Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, well written & the most comprehensive I've ever seen
You won't believe how heavy and thick this 3rd edition book is. It's like a textbook, it has everything in it. This has to be the most definitive book ever written on the topic. I needed the most up to date grooming book out there and this is it. It has all the latest breeds one needs to know.
The author tells you not only how to groom a breed but even what equipment...
Published on January 29, 2003 by adam zeliger

versus
46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bordering on useless
This book is supposedly a reference for professional dog groomers. As one, I find it disappointing. The illustration quality is variable, and on one particular clip (the miniature schnauzer, I believe) there is a serious error in the clipping guidelines. Not enough angles of the dog pictures are shown for you to be able to discern the clipping pattern. Also, most dog...
Published on January 12, 2004 by Katherine L Bryant


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bordering on useless, January 12, 2004
By 
This review is from: The all breed dog grooming guide (Plastic Comb)
This book is supposedly a reference for professional dog groomers. As one, I find it disappointing. The illustration quality is variable, and on one particular clip (the miniature schnauzer, I believe) there is a serious error in the clipping guidelines. Not enough angles of the dog pictures are shown for you to be able to discern the clipping pattern. Also, most dog groomers use modified forms of the show cuts on their customers' dogs. This book fails to describe or even mention these alternative clipping styles, which I think are not only invaluable to dog groomers but to laypersons as well who choose to groom at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Useless Book for me, February 22, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The all breed dog grooming guide (Plastic Comb)
I am mainly interested in learning to groom and particularly interested in learning about clippers. This 416 page book has only 30 pages of general grooming information and it is superficial. It has less than 3 pages on clippers which was also superficial. If you already know how to groom and want information on specific breeds this book might be useful. For me it is totally useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars illustrations, March 2, 2005
This review is from: The all breed dog grooming guide (Plastic Comb)
this book has every breed that you'd ever come across at work. BUT... We don't like the short grooming discriptions and especially the pictures/illustrations. Don't get me wrong, Lynn Miller is a great artist. Our fellow employees have agreed that we'd much rather see a photogragh or better yet, a before and after photo of some more difficult breeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Groomers beware, December 11, 2005
This review is from: The all breed dog grooming guide (Plastic Comb)
This is an ok book for new people, but it has several safty issues, and doesn't have the show cuts for many dogs, poodles. It also has the wrong cuts from some of the dogs. There are better books out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, well written & the most comprehensive I've ever seen, January 29, 2003
By 
adam zeliger (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The all breed dog grooming guide (Plastic Comb)
You won't believe how heavy and thick this 3rd edition book is. It's like a textbook, it has everything in it. This has to be the most definitive book ever written on the topic. I needed the most up to date grooming book out there and this is it. It has all the latest breeds one needs to know.
The author tells you not only how to groom a breed but even what equipment is required. The illustrations are precise and accurate and the photographs are very helpful. This is the industry standard and is mandatory for every groomer, here and abroad. This book has EVERY breed. Read the authors bio, he taught dog grooming at his own school here in New York for years. Who better then him to write a book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chris Sertzel, October 19, 2009
This review is from: The all breed dog grooming guide (Plastic Comb)
A good basic book for beginners, but for advanced groomers, not so much. Some of the patterns are off and there is some misinformation for some breeds. Perhaps if this book were updated that would make it more applicable and marketable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough, well written book, September 19, 2003
By 
Robin Cole-Jett (Lewisville, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The all breed dog grooming guide (Plastic Comb)
I loved the details on the drawings! Giving the type of blades to use for clipping dogs was fantastic. This is a great resource to have for any groomer.
When you buy, make sure to order the comb binding - that way, the book stays open for easy reference!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well thought out new 3rd addition, January 29, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The all breed dog grooming guide (Plastic Comb)
This is the new 3rd addition by Sam Kohl. I have all his other books and this time he has outdone himself. This book has every breed out there, including all the new ones. Buy the book and have it around for a one stop reference for all questions grooming related.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use guide, June 19, 2008
This review is from: The all breed dog grooming guide (Plastic Comb)
I think this book was useful and easy to read.
The format makes it easy to check while the book is open.
I liked the step-by step descriptions and the setup - which is very well arranged. There are drawings on each breed mentioned, some drawings better than others - but still the drawings are nice and very useful. In the more demanding breeds there is drawings on several details and sometimes several angles, this was very helpful in understanding the text.
I also liked the introduction part where equipment and techniques are described. You should read this part carefully before you start reading about the different breeds, especially if you are a beginner like me.

I would prefer an even more detailed description on some more popular breeds as flatcoated retriever, bernese mountaindog and other breeds with similar groomingdescriptions in the book on usual "small stuff" - shortening and trimming of ears and tail etc. I would also have preferred that stripping procedures could be mentioned - in addition to clipping - with regards to the terrier breeds. The book does mention though that it describes "pet grooming", and thus should not expect to give a perfect show result.
What this book lacks in respect to pet grooming is that there is only one style described for every breed. For many pets it may be more attractive to owners who do not want to use much time grooming their dog to cut the dog in an alternate style - but for this you can use your imagination or another book, and the drawings of each breed are helpful when discussing how the owner wants his or her dog groomed.

I recommend this book to anyone who wants to start as a groomer, pet or show, or if you are interested and want to groom your own dogs and maybe help some friends with grooming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what i needed., August 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The all breed dog grooming guide (Plastic Comb)
I wanted to learn how to cut my Shih Tzu's hair. Before ordering, I should have looked at the information that was available for my breed. There was only one page, as there is per breed, and the page had grooming instructions for leaving the dog's hair styled for "showing" in a competition, not for everyday, shorter cuts. I was very disappointed as this information and the rest of the book is of no value to me. If anyone is interested, I'm happy to sell it for $35.00 plus shipping. I paid 47.95 plus shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The all breed dog grooming guide
The all breed dog grooming guide by Sam Kohl (Plastic Comb - 2002)
$49.95 $31.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.