Customer Reviews


212 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


194 of 215 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starts Right Off With The Smoking Gun
Ventura and Russell hit the ground running on the very first page with a copy of a document that proves a coverup from the very beginning.

Kennedy was assassinated on Friday, Oswald killed that Sunday. Robert Kennedy, Attorney General of the United States, did not show up for work Monday morning, his brother having just been murdered. In his absence, the acting...
Published 11 months ago by Alan R. Waterman

versus
81 of 96 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost Great, but then He Fumbled
They Killed Our President by former governor Jesse Ventura has a very direct approach to covering the assassination of President Kennedy. Mr. Ventura sets forth the fact or facts he wishes to prove and then directs the reader to online sources to expand the proof. This approach saves the reader from traversing oceans of explanations on trivia and focus the attention on...
Published 10 months ago by Alan Dale Daniel


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

194 of 215 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starts Right Off With The Smoking Gun, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: They Killed Our President: 63 Reasons to Believe There Was a Conspiracy to As (Hardcover)
Ventura and Russell hit the ground running on the very first page with a copy of a document that proves a coverup from the very beginning.

Kennedy was assassinated on Friday, Oswald killed that Sunday. Robert Kennedy, Attorney General of the United States, did not show up for work Monday morning, his brother having just been murdered. In his absence, the acting Attorney General, Nick Katzenbach, sent a memo to Lyndon Johnson's aide Bill Moyers detailing what had to immediately be done about the president's murder: cover it all up:

"The public must be satisfied that Oswald was the assassin,that he did not have confederates who are still at large; and that the evidence was such that he would have been convicted at trial."

The memo includes suggestions for getting the FBI to muddy the water, and for setting up a special hand-picked commission in order to circumvent an attempt by congress to get at the truth.

Katzenbach's memo flies in the face of every basic rule of law enforcement, which is to search out, scour, and examine every possible suspect and investigate every motive following a murder. Katzenbach's first priority was clearly to prevent the case from being investigated at all.

From these first two pages, Ventura and Russell hammer home 62 more proofs that the conventional story regarding Kennedy's murder is a bald and blatant fraud. If you have friends who scoff at the idea of a conspiracy to assassinate JFK, give them this book. It will change their minds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Conspiracy Continues Alive and Well, October 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Kudos to Jesse and team for compiling 50 years of information into a clarifying and orderly examination of the conspiracy that resulted in the assassination of JFK.

The assassination has always held great interest for me. I was raised in Dallas. The fatal day of the president's visit three of my high school buddies and I left high school to see the president. We decided to go to Love Field to see his arrival rather than go to the parade downtown. The president passed within 15 feet of where I was standing along the fence separating the exit ramp of the plane from the parking lot where he and Jackie boarded the limo.

Early on the morning of November 24 a school mate and I drove out to Mount Vernon 100 miles east of Dallas to "get the hell out of dodge" and visit my grandfather, Warren Penn Castle, Sr., who had retired a couple of months earlier as an assistant district attorney working for Dallas DA Henry Wade. We arrived a few minutes after Jack Ruby shot Oswald on national television. My grandfather was on the phone with his former colleagues at the DA's office and the Dallas Police Department in a more agitated and emotional state than I had ever witnessed. Long story short, his conclusion was several weeks later and until he died was that something was terribly and totally wrong. He knew Jack Ruby and of his mob connections. My grandfather's conclusion until the time he passed away was that maybe someday the truth about what happened would come out.

New Orleans District Attorney Jim Garrison did a better job than anyone of exposing the plot. The government conspiracy machine did all they could to discredit his efforts. It's is amazing to me that he was not assassinated like so many others. Garrison died of cancer in 1992.

The government conspiracy machine is still alive and well, new players in the same old game. War makes big money. The United States has been at war with somebody somewhere since the end of WW2 and there is still no end in sight. Jesse's book is a cogent examination of what can happen. History continues to repeat itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 96 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost Great, but then He Fumbled, October 9, 2013
By 
Alan Dale Daniel (Carson City, Nevada, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
They Killed Our President by former governor Jesse Ventura has a very direct approach to covering the assassination of President Kennedy. Mr. Ventura sets forth the fact or facts he wishes to prove and then directs the reader to online sources to expand the proof. This approach saves the reader from traversing oceans of explanations on trivia and focus the attention on facts rather than speculation; however, that only lasts through the first two sections of the book. The last section is almost total speculation and should have been left out. His conclusions are mostly political diatribe and have nothing to do with history or the Kennedy assassination. Too bad, because up to that point the book was very good.

I have read numerous books on the Kennedy assassination, and most of them are junk. Posner and Bugliosi's books are terrible. Posner attempts to look into the mind of Oswald and speculates endlessly while Bugliosi simply argues off a few favorable facts rather than present facts in an objective fashion. One of the best books to read, outside of this one, is Impossible, The Case Against Lee Harvey Oswald by Barry Krusch Impossible: The Case Against Lee Harvey Oswald (Volume One). His three volume work extensively examines how the evidence was gathered and the problems with the evidence presented - and forgotten - by the Warren Commission. Mr. Krusch destroys the Warren Commission's report as few others have. However, his work is somewhat unfocused. Here is where Mr. Ventura's work excels, it is VERY focused.

I have always had a number of problems with the Warren Commission's report. I have read the summary, but not the 96 (?) volumes of the actual report. What is clear to anyone going over the evidence is that the evidence has been subject to tampering. The discovery that the brain matter retained was not President Kennedy's is enough to put anyone on notice that the evidence isn't to be trusted. Any trial attorney, and I was one, will tell you that if any evidence is tainted in a case ALL the evidence becomes doubly questionable. Because we know evidence was stolen and replaced by false evidence we must be more diligent about what is accepted as proof in the case. And there are other problems with the investigation that are basic. The washing out of the car shortly after the attack, and the rebuilding of the vehicle a few days later, is astounding. That is destruction of evidence. Because of this one act, which is undeniable, other acts must be more closely questioned. There is little doubt the photos of Kennedy in the hospital which were released to the public are not correct, and the entry wound in the back information was also incorrect or altered. Mr. Ventuara's book proves those points, and many more, beyond any doubt.

The key factor in the Kennedy assassination, in my mind, was the type of bullet that hit Kennedy. They Killed Our President is the only book that has looked into this matter with any kind of thoroughness. There is no doubt, and I mean none, that Kennedy was hit by a hollow point or soft nosed bullet that expanded violently on impact. Full metal jacketed bullets do not do this. I have personally tested, as a reloader, these kinds of bullets and a full metal jacketed bullet does not explode on impact (our military 223s keyhole on impact which is a different phenomenon) as the bullet that hit Kennedy clearly did. The so called expert testimony in the Warren Commission Report on this matter is an outright lie. The Z-film leaves no doubt Kennedy was pushed backward by the bullet strike. If the vehicle acceleration pushed him backward why isn't anyone else in the car being pushed in the same manner? Kennedy's head jerks backward violently. This was a bullet strike and not vehicle acceleration. This is why the missing brain is so important. IF that brain was authentic it could be tested for the microscopic matter that results from a hollow point or soft point bullet strike. That would prove the bullet that hit Kennedy was not a full metal jacket bullet. But, the brain matter is gone. It was critical evidence. Mr. Ventura could have taken an extra step to prove this. By simply setting up a few watermelons and shooting them with full metal jacketed bullets and hollow point bullets he could have shown the difference. The difference is striking. A 243 would be a good substitute for the 6.5 if one was not available.

It is clear the car was washed out immediately after its arrival at Parkland, and then rebuilt three days later, and that Kennedy's brain matter was switched in the archives. It is also clear that the Z-film's release was fought by the Federal Government. It took a ruling by the US Supreme Court to get it released. It is also clear that clips from the film were reversed in the Warren Commission Report making it appear that Kennedy's head went forward after the bullet strike. There are a lot of other undeniable problems with the evidence in the Kennedy assassination which call the Warren Commission Report into question. Incompetent is the best one could say about the report. But, as Mr. Ventura points out, what they left out is just as critical as what they put in. What is not said is often much more important than what is said. Choosing to leave out critical information, such as Oswald having a Coke in his hand, is telling in many ways. Mr. Ventura does a good job of pointing out the most obvious omissions.

So I like the method of writing the book and its sharp focus in the first sections. I do not like the speculation in the last sections or speculation on who killed Kennedy. If one sticks to the fact that the Warren Commission Report was a lie we can stop. By going too far afield he damages the credibility of the solid work he has done. We also do not need to get political. Stick with the clearly provable facts and he has a winner. He didn't, and that harms his work. Because he fumbled the ball short of the end zone I give the book 3 stars, but he was close. So very close.

AD2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding summary of suppressed information, October 5, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: They Killed Our President: 63 Reasons to Believe There Was a Conspiracy to As (Hardcover)
Jesse really summarizes all the information that has been suppressed until recently. The alteration of the autopsy results and the body itself, and the alteration of the Zapruder film are finally being revealed to the public. I see much similarity with the way Oswald was identified with no real evidence for JFK's murder with the way L Paul Bremer went on morning TV so coincidentally the morning of 9/11 to say that "Osama bin Laden" was the guy behind it. NO evidence whatsoever. The public just takes it all in, no questioning. 9/11 was another intelligence operation, just like JFK being taken out. Thanks Jesse for a fantastic book, a great response to the drivel of O'Reilly, Posner, and Bugliosi.
I was so terribly disappointed with Vince Bugliosi not reporting the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Best as a Digest, October 20, 2013
By 
Douglas Doepke (Claremont CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: They Killed Our President: 63 Reasons to Believe There Was a Conspiracy to As (Hardcover)
Ventura's prose is as straightforward as a truck driver's. That's not a slam, rather I would guess he's wanting to reach an audience that gets impatient with a thousand pages of scholarly discussion over even a subject as important as this one. What he's done, instead is compile the essentials of a conspiracy in highly readable form. This might shortchange readers if his points were not heavily footnoted. But don't expect a scholarly or critical discussion of the essential points. What he's also done that's new is make use of digital age URL's where pertinent information can be shared.

As someone who lived through the period, the turnaround in public opinion over the years is a tribute to researchers and popularizers alike. The crime and what it reveals continue to eat away at the nation's vitals like a slow-motion cancer. All in all, the author presents an impressive case that should help pry loose the secret vaults of our intelligence agencies. The book really works best as a digest of that ongoing conspiracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, October 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Much of the well known evidence plus some obscure but powerful facts - this a great and powerful recap. Highly recommended especially for the as yet unconvinced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, summarizes the facts quite well., October 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: They Killed Our President: 63 Reasons to Believe There Was a Conspiracy to As (Hardcover)
I admit it. I'm one of those JFK conspiracy nuts. But, I have read every book available about the subject, even the obscure ones, and believe I can speak intelligently about this. Career wise, I am a Neurologist. I became fascinated with the medical aspects of the book TRAUMA ROOM ONE, the falsified autopsy reports, and the simple fact that the Zapruder film shows JFK shot from the front.

This book is a great summary, it boils it down, to the bare bones, the reasons that Oswald is not the lone nut killer, and it does so with clarity and intelligence.

Thumbs Up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read even if a bit repetitive near the end, October 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Like him or hate him, Jesse has facts and sources for all of his claims in this book and it makes a FANTASTIC case for the conspiracy to kill President Kennedy. The Warren Commission's story is suspicious at first glance and laughable after reading this book.

Jesse starts with the smoking gun and just keeps slamming you with brow-raising facts, left and right. The guy puts a beating on the official line so hard that I don't think our government can believably cling to it any longer. The punches, however, are pulled a bit towards the end (chapters ~45-60) and the book begins to repeat itself at such a rate that I actually skipped a few pages (something I NEVER do). This seems entirely unnecessary given the quality and quantity of information in the previous chapters. Ventura could have easily condensed this book down to 50 facts that prove a conspiracy to kill JFK. It would have been a cleaner title and it would have avoided the repetition. I suppose he wanted to include everything possible and I commend that to a degree but be sure you have some patience in the final act of the book.

I find Jesse's concluding chapter to be the best part of the book and it is the main reason why I gave this book 5 stars. Read this book and buy it for a friend, if for no other reason than to stir up some great conversation and debate- but I have hope that this book might change a lot of minds out there.

In conclusion, yes, I recommend this book. It is a quick, thrilling, fact-filled, trial that shines light on one of America's greatest tragedies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, highly recommended!, October 3, 2013
By 
Diane Steele (FARMINGTON, MN, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well written, thoroughly researched. I really like that the author has included active links to all of his sources. A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Elite Limosine Liberals & Kneejerk Conservatives, October 22, 2013
This review is from: They Killed Our President: 63 Reasons to Believe There Was a Conspiracy to As (Hardcover)
As Vince Palamara said" this book hits you right between the eyes". Much like Oliver Stone's JFK this is not a dry dull ivory tower polemic, rather a gut level honest book that shows precisely how ridiculous the official narrative is. from every major angle Just the first 50-60 pages and no way can you ever accept Oswald acted alone..After fnishing it, one could throw out 90% and still have enough left over to show conspiracy.The lone nutters and debunkers have really done a number on academics and media types in somehow convincing them to believe lawyers, and themselves over witnesses who were there. If that isn't the definition of pathetic I don't know what is. The problem is one doesn't have to believe per se because in many instances there's no way to know for sure,but when in doubt who are you going to believe the Mortician or an armchair know it all? The X-Ray Tech or a debunker?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

They Killed Our President: 63 Reasons to Believe There Was a Conspiracy to As
$24.95 $19.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.