Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let Me Frame the Argument...
The book is dated but fascinating. It introduces the notion that much of what we argue about is really not an argument about facts but one about definitions. It is fascinating also to note the players in the 1930s and to see what their predictions became. A wonderful introduction to semantics with the caution that if you let an enemy select the terms of the...
Published on July 30, 2000 by John A. Goodson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Even more useful in this fast paced world today
I read this book in my early teens. Throughout my life I have seen exactly the problems addressed in the book. This is even more so now in the USA and elsewhere. Everyone is driven to extremes of polarities in every sphere of life. And, commentary is limited to 120 characters of shortened code words that signify nothing. This book presents an interesting point of...
Published 8 months ago by J. Betancourt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let Me Frame the Argument..., July 30, 2000
This review is from: Tyranny Of Words (Paperback)
The book is dated but fascinating. It introduces the notion that much of what we argue about is really not an argument about facts but one about definitions. It is fascinating also to note the players in the 1930s and to see what their predictions became. A wonderful introduction to semantics with the caution that if you let an enemy select the terms of the argument, he has already won it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perspective on language..., June 7, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tyranny Of Words (Paperback)
Language or Words (if you will) may be the most significant distinction that the human species has. It has provided man with a creative medium almost beyond compare and at the same time in our innocence we have allowed our selves to assign words an importance or value that has become destructive, misleading, perverted, etc. This book could get you on the road to recovery. Mr. Chase is not nearly as philosophical about these issues as I tend to be but it may be to his credit. I loved the book anyhow...give it a try it may change how you think and speak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still a useful book, March 22, 2008
By 
This review is from: Tyranny Of Words (Paperback)
Still a useful book after all these years. It was first published in 1938. The author is strong on scientific method and objectivity. But on page 168 of the edition I have, he tells us that "Simile, metaphor and poetry are legitimate and useful methods of communication, provided speaker and hearer are conscious that they are being employed."
All kinds of things can be done with words and it is the author's wish that they be used for the good of the individual and the good of society. But people still continue to differ on the meaning of the word "good."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A seminal work on semantics, March 25, 2011
By 
Trelligan (Las Vegas, NV) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tyranny Of Words (Paperback)
. This book largely follows Korzybsky's work on General Semantics, the science of determining what we really mean when we say something. Read Science and Sanity: An Introduction to Non-Aristotelian Systems and General Semantics (International Non-Aristotelian Library) to find out what's going on.
. Or you could check out a good popularization, Drive Yourself Sane: Using the Uncommon Sense of General Semantics. Third Edition.
. Back in the 1940s, everybody was denying the very logic of this idea. In the late 1940s, it was obvious, and everybody claimed to have invented it themselves. In the 1960s and later, the basis of this field got watered down to 'just semantics' and got ignored.
.
. This book documents a writer's search for meaning and how to clearly express it.
.
. While there are a few people still working in this field, most philosophers are off building ever more elaborate castles in the air - not even realizing that the basis of much of their work is due to Korzybsky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Even more useful in this fast paced world today, July 27, 2013
This review is from: Tyranny Of Words (Paperback)
I read this book in my early teens. Throughout my life I have seen exactly the problems addressed in the book. This is even more so now in the USA and elsewhere. Everyone is driven to extremes of polarities in every sphere of life. And, commentary is limited to 120 characters of shortened code words that signify nothing. This book presents an interesting point of view. A valuable guide to awakening the sheeple in all of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book and service, November 7, 2006
By 
This review is from: Tyranny Of Words (Paperback)
I received the book quickly and it was in brand-new condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5be9888)

This product

The tyranny of words (A Harvest book)
The tyranny of words (A Harvest book) by Stuart Chase (Unknown Binding - 1959)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.