Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Patterns have purpose
This text is another in a series of well-loved books in my classroom. There is a purpose for repetitive patterned text as young children learn to recite fun stories like this, they are building several reading and language skills. Beginning readers first learn the rhythm of the text and recite it. They later put that skill to work by tracking words as they read the...
Published on March 10, 2012 by Angela Barr

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing !
I was so disappointed with this book. I bought it for my grandson because my children loved There was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly. This book didn't really make sense and the rhyming and meter were really bad. It was hard to read aloud and impossible to sing.
Published 11 months ago by Gin Lee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Patterns have purpose, March 10, 2012
This review is from: There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Clover! (Paperback)
This text is another in a series of well-loved books in my classroom. There is a purpose for repetitive patterned text as young children learn to recite fun stories like this, they are building several reading and language skills. Beginning readers first learn the rhythm of the text and recite it. They later put that skill to work by tracking words as they read the text. If you come into many classrooms like mine, you'll never find this series of books on the shelf collecting dust, they are always in students' hands. As for me, a teacher who wants to build a passion for reading in young children that will carry with them over time when they make more complex text selections, I will continue buying every version of this story by this author for my students who love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There was an old lady who swallowed a clover!, May 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Clover! (Paperback)
Love all the old lady books. I have made props for several schools to go along with these books. Made the old lady out of a coffee can with a great big mouth so that the kids can stick the props on while reading the story, Great Fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing !, February 18, 2014
This review is from: There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Clover! (Paperback)
I was so disappointed with this book. I bought it for my grandson because my children loved There was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly. This book didn't really make sense and the rhyming and meter were really bad. It was hard to read aloud and impossible to sing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There Was An Old Lady Who..., April 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Clover! (Paperback)
I did this series with the kids and they loved it! We read eleven of them and then they wrote their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids love these books, October 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Clover! (Paperback)
I can read "There Was an Old Lady..." books a hundred times and my students still want me to read them again. Great book to have in any kids library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written, August 30, 2013
By 
Tsukaira "thomlinogier" (Bellingham, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Clover! (Paperback)
I am a music teacher, and so usually I enjoy these books because you can sing them to the tune of "There was an old lady who swallowed a fly". I was very disappointed that the author broke poetic meter multiple times during the book. This not only makes for an awful song, but it also makes it awkward to read as well. While I appreciate this series, this is probably the weakest book out of all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and 8) loved it., July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Clover! (Paperback)
Kids (3,4, and 8) loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Clover! (Paperback)
i like it book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, June 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Clover! (Paperback)
My grandchildren love the story of the old lady who swallowed a spider so I knew they would enjoy me reading this book to them. They thought it was funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun book but..., June 11, 2014
By 
Yong Lee "eastbay dad" (Alameda, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Clover! (Paperback)
The product is as advertised and no surprise.
But really disappointed with the packaging especially because the books were new.
All the books in the package was bent and crushed in all four corners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Clover!
There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Clover! by Lucille Colandro (Paperback - January 1, 2012)
$6.99 $5.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.