Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Look Park Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$16.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 7, 2003
Brilliant, dorky, drunken & nostalgic as a cryrogenically frozen martini, this is the ultimate Lee Hazelwood collection to date. If Sinatra had deigned to go Country to alleviate his flagging late 60's career, he would have called on Lee Hazelwood."After Six" could've been the hungover, morning after sequel to "One For My Baby".
"The Old Man & His Guitar" brings vintage Leonard Cohen to mind. "Jose" is so god awful, it gives Elvis Presely's theme song to "Charro" a run for it's money. But therein, lies the fun of it all. If camp were an art form, then Hazelwood has accidentally stumbled on it.
What's great about Hazelwood's cheescake trappings are the universal truths he hacks up despite the canned production. Loneliness, longing, & woe---it's all there. Behind it all, is a balladeer who knows his craft, despite the smaltz. The horns may be goofy but if you strip it down, "When a Fool Loves A Fool" is a great song, worthy of a fashionable makeover cover. That being said, I wouldn't change a note of "Child". "Hands" is as maudlin as it gets, then this rambunctious piano cuts in and saves the day.
Superficially, one would say this is vintage kitch with it's tongue firmly lodged in cheek. A number of listens & it's more than you bargained for. To quote the liner notes on the back, " It's not rock, it's not country, not quite lounge-it's unique. "
All it takes is a talented, imaginative listener & this collection is a bit more than a soundtrack to a 1969 issue of Playboy. But if that's all you get from it, atleast you'll have fun.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2007
I've had Nancy Sinatra's greatest hits for many many years and the only tracks that made the IPod or regular rotation were "These Boots Are Made for Walking (written by Lee) and Some Velvet Morning (a duet with Lee). Some Velvet Morning has been one of my favorite songs for a long time but I just assumed that Lee was a one trick pony... until I decided to pick up this record.

I'm now obsessed with Lee and have started buying his catalog. This record started my obsession with Lee... if you don't like this comp you just don't like Lee.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2003
I remember seeing Nancy Sinatra on many television variety shows in the 1960s and always wondered where her lyrical and mystical balads came from. I remember her singing "Summer Wine" and suddenly I knew It had to be Lee Hazlewood and I have been a fan since then. Lee Hazlewood is an overlooked genius in the music business. cc snyder
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2010
It's not quite rock, it's not quite country, not quite lounge - it's unique. It's Lee Hazlewood, that's what it is. This two CD set contains all his recordings for MGM. That includes three albums; "The Very Special World of Lee Hazlewood", "Lee Hazlewoodism, Its Cause and Cure" and the never released in the US "Something Special", plus a few non-LP songs. A couple of unreleased songs have been lost and are not included here, including the intriguingly titled "The Lone Ranger Ain't My Friend Anymore". The first two albums are similar in arrangement to the albums Lee produced for Nancy Sinatra, including several of the same songs. "Something Special" is something altogether different, with a jazzy four piece band and scat singing by Billy Strange. If you like music Hazlewood produced for Nancy Sinatra, give the music he released under his own name a listen.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2008
The double cd is awesome. It solidifies the fact that Lee was always following the beat of his own drummer, recording and preforming unforgettable songs in the sixties, when the rest of the nation was embracing the whole summer of love vibe. I love the fact that it has the original vesions of songs like Summer Wine, Sand and These Boots. This cd will stand proudly in anyones Hazlewood collection.
Big "D"
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2015
Share this album with young people. Save them from the pure crap mass consumption rubbish. Lee Hazlewood should be as big and beloved as Johnny Cash. The songs contained in this collection are genius. Difficult to describe his style though. Listen to samples and then do yourself a favor: become a Lee Hazlewood fan. I bet James Dean wouldve been a fan if he'd lived long enough to do so. If you ever need to drive thru the desert or the great state of Texas, make sure this is in your player. xo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2015
Good album. Most of the songs are good. A couple average. Maybe I'm spoiled by listening to his other album "Poet Fool or Bum" which I thought was better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2016
was not as good as they say
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2012
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2015
Great Seller! Buy with confidence!! A superb comp of obscure genius!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.