Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$12.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 9, 2011
I'm a good bit older than the suggested age range for this "juvenile reading" book. However, it's as much of a page-turner as Grisham's adult thrillers. Young Mr. Boone, middle school son of two lawyers, uses his smarts and legal knowledge to investigate a disappearance, the victim of which is a good friend. With help from his friends, and his black-sheep uncle, will Theo find the missing friend? It took only a few hours for me to find out, ripping through each page with great reading pleasure.
11 comment| 110 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2011
Theodore Boone is back again, and in John Grisham's newest mystery, Theo's friend, April, has vanished! The only problem is that no one has a clue what happened. Theo, her best friend, decides to do his own secret investigations with his closest friends and his ex-lawyer uncle Ike. Even working together on search efforts, they are getting nowhere fast, and everyone starts to wonder, "How long until we see her on the news dead or injured?"

This book is very well done. It is a page-turner that is almost impossible to put down. I recommend this to a younger audience, but even adults will like it!
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2011
In terms of reviewing this book, it is important to think of it from the standpoint of a 11-15 reading the book and not an adult as the young adult is really Grisham's primary target audience. With that in mind, in this story Grisham reintroduces us to Theodore Boone--a young man with a penchant for detective work and a budding 13-yr old "attorney." Both of his parents are lawyers and as a result he has a unique opportunity to combine his entrepreneurial skills with the ability to learn at his parents feet. In this the second Theodore Boone story by Grisham, he is immediately thrown into the fray when his best friend April goes missing. He doesn't necessarily believe at first that she was in fact taken by someone else but after days of her continuing to go missing as well as the appearance of an old family relative back from jail, he fears the worst. The story continues with his somewhat odd uncle Ike once again coming on the scene to help out and eventually play a big role in the resolution of this mystery.

From the standpoint of recommending it to children, I thought the subject matter was appropriate for agest 13-and up. The subject matter of kidnapping might be a bit tough for kids younger than that to take and sometimes the descriptions got fairly graphic. The story also touches on divorce which is a subject that needs to be handled carefully around young children. I was slightly dissapointed with how Grisham chose to end the book. It felt very abrupt and I thought he could have done a bit of a better job goign slightly deeper into the relationship between Theodore and his parents and even Theodore and April. Overall however a strong book and one that will likely do well especially with teens.
22 comments| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
My child went to a mock trial when she was in 4th grade. Before she went she read Theodore Boone. She loves going to the courthouse now cause of the Theodore. It's great to have a fictional character that a child can relate to. In the story Theodore goes to the courthouse all the time cause his parents are lawyers. I told my child I can take her to the courthouse anytime she wants. She excitedly said "Really"? We go to the traffic court and watch what happens and how people behave. Thank you John Grisham for writing a wonderful entertaining book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2012
Theodore Boone is a middle school boy, growing up in a small town with his lawyer parents. When his best friend, April, goes missing, the whole town is worried. Being April's best friend, he makes it his mission to find her. Using skills he has learned from watching his parents, and some of his own knowledge, he creates a plan to track April down.
This is a thoroughly interesting and well-written novel I would definitely recommend! If you are a lover of mysteries, this is a real treat.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2011
"Theodore Boone: The Abduction" by John Grisham is his follow-up to his 2010 foray to YA fiction "Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer". The first book left readers hanging with an unresolved murder trial, but that isn't covered in book #2 (although it's indicated at the end of The Abduction that Book #3 would pick-up with the murder trial again). Instead, book #2 is more of a stand-alone story dealing with the possible abduction of Theo's best friend April.

I listened to the audiobook of The Abduction (as read by Richard Thomas) in the gym. I thought that a nice thriller would be a good pick-me-up, but no, I found it really sleepy and dull. Richard Thomas did his best with the boring material, but seriously, this is one long zzzzz. I'm not exactly sure how Grisham managed to make a story dealing with the possible abduction of a child so unexciting and oddly lacking in tension (including a really lame conclusion which was stretched out for far too long)

The best part of The Abduction had nothing to do with the main plot at all - it's a little interlude where Theo shows up at Animal Court and defends a feisty old parrot in danger of having its wings clipped. I found myself laughing out loud and enjoying myself for the first time in the book (Richard Thomas did the voices really well for the Animal court scenes), and wished for more scenes like that. I think I'd actually be happier if Grisham came out with a "Theodore Boone: Animal Court" anthology instead!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2015
This was my third read of John Grisham's foray into young adult fiction. As I mentioned in a previous review, Grisham is stretching his narrative style by telling a story from the point of view of a 13 year old wannabe lawyer. Theodore Boone is a virtuous and intelligent young man in this book as well. In this tale, one of his close friends is believed to be abducted. There is a red herring that initially indicates that the girl has been murdered by an escaped convict. Where the police and others fail to find the girl, Theodore is able to locate her and goes on a road trip with his hippie uncle to bring her back.

The story is somewhat suspenseful, but ultimately predictable. Theodore is the hero and brings the girl home. Again, the story is somewhat unbelievable in terms of the intellect and perspective of the 13 year old protagonist. Further, the subject of the "kidnapping" is represented as a close friend of Theodore's as they communicate every night. It is dubious that the events of this story would not have been communicated to him and that the girl leaves town without a thought of who might wonder where she is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2012
This story is definitely designed for adolescents and is a very good story for that age bracket. For adults it may be a little simplistic, but for adolescents John Grisham has provided a challenge with several built in challenges, as well. For instance, should he call his parents when he decides to leave town in pursuit of the victim's presumed location? That's a major dilemma for a 13 year old. Too many things could go wrong. John Grisham teaches the adolescent reader why parents make rules and how to both respect those rules even when it appears they should be bypassed and how to achieve the higher goal, in this case rescuing the person abducted. Kids have a tough time with decisions that flaunt independence rather than obedience, and Mr. Grisham shows respect for both the responsible parents and the responsible adolescent who may sometimes bend the rules but won't do things that harm anyone, including himself. Good book, great author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2012
I throughly enjoyed readingTHE ABDUCTION by John Grisham, it was always interesting and the main character Theodore Boone is a very likeable character. It was enjoyable to read a book that didn't have a lot of lude situations and bad language.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2015
It's John Grisham for middle school (5-8) grades. These books are similar to "Mary Higgins Clark" books which means the stories don't have any bad language in them. Of course if bad language is something you'd want for your middle schoolers, then these books are not for you.
I read them and I really enjoyed the stories. Of course, I enjoyed Grisham when he first began to write (A Time to Kill; The Firm) but that was before he decided that he MUST use a few bad words for the grownups that were buying his books. What has happened to us? How did the Classics get to be so revered without the trash talk we've had to get used to on TV and in books? Anyway, you'll love Theo Boone whether you're 14 or 41 !! Enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.