please!
Running time: 87 MIN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Zen of Bennett
The Zen of Bennett by Unjoo Moon (DVD - 2012)
$14.98 $11.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.