Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 9 out of 10 hearts
Thin Ice by Liana Laverentz
Release Date: April 5th, 2007
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press
Page Count: 373
Source: Directly from author for review

The last thing ER doctor Emily Jordan needs in her life is another man to let her down, and certainly not one who uses his fists in his work. She's seen enough of the results of violence in the...
Published on August 3, 2011 by Karielle @ Books à la Mode

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars He's obsessed with her to the point of weirdness
I just don't get it. Here's a woman who wants ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do with this guy, and he determinedly pursues her as if he's obsessed. Why? There is no logical sense and the author doesn't do a good job of making the scenario seem real. He's that lonely? He wants a wife and kids? The captain of a professional hockey team, who has a grueling schedule and is physically...
Published on February 22, 2012 by Marie Hospoda


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 9 out of 10 hearts, August 3, 2011
This review is from: Thin Ice (Paperback)
Thin Ice by Liana Laverentz
Release Date: April 5th, 2007
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press
Page Count: 373
Source: Directly from author for review

The last thing ER doctor Emily Jordan needs in her life is another man to let her down, and certainly not one who uses his fists in his work. She's seen enough of the results of violence in the world, and has no use for anyone who contributes to it.

Professional hockey player Eric Cameron has never met a woman who intrigued him so much. Emily Jordan has it all, brains and beauty, a home of her own, a career she excels at, a son who adores her, and loving friends and family to help her bring it all together in way Eric has longed to be a part of his entire life. The problem is this feisty, independent woman wants nothing to do with him and has no problem letting him know it.

The memory of Emily's healing hands despite her clear-cut opinion of him when she treats him after a post-game barroom brawl drives Eric to find the key to her wounded heart, but success would mean that Emily would have to give up all that she has and depend on a man who's life is anything but settled. Will Eric be able to win her heart despite her opposition to the only life he's ever known? Or when the season ends will he move on again -- alone?

What Stephanie Thinks: This book is just fabulous -- it portrays contemporary romance at its finest! Emily's dark past and her struggle to see through to Eric's affections are emotional in both a joyful and saddening way. Her journey of love and discovery both wrenches at my heart and lifts it up at the same time.

The hero and heroine are so realistic and more importantly, so lovable. Even with their individual flaws -- Emily's, being paranoia, and Eric's, being desperation -- I can't help but adore them. Not to mention Eric is an amazing alpha male. I swooned and fantasized and pretty much fell in love with him! The secondary characters, such as Emily's ex-husband and son, are incredibly fleshed out as well. As much as I love Robbie (son), I despise Ryan (ex), which says a lot because I want to pluck Robbie out of the book and adopt him. This just strengthens Laverentz's complete and well-developed characters -- personalities she creates that I am able to both love and hate. After all, characterization is key in fiction.

And the chemistry. Hoo boy! Maybe it's just me sweating bullets here, but it's hot hot hot! There's so much tension between them, both physically and emotionally, that it is often frustrating at times, but it all plays out A-okay in the end. Might I mention the sex is superhot too? I love how intimately sex is portrayed, but without getting too nitty-gritty (read: pornographic), which is ultimately the factor that separates romance from erotica. Somehow, less explicit love scenes make them hotter, and Thin Ice is proof of that.

Laverentz has a skilled voice that I'm now keen on getting to know better. Her dialogue is witty and entertaining, and it includes cunning twists and shocking revelations in a contemporary setting. Familial misunderstandings and secrets impede the delusion of the "perfect" life, in a way we all will be able to relate to and take home and to heart, as well. Overall, Thin Ice is a story about the power of love and family, and the best part, is that the characters come to life.

Stephanie Loves: "He didn't answer me then because he was afraid it was the wine talking, not my heart, and that I didn't know what I was saying or that I'd regret saying it in the morning.
The only thing I regret is being blind for so long."

Radical Rating: 9 hearts- One of my all-time favorites!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet hero with a bit of sour, December 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thin Ice (Paperback)
Thin Ice was a realistic touching story of Emily who is a single mom with a violent past and Eric Cameron, a pro hockey star who is brought in to the ER after a bar brawl where she is a doctor. I really enjoyed this story about Emily's struggles with her love for Eric and his love for the violent sport of hockey. Emily is a strong heroine who knows what she wants but because of her abusive ex-husband she has trouble accepting her feelings for a (gorgeous) brute like Eric. Eric, I can't say enough about his character. He was tough, yet oh so sweet. He absolutely melted my heart with how much he loved Emily.

I thoroughly enjoyed Thin Ice. The story was great, the characters real. Though I have been very fortunate in my life to not have had the horrific experiences that Emily did, the author painted her in a light where I could feel for her and admire her strengths without feeling pity for her. And Robbie her son was so adorable!

Where I had a (small) problem was about 2/3 into the book I felt it dragged a bit and I found myself skimming a little. I think the author may have went into a bit too much when Emily went home to visit her family. I felt I was reading about characters that didn't add much to the story and took away from those I wanted to know more about (Ryan's parents and maybe more of Emily and Eric together).

Overall I would recommend Thin Ice to anyone who wants an alpha yet sweet hero who sweeps the wounded yet strong heroine off her feet in a manner that would make any woman swoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Page Turner, August 26, 2010
This review is from: Thin Ice (Paperback)
I don't usually read romance novels, but I really enjoyed this book. As a hockey fan, I liked the character of professional hockey player Eric Cameron. He meets his complete opposite, Dr. Emily Jordan, a physician with a troubled past. The characters felt real to me, and at times I wanted Emily to stop worrying so much and just let Eric into her life, but if the author had made it easy, then it wouldn't have been such a suspenseful read. I read the book in two days and was disappointed whenever I had to put it down. It leads to a satisfying conclusion. I'll be looking for more books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books ever., January 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thin Ice (Kindle Edition)
This book was like "Taking Shots" by Toni Aleo, another book I loved.

Basically, Eric, a famous NHL hockey player meets Emily, an ER doctor under rough circumstances. At first, Emily rejected Eric, but as time passed, the chemistry between the two of them blossomed. Despite the things that come up which separate the two of them, their love for each other will be able to surpass any obstacle.

The descriptions allowed you to feel as if you were there, watching the entire story unfold, and the author has a great job setting the scene.

Overall, I loved this book, and I definitely recommend it to those who are looking for a really good romance novel. I read this book in one day, and I couldn't put it down at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars He's obsessed with her to the point of weirdness, February 22, 2012
By 
Marie Hospoda (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thin Ice (Kindle Edition)
I just don't get it. Here's a woman who wants ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do with this guy, and he determinedly pursues her as if he's obsessed. Why? There is no logical sense and the author doesn't do a good job of making the scenario seem real. He's that lonely? He wants a wife and kids? The captain of a professional hockey team, who has a grueling schedule and is physically wiped out all the time, not to mention lives a playboy lifestyle, has the time and inclination to pursue a woman who gives him the cold shoulder, tells him "no" implicitly, and who doesn't want him around her kid? If he was a normal man he would have moved on to going after someone else, immediately.

Since the author didn't convince me, the whole story never came together for me. And that's a shame because the plot is a good one and would have worked otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not your light-hearted romance read!, February 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thin Ice (Kindle Edition)
What An Emotional Roller-coaster!

This book got my attention because it is a sports romance- Hockey Romance- which is my new favorite. I don't know what it about those hockey players that do it for me! Anyhoo I digress.. back to the book.. What I thought was going to be a light hearted romance read turned out to be romance with too much angst. The blurb does not even hint about the emotional tug of war that goes on in the book.

Well I totally loved the hero Eric Cameron. The author made him very likable. He knew right off that he wanted the heroine Emily Jordan from the very moment he felt her touch on his body as the treating ER doctor. He and Doctor Emily's son made a fast connection. I made more of a connection with Eric and Emily's son than with Emily and Eric.
I did not like Emily Jordan from page one! I thought she was a little too self righteous for my liking. There were times that I understood why she behaved the way she did but when one incident turned into too many... well... it just became annoying. I felt she jumped to conclusions about Eric too quickly even when, in my opinion, he clearly demonstrated his character to her. She trusted him enough to be around her son but she didn't trust him to be the man she needed in her life. Emily had a couple of bad relationships in the past that impacts the way she interacts with Eric. I totally got that. I just felt like the author labored too long with it.

Midway through the book the author spent a lot of time on Eric and Emily--separately. I kept waiting for when the story would once again turn towards Eric and Emily--together. Well before that happen you went through a number of misunderstandings and mishaps that kept them apart. I just kept thinking: "For the love of god if one more thing happens I am going to throw this book across the room"... Metaphorically speaking of course-this was a Kindle version so you know that wasn't going to happen! I like a little angst in a story but there was way too much for me in this one.

As stated earlier, this is not a light-hearted romance. There are some serious emotional turmoil going on with well hidden secrets on both Eric and Emily's side. The author does a great job of delivering that side of the story. She also wrote Emily's character in such a way that it caused me to have a serious reaction to her even if it was annoyance, empathy, and anger all rolled up together. I liked the author's voice and her ability to draw out an emotional reaction from her readers. This a good read if you like angst, secrets, and romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My idea of a good romance, August 19, 2011
This review is from: Thin Ice (Paperback)
This book is my idea of a good romance. The hero is loveable and sweet without being a namby pamby pushover, and the heroine gave him a run for his money for good, legitimate reasons (not contrived to keep the story going. Liana Laverentz has a Susan Elizabeth Phillips thing going on -- and I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Emotional romance with a sexy hockey hero, June 25, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thin Ice (Kindle Edition)
What a good book! I had never read this author before and was hooked right from the beginning. The only thing that stopped me from giving it 5 stars was some of it dragged and some parts could have been left out altogether and not have affected the story at all.
Worth the bargain price tag, give this book a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Read, June 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thin Ice (Kindle Edition)
Very good read. I found myself at times, very sympathetic to Emily and at times, I shook my head in disbelief at her choices. Guess that in itself shows that the book really sucked me in. I feel this book in length, storyline and closure was definitely worth the buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Fast Read, March 26, 2008
By 
Maggie "Maggie" (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thin Ice (Paperback)
Thin Ice has everything a reader expects from a romance novel. It's main characters, Emily and Eric, are genuine and engaging. The reader dives right into their story and cares about them. Their conflict is legitimate. The book is a page turning, enjoyable fast read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Thin Ice
Thin Ice by Liana Laverentz
$4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.