Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE READ THIS
I am giving this case a five star review because I have built a few computers over the years and by far Thermaltake makes the best cases I have ever worked with. The case is designed and constructed to Thermaltake's high standards and I am not disappointed in this case. MY PROBLEM, however, is the fact that Amazon describes this case a ATX/microATX. THIS CASE IS NOT ATX...
Published on May 11, 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy, well made but huge and heavy
Nice box, well made and sturdy but also huge and heavy. I thought when the product was called a LANbox that it would be compact and light but it is just as huge and heavy as my other full tower case and weighs the same so what makes it a LANbox? I guess because it is more box shaped than rectangular. If I was naming it I would call it a "weighted companion cube". I also...
Published on June 22, 2010 by yoda


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Front Panel broken, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thermaltake Lanbox Lite VF6000BWS MicroATX/ITX Gaming Cube PC Case (Black) (Personal Computers)
The case looks great but had to refund due to the front panel/face plastic inserts being completely sheared off. The front was not even attached and was hanging off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, November 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thermaltake Lanbox Lite VF6000BWS MicroATX/ITX Gaming Cube PC Case (Black) (Personal Computers)
One of the better Micro ATX cases around, in my opinion. Sturdy build, nice placement of most components, decent airflow, and looks great. While the case is nice and glossy, it is a magnet for finger prints. The stock blue glow is subtle enough that it wont light up a room but strong enough that you know it is there.

I would give 5/5 if it were for two things:
- The cast is a bit deeper than most. I have read this in other reviews and you can see how large it is in the pictures. While I expected it to be even deeper than it is, I would still like to see the size cut down a bit.
- I did not like the placement of the top optical drive. Because of the flip-down doors, the drive is hidden. However, to install the drive, you must take out the mounting bracket and guess what screw holes to use. On top of that, the screws on the same side as the floppy drive are somewhat difficult to get through unless you have a long and thing screwdriver.

I would say each of these complaints merits a .5 (probably less) deduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great case, October 27, 2012
By 
Randy Powell (Bellevile, IL, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thermaltake Lanbox Lite VF6000BWS MicroATX/ITX Gaming Cube PC Case (Black) (Personal Computers)
I've built three computers for family using this case and they all love it. A bit wider than the sandard case but about half the height. Glossy black piano finish.... it only appears cramped if you fail to plan... I use modular P/S and tie down all the cords ...getting ready to buy another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Case is HUGE compared to typical Shuttle boxes, April 28, 2012
By 
Fishing Fool (On a yacht near Fiji Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thermaltake Lanbox Lite VF6000BWS MicroATX/ITX Gaming Cube PC Case (Black) (Personal Computers)
Let me first state that this is not your typcial small form factor (SFF) mini-ITX/micro-ATX case! This thing is quite large and the reason for this is it's designed as a gaming case with enough room to fit large dual slot graphics cards and a full size ATX power supply which is not included. Build quality is good but don't expect Silverstone level quality as there's no aluminum here, only steel and the front panel is all plastic, but given the price it's expected. The glossy black painted steel top cover blends in nicely with the glossy black plastic front panel.

This is a very functional case. The front larger blue LED intake fan is quiet and draws in cool air via the vented front lower panel. This fan also blows cool air over the hard drive if you choose the bottom mount position. The two smaller rear exhaust fans are also very quiet. All three fans come with molex connectors and have no provision for speed control via the motherboard's system fan header, however given that the fans are so quiet you don't really need to control their speed.

The slide out motherboard tray is very convenient but its usefulness is best during initial builds when the case is basically empty. Once you connect all the wires to the motherboard you won't be able to slide it out without removing the wires. In other words you'll only want to slide it out if you upgrade the entire motherboard as everything else could be upgraded without the need to slide it out. For example upgrading the CPU/fan/heatsink is easier if you just lift up the power supply cage out of the way instead of disconnecting all wires just to slide out the motherboard only to have to reconnect all the wires back again which is a PITA.

The two 5.25" drive bays are very useful for those who like to install separate controls and/or displays. For non-gaming rigs they could be used for dual optical drives so you could make direct copies without copying to the hard drive first. On my setup I have one Blu-ray burner and one dedicated DVD burner installed in the two bays. On the left vertical 3.5" bay I have a multi-card reader installed. In my system with an AMD FX8120 clocked at 4GHz the loudest fan is the stock CPU fan which spins up to 6K rpm under full load. Under normal everyday internet browsing the system is not very loud. Case temperatures stay manageable under full load but I'm only using onboard integrated graphics so keep that in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Case!, February 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thermaltake Lanbox Lite VF6000BWS MicroATX/ITX Gaming Cube PC Case (Black) (Personal Computers)
This case is sweet,where do i begin?Side panels on both sides,japenese steel,so its heavy duty,nice black piano glossy finish to it(I plan painting the inside black too) :)came well packaged from Amazon the box was in perfect shape when i received this and my new Saitek 2 keyboard,Thanks Amazon!:D,If you plan on building a sweet gaming rig or a htpc get this case you wont regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful case, very tight on the inside, February 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thermaltake Lanbox Lite VF6000BWS MicroATX/ITX Gaming Cube PC Case (Black) (Personal Computers)
It took me 2 1/2 hours to put my computer together in this case. This is because it was so compact so I had to arrange cables properly so it wouldn't be in the way of the modular CD Drive housing.

Pros:
Beautiful design
Not a tower
easy motherboard slide out tray
sturdy

Cons:
very short front USB and audio cables (this is the reason why I took off one star)
HDD housing unit is in an awkward spot leaving no room for SATA ports on some motherboards (Gigabyte motherboards specifically).
too many thumb screws (about 12)

Make sure to use an L shaped SATA cable for motherboards like my Gigabyte P55M-UD2 that have SATA ports facing horizontally otherwise the HDD housing puts too much pressure onto the cable and could damage the SATA ports on the motherboard. Luckily I had two of these cables lying around in my toolbox.
Also, depending on your motherboard, your front audio port on the motherboard may be close to the expansion slots, if so be careful when sliding out the motherboard after the audio cable is connected to this port since the cable is too short; it could damage the pins on the audio port if pulled out far enough.

All in all it is a cool looking case, has excellent air flow and is fairly quiet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Little Box, October 29, 2011
This review is from: Thermaltake Lanbox Lite VF6000BWS MicroATX/ITX Gaming Cube PC Case (Black) (Personal Computers)
I personally love this box. It holds everything I have and more, though you must plan accordingly when purchasing your parts. I had to up the air cooling a little to maintain normal temps but I shoved a lot of stuff in it. It is a fun box to work with and good looking to boot. All the specs that you will find state that the front fan is 90mm, it actually holds a 92mm fan, however, it has to be the thinner 25mm vice 38mm if you plan to use the hard drive dock. The rear has 3 places for 60mm fans; it comes with some but I chose to replace it with some delta fans that push 50cfm each, works like a charm. Also be aware that the PS sits above the CPU which limits the size of your cooler. I found the Cooler Master GeminII to fit pretty good. There is some wasted space, do with it what you choose. I decided in the extra space next to the floppy drive holder to install another mount for another hard drive sitting vertical vice horizontal. It isn't enough room for another 3.5" but a 2.5" fits perfectly. I also wired some extra USB controllers on the inside so I wouldn't have any extra parts sticking out whilst in transit. I would imagine that if you were mechanically incline and had some resources you could install water cooling within this same area; it is pretty large but hard to get to once everything is put together.

Pros:

Sturdy
Modular
Good looking
Airflow
Full ATX PS

Cons:

Heavy
Some wasted space
Side panels are not removable (this would help a whole lot).

System:

Thermaltake LANBOX Lite VF6000BWS
BFG Tech EX-1200 PS
GIGABYTE GA-MA785GMT-UD2H MB
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE
Cooler Master GeminII S RR-CCH-PBU1-GP
Delta FFB1212EH-PMW 120mm 150cfm (CPU)
A-DATA 8GB DDR3 1600 SDRAM
XFX Radeon HD 5850 XXX
BFG Tech BFGRPHYSX128P PhysX
VANTEC CCB-A4P Ball "IceBerq 4 Pro"
Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250
Thermaltake A2331 Media LAB
2X WD RaptorX 150GB Raid0
WD Scorpio Blue WD10TPVT 1TB (Custom Mounted)
PLEXTOR Black BD Combo PX-B320SA
4X Sunbeam FC PCI (Custom Mounted Rear of Case)
2X NZXT IU01 (Internal USB Controller/Extender)
Delta AFC0912D-PWM 92mm 102cfm (Intake)
3X Delta FFB0612EHE 60mm 50cfm (Exhaust)
MITSUMI Black Digital Card Reader & Floppy
BUFFALO WLI-UC-GN IEEE 802.11b/g/n (Internal to IU01)
Rocketfish RF-MRBTAD Bluetooth (Internal to IU01)
ViewSonic VG2436wm 24" Monitor
Microsoft SideWinder X6 Keyboard
RAZER Naga Special Edition Mouse
RAZER F8GFPC200 N52TE Game Controller
Microsoft Q2F-00001 USB 2.0 WebCam
Samson MediaOne 4a 2.0 Speakers
Cerwin Vega VE-28S Dual 8" Powered Subwoofer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good option for mATX, August 30, 2010
By 
Dan Kim (Ellicott City, MD) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thermaltake Lanbox Lite VF6000BWS MicroATX/ITX Gaming Cube PC Case (Black) (Personal Computers)
Unfortunately, this case isn't my ideal mATX case (I haven't found one yet), but it's very well made and attractive.
Cable management is difficult, but not any more difficult than other mATX SFF cases I've seen.

I would really have liked to see a things to make this excellent:
1. Black powder coated inside
2. A better cable management system
3. Slightly repositioned HDD cage
4. Larger case fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would definitely recommend to all my friends., July 2, 2010
By 
J. Davey (Sacramento, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thermaltake Lanbox Lite VF6000BWS MicroATX/ITX Gaming Cube PC Case (Black) (Personal Computers)
I purchased this case to save desktop space on a new custom built PC. It exceeded my expectations. Only thing that I would like to come with it in the future was a power supply. I guess power supplies are such a custom option now that they felt it was better to leave it out. Other than that, everyone who has come over to see my new computer in action has commented on how good it looks. Price was great with free shipping from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NIce case, April 23, 2010
By 
J. Martinez (California USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thermaltake Lanbox Lite VF6000BWS MicroATX/ITX Gaming Cube PC Case (Black) (Personal Computers)
Got the box and everything arrived in good shape. It is a nice heavy case.
The case is modular so it is easy to separate the motherboard tray from the rest of the box. This is a nice feature and a bit necessary since a small box would usually be difficult to work in. This is not the case with this box. The Motherboard tray, drive cage and powersupply all separate nicely from the case frame.
The case can be taken apart mostly without tools at all. Everything except the powersupply cage is thumbscrew. This is very nice. It was a snap to hook up all my hardware. All the case wiring comes clearly labeled. Hard to really complain about anything. Maybe the case fans are a bit weak but the case temps are fine for me. I am using cool hardware in my box. If you stuff your box full of hot running gear you will certainly need the extra fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.