Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to space for young children
This is the first of this series that I purchased and I was so surprised. I had been looking for books that would introduce science concepts to children under 4, and thankfully, this series does it. I do not think all of the books are equal with their rhyming style, but this is one of the best ones. This book introduces each of the planets, some constellations, the...
Published on October 25, 2004 by peachyqueen27

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It Could Be Better
The concept of this learning book is fine and it is a good book to introduce young children to space. I read it to my 4 1/2-year-old granddaughter and she enjoyed it. However, about half of the poems could have been much better. They lacked proper poetic cadence. A few seemed very ordinary. The publisher surely should have asked the writer to improve them. The statement...
Published on October 23, 2007 by Hubert I. Flomenhoft


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to space for young children, October 25, 2004
This review is from: There's No Place Like Space: All About Our Solar System (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library) (Hardcover)
This is the first of this series that I purchased and I was so surprised. I had been looking for books that would introduce science concepts to children under 4, and thankfully, this series does it. I do not think all of the books are equal with their rhyming style, but this is one of the best ones. This book introduces each of the planets, some constellations, the moon and the sun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, November 21, 2003
By 
Tonya Cabral (Louisville, KY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: There's No Place Like Space: All About Our Solar System (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library) (Hardcover)
My 4 year old LOVES this book. It presents accurate information about the planets in a simplified, fun way that young readers (and parents, too) enjoy. If your budding astronomer or astronaut is looking for simple, fun, colorful books about space, this is the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book!, October 17, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: There's No Place Like Space: All About Our Solar System (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library) (Hardcover)
I cannot say how impressed I am with The Cat in the Hat's Learning Library, they truly are wonderful books. There's No Place Like Space! is fun to read and helps children understand space and our solar system in a fun rhythmic way. My son loves this book and has shared it with his pre-school class with high praises from his teachers. The information in this book will give a young child a good base of knowledge for future learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great into to our solar system!, April 15, 2005
By 
My little one REALLY likes this book. It has detailed explanations for each planet (Pluto has icicles hanging from it), and so on. Thing one and two are back and trying to get into trouble again, but not too badly. If you're looking for Seuss rhyming, well, this one doesn't do that great of a job, but when you're dealing with a particular subject matter like this book, that could be a little difficult. This is really a great book for starting teaching about science and it's very palatable and easy to understand. I didn't care much for the new adaptations of the illustrations, but then again, I really like the traditional drawings of the characters by Dr. Seuss. Thing One and Two look pretty different, as do the children. Other than that, it's pretty good and better drawn in many places. I highly recommend this book - you certainly won't be sorry you purchased this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved by both young and old alike, March 25, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: There's No Place Like Space: All About Our Solar System (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library) (Hardcover)
This book is wonderful! I feel that any time a book sparks the interest for young people it deserves high praise. My daughter enjoys all of the books in the Dr. Suess Learning Library Series, but especially this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun and educational read. . ., September 25, 2004
By 
Librarian (Washington State) - See all my reviews
This review is from: There's No Place Like Space: All About Our Solar System (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library) (Hardcover)
Although these books are not written by Dr. Suess, they follow his rhyming format fairly well and use the well known characters of: Cat-in-the-Hat, Thing 1 and Thing 2, and Sally and Dick. Since most kids are familiar with Cat in the Hat, the use of these characters to teach non-fiction works well.

There's No Place Like Space covers all the planets in our Solar System, the moon, and touches on the constellations. The information on the planets is brief, think School House Rocks Interplanet Janet, since about the same amount of information is provided here. The book is great for introducing young children to the concepts of planets and the solar system, and is enjoyed by the children I read it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It Could Be Better, October 23, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: There's No Place Like Space: All About Our Solar System (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library) (Hardcover)
The concept of this learning book is fine and it is a good book to introduce young children to space. I read it to my 4 1/2-year-old granddaughter and she enjoyed it. However, about half of the poems could have been much better. They lacked proper poetic cadence. A few seemed very ordinary. The publisher surely should have asked the writer to improve them. The statement that the spinning Earth will never slow down is technically incorrect. That's a fine point, but it would have been easy to present the idea correctly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPER book for a preschool class, October 6, 2006
This review is from: There's No Place Like Space: All About Our Solar System (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library) (Hardcover)
I had to go to the bookstore last night to purchase a new book to read to the preschool class I teach. I can say without a doubt this was enjoyed by ALL the children. SO easy to read and accurate too :) They all enjoyed it and I am VERY happy to add this to my book collection!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far too simple for my 3 & 4 year old, December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: There's No Place Like Space: All About Our Solar System (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library) (Hardcover)
We home school and are currently learning about the solar system. My children are really into gathering a lot of information through songs, crafts, posters, videos, etc. I thought this book would be a great addition to our library of learning especially since they like to watch Cat in the Hat on PBS. However I was so disappointed that the book contained such simplistic facts about each planet which added nothing to their knowledge or answers to their many 'whys'. They were not that interested to read it and I doubt I'll read it to them much as a story book although it may be good practice for them as they want to read themselves as the words are simple to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning is fun with the Cat in the Hat., October 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: There's No Place Like Space: All About Our Solar System (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library) (Hardcover)
This book is written in a very kid-friendly and familiar manner. The rhymes are actually mnemonics which assist in learning about our solar system. Information is accurate in that Pluto is no longer included as a planet. Children learn facts about each of the eight planets, plus several constellations, our moon and the sun. The book itself is made of durable, high quality material and should last through many, many readings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

There's No Place Like Space: All About Our Solar System (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library)
$8.99 $7.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.