Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally another Thief Game
I used to play the first 3 thief game for the pc all the time when I was younger. they were always my favorite games. so I am alittle biased when I say that this new Thief game is simply amazing. its so much fun and is one of those games that after you beat it you play it over and over again for fun. whats nice about this game is that its not a murder simulator like most...
Published 9 months ago by Lu Zhishen

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game mechanics, but too many game flaws
This is a descent game. I got 3 days of play value out of it. The stealth missions are good puzzles, however the game often gets away from being about being a thief. One of the levels is almost entirely about being a paranormal investigator. This makes a good rental or low price buy.

Pros:
1. Good graphics.
2. Good game mechanics.
3. Lots of ways...
Published 9 months ago by Frank M. Darden Jr.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally another Thief Game, March 1, 2014
This review is from: Thief - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I used to play the first 3 thief game for the pc all the time when I was younger. they were always my favorite games. so I am alittle biased when I say that this new Thief game is simply amazing. its so much fun and is one of those games that after you beat it you play it over and over again for fun. whats nice about this game is that its not a murder simulator like most games are now adays. its more like a stealing/thief simulator which I think is the only one of that genre. you can kill people if you want but its not bloody and gory, which is nice. Its one of those games I can play around my 4 year old son and not have to worry to much about mature content, compared to games like dead island and call of duty series. I am very happy they made this game and hope they make a sequel. I have no complaints about this game whatsoever. its stays true to the thief series in nearly every way. I highly recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A horrible... but great Game, March 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I posted the same review for PS3/4, while the PS4 graphics are much better, the PS3 version is a great game.

I have never played the other Thief games, but I can completely understand the anger of fans having their favorite characters dragged through the mud. That being said, this game has amazing gameplay. So without further ado, here is my breakdown review of the game.

Let us start out with the horrible:

Cinematics:
- The graphics in the game are amazing, but the cinematics and voice acting leave much to be desired. The lips move when they are not supposed to, and the voice inflection is like watching a REALLY bad anime dub. Characters talk, while other characters lips are moving and it can make the game very confusing at parts. Square needed more time on this project. This is one of the main flaws that I have with this game.

Characters: (I will try this without spoilers)
- The female lead in this story is a whiny brat. She is a know-it-all and when the experienced thief (Garrett) offers her advice, she shoves it down his throat. She wears pitch black eye liner with black lipstick... She is an emo brat wrapped in teenage angst. With the bad dubbing and bad attitude, it is hard for me to feel sorry when anything bad happens to her. I really desired a deep meaningful relationship between this character and a speeding bus. But, I digress... Garrett (the main character) is likable from the start, and while the voice acting is lacking, you can really sympathize/empathize with him.

Plot:
- I can't go into much here without spoilers, but the plot is not loathsome. But I would also say that the plot doesn't touch the plots of Dishonored or Deus Ex. So, if you came for a deep plot, you might have to look elsewhere.

Graphics:
- This is where the game truly shines. There are amazing lighting and shadow effects. The graphics make this game very enjoyable. While the game takes place in a victorian London steampunk-like era, the visuals really bring it to life. I found very few graphical glitches or bugs on my play through, and the scenery is vivid and alive.

Gameplay:
- And now the bread and butter. This game has amazing gameplay. It handles much like a first person stealth game would. You stealth through entire areas and the fun comes in solving the guard pattern. If you think about it, this is much like play Deus Ex or Dishonored in ghost modes. You will fail in some missions (if you are discovered) and in others detection is similar to Assassin's Creed (run and find a hiding place). The itemization, skills, etc are deep and engaging. I love shooting a water arrow at a torch sconce only just to run up behind a nearby guard and knock him out.

Sounds:
- The game has great sound track, but the conversations between guards can get a little repetitive. You need to approach this topic with an open mind. Some games (like say Skyrim) have over 60,000 lines of audio dialogue. Thief, is NOT one of those games. If this sort of thing is a deal breaker, then you will have a hard time playing this game. Also, the voice acting is ATROCIOUS...

Summary:
In summation, this game's story and characters are a thinly veiled teenagers wet dream wrapped in angst and immaturity. A good example of this is that sometimes there are swear words in the game (the first time I heard the F*** word in the game, I almost laughed at how forced it was.) Swearing needs to fit the scene. You don't just through out an F-bomb because it's "cool". The characters (with the exception of Garrett) are annoying. The gameplay is simply amazing (if you play like a thief). All of the gameplay mechanics handle very well... from pickpocketing, picking locks, grabbing treasure, sneaking past birds and sentries, or even just the stealth aspect of it are amazing. The game's visuals are vibrant and engaging. If you can get past the horrible dialogue, voice acting, and annoying aforementioned characters, this game is actually quite engaging. 4/5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game mechanics, but too many game flaws, March 20, 2014
This review is from: Thief - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This is a descent game. I got 3 days of play value out of it. The stealth missions are good puzzles, however the game often gets away from being about being a thief. One of the levels is almost entirely about being a paranormal investigator. This makes a good rental or low price buy.

Pros:
1. Good graphics.
2. Good game mechanics.
3. Lots of ways to beat the scenarios, providing players with good replay value and style playing options.

Cons:
1. The city is divided into sections and the windows and gates that lead from section to section are not annotated on the map. This makes getting around the city very tedious and time consuming. This is truly the worst part of the game. Sometimes getting to the next street over is a major accomplishment.
2. The game only has 6 serious side missions.
3. Objectives achieved during easy level are carried over to Master level.
4. On Master level the arrows are so expensive that buying a rope arrow to complete a Basso side job results in a net loss.
5. The sound effects and background noise often disappear, taking away from the ambience and addible information.
6. The voice acting is bland and boring.
7. The characters are uninteresting and often unlikeable. This includes the lead character and his love/daughter/friend interest.
8. The plot is too much like other games. The good rebel you're helping turns out to be the bad guy and the guy you thought was the bad guy ends up not being so bad. Plus there's old men playing with summoning supernatural forces which leads to the hero gaming supernatural abilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST SOLO STEALH GAME EVER!, September 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This was an AMAZING game! Fell in love with it! If you love solo stealth skill games you will love this. Amazing theme and graphics. Thought they should have included a much larger vocabulary with the characters but it was more than enough and I'm not complaining. Thought his female character partner was really weird and psycho OCD. I don't understand why they would paint her like that in the game. But all in all an amazing play. I really, really wish they would work on a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth playing, but don't expect much, April 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This game is definitely worth playing, if you have the free time. Only don't expect a stellar game. Overall, the game is fun to play. The developers obviously put a lot of thought into giving you the experience of being a thief. However, some aspects of the game are clunky when playing, the story-line seems cheap and thin somehow, and the non-player characters say the same things very loudly over and over again.

In general, this game is very similar to Dishonored, except that Dishonored has very smooth mechanics and more enthralling story-line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I'm less than impressed. The old PC version of Thief is much better, if that says anything. The graphics are good (not great), but the main problem here is a lack of depth. You get to prowl around a city breaking into houses, but the neighborhoods are a bit like mazes, with too many places you can't get too, too many inoperative doors, windows, etc. It lacks realism. The NPC characters are boring, with repetitive speech patterns. The items you can still seem to mostly consist of hand mirrors, pens, etc. The combat system is pretty pointless, because if you're using it, you've stopped being a thief, and the missions then just become pretty standard fare; attacking enemies, moving to the next area, attacking more enemies, etc. The only real entertainment here is trying to remain undetected, but there aren't enough ways to do that. You can sneak, manipulate the environment in pretty predictable ways, or incapacitate people. Sometimes there are alternative paths, but these seem too artificial, like you're being led there, like a rope is tied around you and you're just being pulled from place to place.

The story didn't interest me much, especially as it involves you becoming superhuman in a way -- you're no longer just an incredibly talented cat burglar; in this version, you have super powers. I, for one, didn't want that. Part of the charm of the old game was outwitting people, which is not as fun if you've got such a big leg up. I found myself just playing through the missions to get to the end, and yawning through the cut scenes. A better idea would have made you the female thief, I think. When she was still human.

Money is a big problem here. You steal mostly trifles, the proceeds of which must then be spent pretty much immediately on arrows or upgrades. A better idea would have been a barter system, haggling over the price of your goods, and a vast array of things for you to buy: better gloves, boots, masks, jewelry, etc.

In the end, I played this game for about two weeks before finishing it, setting it aside, and thinking of it little since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, September 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Probobaly one of my favorite games of all times. this game involves stealth over murder. so if you want a shoot them up game look elsewhere. If you loved all the PC versions of this game this one is a must have. Garrett is back in true stride. And this game as all the other Thief games has great relayability
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Play Thief 1, Thief 2, or Dishonored instead, November 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
The game is a bit buggy and doesn't have the same style as the others. While there are some cool features, it feels like a cheap knockoff of Dishonored more than anything else. It's a shame, because I loved Thief 1 and Thief 2, and even appreciated some of Thief 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This game is FUN! If you enjoyed dishonored for the stealth you ..., September 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This game is FUN! If you enjoyed dishonored for the stealth you will enjoy this game.

Classic Thief players however may disagree. although the game is full of loot and interesting locations in quite a large open world the Character of Garrett is different and you don't feel the "NEED" to steal. you just do it because you can. you can fly through the game without touching much more than the core elements and don't need the cash if your willing to be a brute. Stealth is rewarded but being seen isn't punished. such a shame.

HOWEVER, there is a customization setting that allows you to change some settings such that you will automatically fail the game if your spotted etc. so don't feel TOO deterred. if your still nervous try renting it, but it really is worth playing as a stealth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste our time., March 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This was a disappointment. The plot is flat and uninteresting. The art is garbage. Getting around is a nightmare, navigation and controls are absolutely not intuitive. I was a huge fan of every previous Thief game. This one is just not worth the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Thief - Playstation 3
Thief - Playstation 3 by Square Enix (PlayStation 3)
$29.99 $29.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.