Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Writers of Computer Graphics Textbooks, please note.
I wanted a book that covered Inverse Kinematics for animation in computer graphics. What I found was a book that not only went further than my needs, but turned out to be the most comprehensive coverage of IK and associated topics that I have yet come across.

All of the material covered needs some preliminary study before reading this book, probably from...
Published on March 31, 2008 by John P. F. Oconnor

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a book in a dummies style
If you are a technician or a high school student, this book may well suite for your needs. For others, I can't recommend this book as it will be too naive to say you would find something worthy.

These days, there are very good books on robotics which would be well suited for the needs of an engineer or a scientist. This is not one of them and I would recommend...
Published 17 months ago by a customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Writers of Computer Graphics Textbooks, please note., March 31, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wanted a book that covered Inverse Kinematics for animation in computer graphics. What I found was a book that not only went further than my needs, but turned out to be the most comprehensive coverage of IK and associated topics that I have yet come across.

All of the material covered needs some preliminary study before reading this book, probably from several sources. However, if anyone should want a full treatment of Rotation,Orientation,Motion and Forward Kinematics, to bring it all together, then this is the book for it. The author gives the clearest diagrams and explanations of the Denavit-Hartenberg Notation I have yet seen. If the previous papers on this topic are anything to go by, this has not been an easy task.

Chapter 2. Rotation Kinematics. Excellent examples of Rotation and Successive Rotation about Global Cartesian Axes; Global Roll-Pitch-Yaw Angles; Successive Rotation about Local Cartesian Axes; Euler Angles.
Chapter 3, on Orientation Kinematics gives advanced treatment of this area.

Chapter 4, again the best single treatment I have seen on Rigid Body Motion, Inverse and Compound Homogeneous Transformations. Screw Coordinates are included for advanced study.

Chapter 5, on Forward Kinematics, gives numerous examples on applications of the Denavit-Hartenberg Notation to Transformations. Again, the best I have seen yet, with respect to the diagrams and accompanying examples.

Chapter 6, on Inverse Kinematics, is well explained.

The remaining chapters, from Angular Velocity to Numerical Methods, Acceleration, Robot and Motion Dynamics appear to be in the same vein, although I have only scanned the contents.

Of course, the reader will come across the odd typo. However, I would like to congratulate the author on writing what must be the leading textbook in this field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Thorough, August 20, 2010
By 
Joshua James Smith (Lynnwood, Washington) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Theory of Applied Robotics: Kinematics, Dynamics, and Control (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
This book does a very good job of showing every step involved with many examples. It tends to show numerical examples and is a little light on theory, but this is an applied robotics book so no fault there. It makes a good text to have in conjunction with other robotics books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind opening, easy to follow, lots of useful content., June 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Theory of Applied Robotics: Kinematics, Dynamics, and Control (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
This book proved to be very useful in understanding the subject of orientation kinematics and DCM matrix. It helped me write a little tutorial on my blog (google: starlino dcm ) that contain some notes and my own view on the subject. This book is really easy to follow, just make sure you read the introduction that covers the notation conventions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome even for Animators but HEAVY math..., November 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Theory of Applied Robotics: Kinematics, Dynamics, and Control (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
As in matrix and linear algebra, partial derivatives, numerical methods, dynamics, kinematics and of course vector analysis w/lots of trig. One might think that one of the best recent texts ever written on inverse kinematics would be ideal for those of us designing joints both for animation and robotics, but a BIG dose of engineering kinematics is assumed to begin with. The authors say "three years of undergrad" would do it-- maybe at MIT, but a LOT of this material is graduate level in UK and US contexts.

Many animators are not engineers, but are interested in the math behind kinematics. There are few books as up to date at this text in that field. But when you see that quaternion multiplication is "explained" in terms of matrix multiplication and linear algebra, it becomes clear that you need a good grounding in linear and matrix algebra before tackling this volume.

Even the control feedback sections assume you've had at least one or two courses in feedback theory and math. The authors describe this as an "intermediate" text; however, given the paucity of other texts on kinematics in general (at least up to date texts), I'd disagree and call this advanced.

This is not to knock the outstanding quality of the material, just to warn you that if you're into self study, you might be wasting your money when you find the material level assumes a lot of engineering background. NOT a beginning text, sadly, as there are few good ones up to date on kinematics. If you spend your days with Maya and other programs skinning figures, or designing robot joints, and are willing to spend a lot of time on the prep math-- there is no better text available. But it is NOT an introductory text by any means. After all, moving joints around in 3 and 4D IS analytic geometry in motion, and PDE's are abundant in that field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good book, March 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Theory of Applied Robotics: Kinematics, Dynamics, and Control (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
This book is a comprehensive one full of usefull and practical technical details and applications. Nice and good work and Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's good, but not the best, May 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Theory of Applied Robotics: Kinematics, Dynamics, and Control (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
The forward and inverse kinematics are described clearly in this book. However, the angular velocity part is not so clear, fuzzy notations with typo obscure your understanding

I strongly recommend the author to check the type, and spend more pages to describe chapter 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Textbook on the Subject, September 16, 2008
I recently ordered this book for my Robotics class, and it is by far the most comprehensive text I have read on the subject. The topics are clearly defined and equations are effectively derived and arranged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, October 9, 2009
By 
Juan Gregorio Regalado Pacheco (Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm enjoying too much this book, I haven't readed it completely but I'm really satisfied with this purchase. I encourage you to buy this book.

I've bought this book because I'm a robotics enthusiast and until now I've found answers to almost any question I had about.

Really a good job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a book in a dummies style, April 5, 2013
This review is from: Theory of Applied Robotics: Kinematics, Dynamics, and Control (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
If you are a technician or a high school student, this book may well suite for your needs. For others, I can't recommend this book as it will be too naive to say you would find something worthy.

These days, there are very good books on robotics which would be well suited for the needs of an engineer or a scientist. This is not one of them and I would recommend skipping this one to save some money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Theory of Applied Robotics: Kinematics, Dynamics, and Control (2nd Edition)
$99.00 $79.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.