Customer Reviews


141 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The "master" speaks to grasshopper...
Yalom has vast knowledge and experience with group therapy, and in this book he imparts it to neophyte counselors in a logical and detailed format. He carefully explains the therapeutic value of a group, the factors necessary to facilitate change, and the role of the therapist. He emphasizes the here-and-now focus, and how group members create a social microcosm of...
Published on August 1, 2006 by Eliza Bennet

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A classic that needs reorganization
Yalom's book is a classic in group therapy. It focus the core elements and process of group therapy and it is quite complet in content. But I found the book quite disorganized in presenting the content.
Published 11 months ago by Antonio C. P. Nt


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The "master" speaks to grasshopper..., August 1, 2006
This review is from: Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
Yalom has vast knowledge and experience with group therapy, and in this book he imparts it to neophyte counselors in a logical and detailed format. He carefully explains the therapeutic value of a group, the factors necessary to facilitate change, and the role of the therapist. He emphasizes the here-and-now focus, and how group members create a social microcosm of their life within the therapy group. Yalom advises on practical matters, like the selection of clients and the creation of the group. He then carefully explores the stages that groups move through, and some problem members that one could encounter.

The drawbacks of this volume include the length - it is excessively long (they could cut chapter 9) due to the verbosity of the author. I had to look up several words and phrases that I was unfamiliar with, and I have to admit, some pages bored me. Nevertheless, for a text, this is a great book. I read every page, to the end, even the unassigned chapters. I'll keep this in my library for reference, and I hope to be able to refer to it repeatedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars authentic and proficient towards human health, September 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
Cristal clear, authentic, proficient, interpersonal aproach.I read the book 10 - 12 hours per day, almost without pause.Useful in all paradigms. The therapeutic factors are : instilation of hope,universality, imparting information, altruism, corrective recapitulation of thr primary family group. The comparative value of the clients'and therapists' views are very usefully presented.Working in the Here-and-Now, positive and negative catharsis ( with corrective interpretation),and the liaison with other books of professor Yalom, are only a few ideas of this great book. I recommand it for student, teachers and everyone interested in personal development.
Jean Boutiere
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yalom rocks!!, December 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
I love reading Yalom. He makes group therapy concepts flow like a river. I would give this as a gift to every student of psychology, psychiatry, nursing, social work, that I know. Not having won the lottery, I am thrilled to have it in my own library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yalom- before he was an author, August 26, 2007
This review is from: Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
This book was a required reading for one of my classes at school. I am familiar with Yalom's work after he became an author of more popular literature (The Gift of Therapy, Love's Executioner, etc.) so I was half expecting this book to be written in the same style. It is written like a text book. At times, you can see Yalom's personality coming through, but most of it is dry and rather unemotional. However, this book is still edifying and (while not entertaining) easily read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, September 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is Yalom. What more do I need to say? His respect for the contributions of clients/patients to their own healing, and the healing of other persons in group context inspires me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gregg L. Friedman MD Psychiatrist, Hallandale Beach, FL, July 24, 2013
The Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy by Irwin Yalom is on of the best books available on Group Psychotherapy. You will learn about group psychodynamics and how to move the group forward in a positive direction. This is a wonderful book for psychiatrists to read. It is very well written and easy to understand. I give it a 5 star Excellent rating. By Gregg L. Friedman MD, Psychiatrist, Hallandale Beach, FL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun to read, January 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is entertaining to read, and it is not just another textbook. The author gives a lot of examples of what he is talking about, which helps to break up the information and to show precisely his point. I thoroughly enjoy this book, even though the size seems daunting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This reader-friendly book is a great resource for any psychotherapist and counselor who is interested, October 17, 2014
This review is from: Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
This reader-friendly book is a great resource for any psychotherapist and counselor who is interested, or doing, group counseling. Despite its simple language, the book offers an incredible amount of valuable information about group processes and how to lead a group in an effective, successful manner. Dr. Yalom writes beautifully and I strongly believe this is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, March 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent book, a must have additon to any counseling student's library. The book is set up in an easy to follow format, and the authors message is easy to understand. I have the kindle version and I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, August 14, 2009
By 
This review is from: Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
In The Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy, Yalom identifies interpersonal problems as a central reason why people are in need of psychotherapy. He illustrates Sullivan's use of the term "parataxic distortions," and the role it plays in group psychotherapy. Parataxic distortions characterize the individual's propensity to mangle their perceptions of others. It appears in an interpersonal situation when one relates to another on the basis of a portrayal occurring primarily in the former's fantasy, rather than on authentic characteristics of the other individual. According to Yalom, an effective psychotherapy group is one in which the primary focus is on the "here-and-now." In addition to recognizing one's parataxic distortions, concentrating on the here-and-now enables the patient to become more aware of how they interact with group members and can provide them with a more realistic view of how others perceive them. This eventually leads to improvement in their interpersonal relationships outside of the group, which in turn addresses many of their reasons for initially seeking therapy.

Yalom offers therapists several useful suggestions. In particular, he describes the most effective ways of handling "problem" patients (e.g. The Monopolist, The Silent Patient, The Characterologically Difficult Patient); the use of written summaries; therapist self-disclosure; the difference between long-term outpatient groups and short-term inpatient groups; and the importance of personal psychotherapy.

My only criticism is that there are portions of the book that are somewhat repetitive. A few of the case vignettes are repeated throughout the book and have been mentioned in other books of his, but I do not consider this to be a major drawback.

Not only do Yalom's recommendations make sense intuitively, he cites research studies to support many of them. I have read most of his books and have found all of them (including his fiction novels) to be both engaging and educational. As a clinician, I find the breadth and depth of his knowledge of psychology, philosophy and literature, along with his creativity and insight, to be quite inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy, Fifth Edition
Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy, Fifth Edition by Molyn Leszcz (Hardcover - July 6, 2005)
$60.00 $50.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.