Customer Reviews


383 Reviews
5 star:
 (308)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Then Average Pop Christmas Album
Celine Dion's These Are Special Times is one of the better Christmas album out from a pop singer thanks to the choice of songs.There's traditional favorites O Holy Night,The Magic Of Christmas Day,Ave Maria and O Come All Ye Faithful.As always Celine does an excellent job on vocals and makes these worthwhile remakes.She also covers Blue Christmas,The Christmas Song and...
Published on December 4, 2001 by SARA

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Joyeux Noel...And All That
Whether you think of Celine Dion as exquisite or just excessive, you still gotta admit that there's no singer alive who's more suited to doing a Christmas album--that is, if you consider the genre in more or less pop-conventional terms. Holiday records are actually kind of problematic for most contemporary recording artists. The thing that seems to bog down so many...
Published on September 30, 2010 by Gregor von Kallahann


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Then Average Pop Christmas Album, December 4, 2001
By 
This review is from: These Are Special Times (Audio CD)
Celine Dion's These Are Special Times is one of the better Christmas album out from a pop singer thanks to the choice of songs.There's traditional favorites O Holy Night,The Magic Of Christmas Day,Ave Maria and O Come All Ye Faithful.As always Celine does an excellent job on vocals and makes these worthwhile remakes.She also covers Blue Christmas,The Christmas Song and Happy X'mas(War Is Over) and with her family singing with her Feliz Navidad and the French song Les Cloches Du Hameau.There's also new songs Another Year Has Gone By,Don't Save It All For Christmas Day,Theres Are The Special Times and the upbeat Christmas Eve.Celine also does two duets I'm your Angel with R. Kelly and The Prayer with Andrea Bocelli.For some reason theres the song Brahms Lullaby which doesn't have a Christmas theme.The best songs are O Come All Ye Faithful,Happy X'mas (War Is Over)and The Prayer Andrea and Celine's singing make this a beautiful and moving song.These Are Special Times is nothing new or different but compared to most pop Christmas albums this one is worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When I heard Celine wrote one of the songs- I had to hear it, November 7, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: These Are Special Times (Audio CD)
"Don't Save It All for Christmas Day" is truly a brilliant song.I couldn't believe Celine co-wrote this song including the music which came to her while having dinner. She called Ric Wake a producer of hers and sang the tune and first verse and chorus into his answering machine. Later he added the last verse and - voila! the song was ready the next day. Every song is a treasure. It's an all time favorite C.D. Brahm's Lullaby has Celine barely whispering throughout the song and is so sensuous and pleasing to the ear. I'm your Angel holds the record according to Billboard Magazine for the fastest rise to number 1 spot, leaping from 47 to number 1 in one week. It stayed number 1 for 8 weeks. The huge "The Prayer" is magnificent and larger than life. The list goes on and on..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas in October, Januray, June...., October 28, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: These Are Special Times (Audio CD)
I received "These Are Special Times" as a holiday gift last year, and I haven't been able to take it out of my CD changer since. I admit, upon ripping open the wrapping paper, I was a little worried that I had opened a gift for my mother, but this CD has made me a genuine Celine fan. (And thanks to Amazon.com, I have the CD collection to prove it!) Some of my favorite tracks are perfect for the whole year 'round, including "Another Year Has Gone By," which talks about love enduring and growing throughout every season, "Don't Save It All For Christmas Day," which Celine co-wrote, "The Prayer," with Andrea Bocelli, which brings tears to my eyes after only a few lines, and, of course, "I'm Your Angel," with R. Kelly, which spent six weeks at #1 on the Billboard Hot 100! My favorite track, though, "These Are The Special Times," was played at my graduation last June. Simply beautiful. Diane Warren and Celine are a match made in musical Heaven. So, even though the holidays are a good month away, get in the mood with this awesome CD! And once January rolls around, you won't be able to put it away. Hey, "don't save it all for christmas day!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Holiday CD, October 10, 2007
By 
This review is from: These Are Special Times (Audio CD)
Celine is one of the few people who can successfully pull off a holiday album. This is a wonderful album for the holiday season, and while it leans mostly towards the Christmas holiday, it also features wonderful classics like "Ave Maria" and "Brahms' Lullaby."

This is worth the buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent holiday music!, December 12, 2004
This review is from: These Are Special Times (Audio CD)
This is one of my personal favorite seasonal CD's. Celine sings these songs with her usual power and emotion, so that anyone can enjoy them. It's a beautiful collection. I find the greatest song on the album to be "Christmas Eve." The rest of it is a fine combination of classic favorites and newer ones that may become classics as well. "Feliz Navidad" is a fun and refreshing track too. Thumbs up to Celine's contribution to holiday music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a sparkling Christmas collection, September 28, 2003
This review is from: These Are Special Times (Audio CD)
From traditional songs to new, like "Don't Save it All for Christmas Day" which was co-written by Celine, this is a diverse selection of Christmas music that will appeal to those who appreciate Celine's talent and the many colorations of her agile voice.
Starting with my favorite Christmas song, "O Holy Night", which is here given a lovely rendition, my other top choices would be:
Track # 3, "Blue Christmas", with a superb jazzy interpretation, Celine using her smooth, smoky voice, and Diana Krall adding a lot with her piano magic. I would love to hear Celine record an entire album in this quiet style; though it does not have the powerful top notes many expect from her, it is the "Celine voice" I enjoy the most.
Track # 6, the "Ave Maria" by Charles Gounod (adapted from a prelude by J.S. Bach), is heavenly. Exquisitely gentle and tender, this familiar and beautiful melody is always a pleasure to listen to, and is sung in English and Latin.
# 9, "The Prayer", by Carol Bayer Sager and David Foster has meaningful and moving lyrics, and makes an ideal duet for Andrea Bocelli and Celine, and the pianissimo ending is perfection.
# 13, the John Lennon/Yoko Ono "Happy Xmas (War is Over)" is poignant and marvelous, and the final track, sung by the Dion family, is a joyous Brahms waltz, "Les Cloches du Hameau".
Though everyone will have tracks they will like more than others, the overall production and musicianship is top-notch, making this a very satisfying CD, and one I do not mind hearing any time of the year. The enclosed booklet has most of the lyrics, extensive recording info (many different arrangers and musicians are involved in this CD), the sound excellent, and total time is 68'28.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best Christmas gift, November 24, 2007
This review is from: These Are Special Times (Audio CD)
I absolutely love this new collector's edition! Every real fan would certainly want to buy a copy! The concert is simply amazing! I always wanted to have it on DVD! I also think it's a great Christmas present for everyone, not only Celine's fans! Great Christmas music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply one of her best gifts to us!, November 8, 2007
By 
Dario FALARDO "D@rito" (Brandoa, Amadora Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: These Are Special Times (Audio CD)
This is just an amazing gift an artist could give. The songs are amazing and just so greatly sung. From the powerful Oh Holly Night, to the softest Another Year Has Gone By, all the songs tell a story and magically takes to that amazing place where Xmas has always a perfect or blue felling.
Her voice is just at that perfect point, and now we get to see and listen at the same time. This network special is just one of the best, she looks amazing as always, and features 2 great artists the amazing tenor Andrea Bocelli and the actress/ entertainer/ singer-to-be Rosie O'Donnel...
Celine's flawless and it is certainly an amazing item to your music library or to your collection!!!
An edition to buy for sure!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly A Maical Christmas Album!, October 26, 2000
This review is from: These Are Special Times (Audio CD)
Christmas for along time has been my favorite time of year, and there is nothing like hearing the magical Christmas songs of the season. On this CD, Celine not only gives you those classics, but she delivers new classics with same ferocity as the old.
The album begins with the beautiful traditional classic 'O Holy Night' which in my opinion is one of the hardest songs to sing 'cause I've done it and it ain't the easiest thing to sing! She executes it with such power and grace that anything that I've heard pales in comparison. The only version of worthisness is Mariah Carey's on her 1994 opus, 'Merry Christmas.' Pure vocal beauty and gift. Not only is her voice exceptionaly strong, back that up with a full choir and you've got something special. This song alone is worth purchasing this album!
'Don't Save It All For Christmas Day' Celine in fact wrote part of this song, one of the vary few that she's ever helped co-write on. Here she displays the fine vocal control she has over every word, every note. A POPPY Christmas song, but what can you expect, she is a POP singer.
'Blue Christimas' A great rendintion of this bluesy Christmas tune. Her voice suits the style of this piece perfectly. The viloins work well with this piece, another great song.
Bryan Adams wrote No.4 on this CD, 'Another Year Has Gone By', which is instantly recognizable as comming from his pen. Subtle and compasionate, it shines.
A new tune writtin' for this album, well maybe not this album, but a new tune nevertheless. 'The Magic Of Christmas Day (God Bless Us Everyone)' has the holiday feel through-out. Tubular bells at the beinning open this song, triangles and angel choirs fill the rest of it with Celine's voice filling in the spaces that need it. The Magic is in the package of this song. Classic.
'Ave Maria' I could use one word to describe this song. Gorgeous. I have never heard it done like this. Another extremly hard song to sing, the voice has to be in top shape to pull it off. And she pulls this off effortlessly, as she does with everything else. Schubert would be proud, I'm sure. She does justice to this gorgeous classic.
'Adeste Fideles (O Come All Ye Faithful)' Another great version of a Christmas classic.
I'm not going to talk about every song on this album, there are 16 in total so it would take forever, but the songs I have mentioned above are reason enough to buy this wonderful Christmas album. Five out Five
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for "O' Holy Night' alone, October 29, 2007
This review is from: These Are Special Times (Audio CD)
I am simply in awe of her talent. Her voice is ridiculously perfect and this album is stunning. Her version of O' Holy Night gets me speechless every time I hear it. I get literal chills. Its the best version I have ever heard. BTW, Josh Grobin arranged his version almost identically, but even his doesn't come close to her's. Ave Maria is quite beautiful as well. I even love her version of Blue Christmas. It is a MUST for poeple who love Christmas music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

These Are Special Times
These Are Special Times by Celine Dion (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.