Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comments from the Publisher
We apologize for the inconvenience. The title of the book was corrected on May 10th, 2009, as well as the navigation. This is a single volume not a collection of Jefferson's writings. The collection has much larger volume of Jefferson's works Works of Thomas Jefferson. Including The Jefferson Bible, Autobiography and The Writings of Thomas Jefferson (Illustrated), with...
Published on May 11, 2009 by MobileReference

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Be aware of what you're buying
[NOTE: This review pertains to "The Writings of Thomas Jefferson ..." published by MobileReference, ASIN: B001OZ7ZMG.] This is an odd publication. Contrary to what its title implies, and unlike other Mobile Reference collections I've purchased, it is not a complete collection. Nor is it a "greatest hits" collection. Rather, it's Jefferson's letters written in the...
Published on April 10, 2009 by Zeldock


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comments from the Publisher, May 11, 2009
We apologize for the inconvenience. The title of the book was corrected on May 10th, 2009, as well as the navigation. This is a single volume not a collection of Jefferson's writings. The collection has much larger volume of Jefferson's works Works of Thomas Jefferson. Including The Jefferson Bible, Autobiography and The Writings of Thomas Jefferson (Illustrated), with Notes on Virginia, Parliamentary ... more. Published by MobileReference (mobi) including The Writings of Thomas Jefferson, Volume VI as well as Memoir, Correspondence, And Miscellanies, From The Papers Of Thomas Jefferson", all 4 volumes with comprehensive index and TOC, State of the Union Addresses of Thomas Jefferson, and more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Be aware of what you're buying, April 10, 2009
By 
Zeldock (Pennsylvania USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
[NOTE: This review pertains to "The Writings of Thomas Jefferson ..." published by MobileReference, ASIN: B001OZ7ZMG.] This is an odd publication. Contrary to what its title implies, and unlike other Mobile Reference collections I've purchased, it is not a complete collection. Nor is it a "greatest hits" collection. Rather, it's Jefferson's letters written in the mid-1780s, plus two biographical essays. Thus, while the title doesn't make this clear, it appears to be the digitized version of *one* volume of Jefferson's collected works. (The size of the file would also suggest that we're dealing with something less than the complete works here.)

As for ease of use, there are no links to aid navigation within the letters. On the plus side, the price is right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Defective download, is only one volume of the set, November 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Kindle download is only volume 6 (a collection of his letters).
But this ebook is described as the complete writings of Jefferson, not just one volume of the set.
So this is a defective product, unless I experienced some sort of technical glitch in the download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thomas Jefferson vol. 6, May 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While a lot of his letters are about different food items that are grown and sold there are tidbits from him that can be found in this book. I say read it to get a true feeling of the times and life of Thomas Jefferson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The man knows what he is talking about, March 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Read it and understand how the country should be run. Thomas Jefferson was a brilliant man, if we were still following his teachings then there would be no words to describe the awesome example that America would be setting for the rest of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A necessity after visiting Monticello., April 7, 2012
By 
Ron Heard (Colorado Springs, CO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The writings of, in my opinion, the most brilliant American who has ever lived, and a must. First-hand insights into the thinking of a most complicated individual and his life. I would love to have someone discover his journals detailing his life with Sally!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 17, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
LOVE THIS A+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars History, February 26, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Guess this was just to detailed for me....couldn't make it through it. Ok they require eight words....how about one BORING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The writings of Thomas Jefferson;
The writings of Thomas Jefferson; by Paul Leicester Ford (Paperback - September 11, 2010)
$40.75 $34.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.