Customer Reviews


408 Reviews
5 star:
 (329)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A greatest hits that could have taken it to the limit
Having read David Fuller's review, I couldn't agree more...buy the gold disc! Worth every penny!
This album has, as of November 1999, become the biggest seller of all time: 26 million copies worth. Thriller is in second place at 25 million. And it's easy to see why. This perfectly captures the Eagles early years of country rock, before the Eagles turned all out...
Published on January 24, 2000 by Brian O'Marra

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, But You Can Do Better
The music here is easily worth 5 stars. But this outdated and extremely incomplete collection isn't.

Sure, in 1976, this wasn't a bad idea. But in 2010, you would be much better off buying the 2-CD set "Very Best of the Eagles." It spans their entire original period, 1971-1980, and includes all the big hits. This album seems like a budget release in this...
Published on November 22, 2010 by Jesse Ross


‹ Previous | 1 2 341 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice indeed, February 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This vinyl reissue from Elektra/WEA is just great. The mastering is excellent and the vinyl is quiet! The sticker on the outer baggy for the album says "Pressed with more care than ever." After having purchased a number of brand new lp's pressed at RTI and being disappointed by surface noise right out of the package it is nice to see these records finally undergoing better quality control. If you have an appreciation for this music, buy this record- you won't be disappointed. I nearly shelled out $150-$200 for a DCC lp of this title which I am certain sounds excellent. I will no longer do so as this version has left me perfectly satisfied for sound quality. The cover art reproduction is also very nice- the embossing is a nice touch. My only gripes with this edition are as follows: 1) The cover, while immaculately reproduced, is just a tad flimsy and 2) there is no mention of any mastering technicians/labs anywhere on the cover and there is no insert of any kind. The record itself is in a nice plastic inner sleeve. All around, I say this is 4 of 5 for presentation and 5 of 5 for sound. Totally worth the price. "One of These Nights" will have you struttin'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Great, February 15, 2001
By 
This isn't the best-selling album of all-time for no reason. It perfectly enscapulates one of the most daunting runs in rock music history, the early career of The Eagles. There are several major singles here, as well as the famous album track Desperado (which was, oddly enough, never released as a single.) All of the tracks are great. This is completely different (for the most part) music than that which the band would later make famous on Hotel California, but equally as good; some would say better. There are several country-styled rockers (Take It Easy, Lyin' Eyes, Peaceful Easy Feeling, etc.) that the early Eagles records did so well. However, there are several differently styled songs as well. Desperado and Best of My Love are two great Don Henley-crooned ballads, while Witchy Woman and One of These Nights are forays into different styles of music. All of them are great, however. The Eagles are undoubtedly one of the best, or at the very least most important and most successful, band in rock 'n' roll history, and this disc is a perfect retrospective of their early years. Unless you absolutely hate The Eagles (and I don't see how that could be) I don't think you can call yourself a serious rock fan unless you have this album in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't usually like this kind of music, but WHOA!, February 14, 2000
By 
My mom bought this CD for my dad for Christmas last year, and soon after I "confiscated" it and it has been in my cd player ever since. He prefers the more hard rock tracks of the Hell Freezes Over album, but I think this one rocks. It first caught my attention with the songs Witchy Woman and Desperado, then after repeat listening Tequila Sunrise became a favorite. It's not too often you find that a 15 year old is willing to listen to the music her parents like, so when you do, you know it's something truly special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Collection, but Not Complete, August 12, 2012
This review is from: Their Greatest Hits 1971-1975 (MP3 Music)
The Eagles' THEIR GREATEST HITS collects many of their bigger hits from 1971 to 1975. Accordingly, there's plenty of songs that Eagles fans will yearn for after purchasing this collection. Spectacular songs "Hotel California," "Victim of Love," "I Can't Tell You Why," and many others were recorded later in the band's career, so they don't quite meet the time frame for this greatest hits. However, conspicuously missing is the cover of Tom Waits' "Ol' 55." The mastering on this compilation doesn't stand up to some of the remastered versions either.

This greatest hits collection is a fine starting place for new listeners -- it's modestly priced to be certain. However, I would recommend THE VERY BEST OF THE EAGLES as a better collection. Not only does it contain all of the songs listed here, but it includes more of their later career as well. However, what listeners will get is a good sampling of Frey and Henley's songwriting: plenty of great melodies, rhythms, and harmonies to go around here.

In my reviews, I normally list a smattering of songs to sample or download to determine whether or not this would be a good purchase. Honestly, any of these songs are a great place to start listening. The collection's brief nature allows for such a densely packed number of hits. For Eagles fans,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eagles- Their Greatest Hits, December 3, 2007
By 
ESSENTIAL ALBUM!!! This album, along with Michael Jackson's Thriller, flip-flop as the number one selling album of all-time. There are ten timeless classics here from the pre-Joe Walsh era of the Eagles. All but one of these songs charted & the one that didn't should have. There are a few omissions but they're minor ones.

The album opens with "Take It Easy" which peaked at #12, Jackson Browne was a co-writer on this song. Next is "Witchy Woman" with it's American Indian sounding intro, it peaked at #9. "Lyin' Eyes" was one of the first songs from a pop artist that crossed over into the country charts. It went to #3 on Adult Contemporary, #8 Country & #2 Pop Singles. "Already Gone", one of their best rock songs went to #32. "Desperado" didn't chart but I consider it to be in my 50 greatest songs ever. "One of These Nights" was a #1 hit. "Tequila Sunrise" only made it to #64 but I consider it to be one of their best songs. "Take It to the Limit" was written & sung by bassist Randy Meisner, it went to #4 Adult Contemporary & #4 Pop Singles. "Peaceful Easy Feeling" went to #22. The final song on the album, "The Best of My Love" has a world-weary sounding vocal by Don Henley, another great song by the Eagles; it went to #1Pop singles & #1 Adult Contemporary.

This is an outstanding compilation, good reasons for it being one of the two best selling albums of all-time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best greatest hits albums ever!!!, July 29, 2003
By 
John Alapick (Harveys Lake, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Eagles- Their Greatest Hits 1971-1975 is simply a timeless collection of the Eagles' best tracks from their first four albums. This album has become the biggest selling album ever in the United States and it's easy to see why. Every track here is a gem, still getting heavy airplay on AOR and soft rock radio.
Most of the tracks here are acoustic, having more of a country flavor than on later albums like Hotel California and The Long Run. There's plenty to love here for all music fans. "Lyin' Eyes", "Tequila Sunrise", and "Peaceful Easy Feeling" are all laid-back country-pop with excellent lead vocals and harmonies. "Witchy Woman", "Take It Easy", and "Already Gone" are great classic rockers which contain strong melodies and have aged very well. "One Of These Nights", "Best Of My Love", and "Take It To The Limit" are the best of soft rock and are all very memorable tracks. Finally, there's the piano ballad "Desperado", which has become one of their strongest tracks ever despite not being a major hit. This should be in every music fan's collection. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, June 23, 2005
The Eagles: Their Greatest Hits (Vol. 1) is a great compilation of the first half of The Eagles' amazing musical career, for a casual Eagles fan. If you want a more in-depth compilation then The Eagles: Their Very Best is the right choice.

However, the real reason for writing this review is just to point out the utter stupidity of the reviewer below named D. Zumaya. He gave this album 1 star, and said that The Eagles are "by far the WORST band of all time." I would like to point out that this same reviewer gave Clay Aiken's album a full 5 stars, calling his CD "perfect" and saying that "Every song could be a platinum single".

He is clearly in the minority with that opinion considering that The Eagles: Their Greatest Hits (Vol. 1) is the top selling album in history with 28 million sold, just ahead of Michael Jackson's Thriller with 26 mill. and Pink Floyd's The Wall with 23 mill.

Overall, this, along with their second greatest hits album (which contains the songs form both the Hotel California and The Long Run albums) are a good choice for a casual fan. But if you want to go more in depth I recommend Their Very Best, or if you're willing to spend the money, their new Boxed Set which contains all of their albums in CD format is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best driving album ever...hands down, August 27, 2003
By 
A. Ort "aorto" (Youngstown, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the Eagles before stardom took its hold on them and they got caught up in its excesses which, ironically, led to such great, though very different, albums as Hotel California and The Long Run.
This has got a much more laid back, California desert kind of feel to it, talking about the simple complexities that life brings -- cheating, heartache and chasing that wanderlust -- and some of the tightest harmonies ever laid down.
If you don't have it, where've you been?! You'll know every song. If you haven't listened to it in a while, get in the car, pop it in, roll down the windows and go for a long drive in the country.
Best selling album ever? Yea, I can see why. It's got a timeless appeal to it. In twenty years it'll sound just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, But You Can Do Better, November 22, 2010
By 
Jesse Ross (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The music here is easily worth 5 stars. But this outdated and extremely incomplete collection isn't.

Sure, in 1976, this wasn't a bad idea. But in 2010, you would be much better off buying the 2-CD set "Very Best of the Eagles." It spans their entire original period, 1971-1980, and includes all the big hits. This album seems like a budget release in this day and age simply because more definitive collections have been released since.

The Eagles are one of my top favorite groups but to buy this album would be to ignore the brilliant second half of their career -- the half that gave us the masterpieces "Hotel California" and "The Long Run." The 2-CD set from 2003 covers it all, and that's what true Eagles fans ought to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the eagles hits, August 18, 2008
By 
The main reason I'm giving the Eagles Greatest Hits a perfect 5 star rating is because it does a PERFECT job collecting all the major hit songs from the Eagles. While I feel many of these songs have overstayed their welcome, and even though I've moved on to other classic rock artists, what matters is how solid a greatest hits collection is, and let me tell ya- they don't get any more solid than this!

However, it's probably best to pick up some of the bands regular studio albums instead. Start with the very first one and go from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 341 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Their Greatest Hits 1971-1975
Buy MP3 Album: Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.