Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Them Changes
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars60
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 3, 2005
This near perfect Classic Funk Rock album deserves 5 stars. The music is Rhythmic, soulful, tasteful and expressive. "Expressive" just like the album cover.

Check out the album cover of Buddy "Wow" !! The hair, the shirt, the Drums. This cover Photo speaks for itself. And those Drums "Wow" !! For those who dont know about Drums. This is a Classic 60's model Rogers Drum Set. It features a hand painted Custom Paint finish with Buddy Miles name on each of the Tom Toms.

Rogers made some of the finest Drums avaliable during the 60's.

This is an original re-issue of all eight songs. No bonus tracks to screw up the continuity. I bought this album in 1970 and was very excited to see it on Cd. Mercury does a great job with the sound quality of this re-issue. Everything is clear and precise, just like the original album.

Just eight songs are featured for our listening pleasure. But, every song is well worth the investment.

It starts with the Hard Rocker "Them Changes" guitar and bass riffs along with Buddy's solid drumming and vocals keeps us on our feet.{he also recorded this version on the Hendrix Band Of Gypsy's Lp}

"I Still Love You Anyway" Buddy's soulful Heartfelt vocals is what sets this apart from all the other tracks. One listen is worth a thousand words. "Hearts Delight" classic Funk Rock beat with some dynamic horn parts. "Dreams" Buddy's arrangement is stellar !! It starts off soft and builds to a fever pitch.

"Down By The River" another Great version / arrangement by Buddy and the guys. It also features Buddy on the lead guitar.

"Memphis Train" The horn section is to be appreciated on this one. Two Tenor saxophones, a Trumpet and Barotone sax will thrill you with their explosiveness. "Paul B. Allen,Omaha Nebraska" I have no idea about the title ? But, it is a worthy Jam.

Just an organ a guitar and Buddy on drums. Buddy plays alot of his signature Drum Fills !! The last song "Your Feeling Is Mine" is a nice finale to this Great Cd. It gives us the whole band {10 musicians} with an added Flugelhorn and Trombone solo.

If your interest are in Classic Funk Rock albums from the early seventies than you need look no further. "This Is It" !!

Some of Buddy Miles Best Material !!

Fast Fact: Buddy Miles has played with such famous artist as,

Ruby and the Romantics, Wilson Pickett, Mike Bloomfield, Jimi Hendrix and Carlos Santana.
22 comments|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2003
But I think they have to have it in stock first. What a shame. This is a great album from back in the day. Buddy Miles was a great drummer (still is I guess, because about a year ago I saw him in an interview, getting ready to do a concert in Honolulu),. And his work with Jimi Hendrix in
the Band of Gypsies, Carlos Santana and a host of others is the stuff of legends.
The recording is great. Hearing the opening of "Them Changes" is like hearing from an old friend who has come back from school.
"Down by the River" is one of my favorite songs from this album and from this era. Being able to find a copy of that (I think this is the only place to find this studio cut on CD). D.B.T.R., "I Still Love You Anyway" and, "Heart's Delight" are among my favorite (along, of course with the title cut).
This is an essential.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2005
Need more be said? Once again a music company in a foreign land has accompished what no music company in the U. S. has to date, the reissue of this classic, highly sought after by music collectors of the era, album, remastered on cd. The U.S. released "Best Of" cd inexplicably omits the classic "Down By The River" studio version, on this lp, in lieu of the version off the live album, a pleasure to hear with it's extended horn solos but, is not the classic sought after for years by collectors. The remastering of the album on this cd is superb, and a treat to those who haven't heard the song in years. The rest of the album does not qualify as a soul lp however, "Down By The River" alone presents the pass for the cd to enter a soul music collection.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2007
I first bought the LP back in the 70's (and still have it) and was blown away by it's funkiness. The only problem with the original album was the sound quality. The horns especially were over modulated to the point of hurtin' the ear drums! Even Buddy's voice sounded scratchy on a few cuts but the sound on the cd is so clear without any sound quality loss at all! So after years of searching I found it on Amazon and it was worth the wait!!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2011
Correcting a little misinformation from Julie Swedien Johnson
I recorded Them changes at a small funky studio in Chicago
called Audio Finishers. Some overdubs and the final mix was
done by Bruce Swedien at Universal in Chicago where I also worked
The 3 weeks I spent with Buddy and the guys was a ton of fun.
I love this album and was probably the highlight of my career
The cd remastering is very good
77 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2005
The editorial review of this album describes it as a "Single Disc with Both Albums of the Original 2lp Issue." I should just point out that the original LP was a single album. It clocks in at about 35 minutes.

I only have it on vinyl, so I cannot rate the remastering, but it is indeed a superb album and well worth the price if the remastering is up to scratch, as the other review would seem to indicate.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2003
1971. Buddy's 3rd album. And, by far, his best, as a whole. It stayed in the top 10 for nearly a year. I remember walking into a record store in Honolulu at the time, and the owner was playing the album overhead. "He's on fire!" he said to me. How very true! This is a *great* collection of songs! Only three of them are on the "Greatest Hits" CD. This album has the original studio version of "Down By The River" with Buddy on lead guitar! So, it's definitely worth spending the cash to get it. Too bad it's only available as an import. One of the *best* albums from from what was left of the '60s in 1971.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Working in a secondhand record shop in Central London you come across Soul and Funk LP rarities that have acquired an almost legendary status across the years - and "Them Changes" is one of them. US originals regularly cross the counter for £20+ while British copies are even harder to find. I mention this because Buddy Miles' third album is one of those semi-unknown nuggets that's worth the dollars and 'so' deserves a bigger audience on CD...

In fact checking on his catalogue for this review - I find that only 2 of his 6 albums on Mercury are available on CD anywhere in the world - a very pricey and now deleted Hip-O Select issue of "Expressway To Your Skull" (his US debut LP from 1968 produced by Jimi Hendrix) and this. Fans of Funk-Soul will also notice that of the 15 CD reissues in this 2003 series - most are now deleted and have garnished ludicrous price tags (ranging from £40 to as high as £90) - except this - which is still available at a reasonable sum.

The vinyl LP was originally issued June 1970 in the USA on Mercury SR-61280 and October 1970 on Mercury 6338 016 in the UK (see UK LP Discography below). This "ORIGINAL FUNK LP SERIES" CD reissue reproduces the American gatefold sleeve artwork in its card digipak (inside and out) and provides an 8-page booklet too. Page 2 gives you a readable repro of the album credits in full and there's also a very knowledgeable and concise essay on the album by noted Soul writer DEAN RUDLAND. This May 2003 CD on Universal/Miracle Records 063 693-2 is a straightforward 8-track reissue of that 1970 LP (33:46 minutes).

ROBIN McBRIDE and BUDDY MILES produced seven of its eight tracks - the exception being "Memphis Train" - which is produced by STEVE CROPPER of Booker T. & The M.G.'s. The album was mixed by top engineer BRUCE SWEDIEN who later worked with a number of Brunswick label artists (The Chi-Lites etc) and features on Michael Jackson's "Off The Wall" and "Thriller". Other notable musicians are CHARLIE KARP and JIM McCARTY on Lead Guitar, ANDRE LEWIS on Keyboards and LEE ALLEN on Trumpet. Miles was of course the drummer with American Rock-Fusion band THE ELECTRIC FLAG and part-time participant of Jimi Hendrix's Band of Gypsys. As well as drumming he provides lead vocals on every track.

Three songs are BM originals "Them Changes", "Heart's Delight" and a co-write with Andre Lewis on "Paul B. Allen, Omaha, Nebraska" while the lovely "I Still Love You, Anyway" is written by band guitarist Charlie Karp. His cover versions are masterfully chosen and arguably the highlights of the album - a fantastically funky reinterpretation of "Dreams" by The Allman Brothers (lyrics above), "Memphis Train" by Rufus Thomas, "Your Feeling Is Mine" by Otis Redding and a truly brilliant and soulful version of "Down By The River" from Neil Young that never ceases to bring customers to the counter asking "Who is this!"

Like The Undisputed Truth CD in this series "Face To Face With The Truth" (see separate review) - it doesn't say who remastered the tapes or where it was done - but the sound is clear and funky (if not a little hissy in places) - and 'pre-production' appears to have something to do with 'Miracle Records' via Universal UMG out of Europe.

I love this album and recommend this CD version of it wholeheartedly.
If you want to get a lay of the land - try the opening 20 seconds of "Down By The River" - that should get you Buddy-hooked immediately...

PS: A Buddy Miles LP Discography (1968 to 1972):
1. Expressway To Your Skull (January 1969 (1968 USA) UK LP on Mercury 20137 SMCL) - USA Hip-O Select CD only, Gatefold Card Repro Sleeve, No'd to 5000.
2. Electric Church (October 1969 UK LP on Mercury 20163 SMCL)
3. Them Changes (October 1970 UK LP on Mercury 6338 016) - REVIEWED ABOVE
4. We Got To Live Together (January 1971 UK LP on Mercury 6338 028)
5. A Message To The People (June 1971 UK LP on Mercury 6338 048)
6. Live (February 1972 UK 2LP set on Mercury 6641 033)
[NOTE: 1 and 2 credited to BUDDY MILES EXPRESS, the others to BUDDY MILES. As of July 2012 - 2, 4, 5 and 6 are NOT ON CD]

PPS: If you want a pictorial of the "Original FUNK LP Series" - I've tagged all 15 - click the tag link above.
Here's a printed list:

1. A Tear To A Smile - ROY AYERS UBIQUITY
(1975 US LP on Polydor, CD reissue is 065 620-2)
2. Propositions - BAR-KAYS
(1982 USA LP on Mercury, CD reissue is 822 885-2)
3. Summertime Groove - BOHANNON
(1978 USA LP on Mercury, CD reissue is 077 014-2)
4. Ugly Ego - CAMEO
(1978 USA LP On Chocolate City, CD reissue is 077 251-2)
5. Con Funk Shun 7 - CON FUNK SHUN
(1981 USA LP on Mercury, CD reissue is 063 699-2)
6. Nice And Soulful - CAROLINE CRAWFORD
(1979 USA LP on Mercury, CD reissue is 067 517-2)
7. The Gap Band - THE GAP BAND
(1979 USA LP on Mercury, CD reissue is 063 698-2)
8. Something Special - KOOL and THE GANG
(1981 LP on De-Lite, CD reissue is 063 695-2)
9. In Heat - LOVE UNLIMITED
(1974 LP on 20th Century, CD reissue is 063 625-2)
10. Just Outside Of Town - MANDRILL
(1973 LP on Polydor, CD reissue is 065 619-2)
11. Them Changes - BUDDY MILES [Drummer with The Electric Flag]
(1970 LP on Mercury, CD reissue is 063 693-2)
12. One Way featuring Al Hudson - ONE WAY featuring AL HUDSON
(1979 LP on MCA, CD reissue is 113 201-2)
13. What Am I Gonna Do - GLORIA SCOTT [Barry White production]
(1974 USA LP on Casablanca, CD reissue is 063 694-2)
14. Moving South - SOUTHSIDE MOVEMENT
(1975 USA LP on 20th Century, CD reissue is 063 691-2)
15. Face To Face With The Truth - THE UNDISPUTED TRUTH
(1972 LP on Gordy & Tamla Motown, CD reissue is 067 100-2)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2012
I'm speechless. I can't believe it took me 40 years to discover this album, especially after immersing myself in so much similar music from the same era. Oh well, better late than ever, right? To cut to the chase, this is just great music. Stellar tunes played by Buddy and his equally talented musical partners. Funky, soulful, rockin' ... it's all here, and it's all powerful. Great, timeless music. You need this one too!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2007
I was shocked when my search for the Buddy Miles "Them Changes" album actually came back with a remastered CD. The quality is really good for an overseas version and the songs just can't get any better...
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.