Wild Things: A Chicagolands Vampire Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $15.00
  • Save: $2.78 (19%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 9 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Wild Things (Chicagoland ... has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by iOverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Never used. Some shelf wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Wild Things (Chicagoland Vampires) Paperback – February 4, 2014


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$12.22
$4.95 $4.82



Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for the Chicagoland Vampire novels:

“If you are looking for a vampiric role model, you couldn’t do any better than Merit....Chicago is lucky to have her.”—#1 New York Times Bestselling Author Charlaine Harris

"A wonderfully compelling vampire heroine." —USA Today bestselling author Julie Kenner

"[A] strong-minded, sharp-witted heroine who will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse and Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake." —Library Journal

“Delivers enough action, plot twists, and fights to satisfy the most jaded urban fantasy reader.”—Monsters and Critics

“If you loved Nancy Drew but always wished she was an undead sword-wielding badass, Merit is your kind of girl.” –Geek Monthly

About the Author

Chloe Neill was born and raised in the South, but now makes her home in the Midwest. She is the author of the Chicagoland Vampire series, including Biting Bad, House Rules, and Biting Cold. When not transcribing Merit's adventures, she bakes, works, and scours the Internet for good recipes and great graphic design. Chloe also maintains her sanity by spending time with her boys—her photographer husband and their dogs, Baxter and Scout.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: Chicagoland Vampires (Book 9)
  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: New American Library (February 4, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0451415191
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451415196
  • Product Dimensions: 5.4 x 0.9 x 8.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 6.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (197 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #89,568 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Chloe Neill was born and raised in the South, but now makes her home in the Midwest. When she's not writing, she bakes, works, and scours the Internet for good recipes and great graphic design. Chloe also maintains her sanity by spending time with her boys--her favorite landscape photographer husband and their dogs, Baxter and Scout.

She is the New York Times bestselling author of The Chicagoland Vampires Novels, The Devil's Isle Novels, and a YA series, the Dark Elite. Connect with her at www.chloeneill.com.

Customer Reviews

Loved the relationship between Merit and Ethan...finally!
Amazon Customer
The ending of this book left me excited for the next, good things are coming.
Stephanie Fay
I loved how the characters have grown and are still growing.
Sonia Ruelas

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful By A Book Obsession.. on February 4, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
I adore Merit and Ethan together, and in WILD THINGS they were stronger than ever. I love how they are finding their way with one another and able to talk things through and come out stronger. Poor Merit carried a pretty heavy burden for a lot of this book, and when she finally got the courage to reveal things to Ethan, my heart about melted at his response. It's pretty obvious how dedicated he is, and considering the very rocky start the two had, I'm so happy to see that change. That being said, I have to admit that I just don't get Merit panicking whenever she thinks Ethan is about to propose. It's happened a couple of times now, and each time she freaks out and thinks it's too soon, we hardly know each other, etc etc. Which quite frankly baffles me to no end. I mean the woman knows that Ethan is it for her. She's even gone through the pain of losing him when he was dead for a time. So why in the world does the idea of marriage frighten her? I'll just have to chalk that one up to something I'll never understand.

It was really great to spend so much time with the shifters in WILD THINGS. I love Jeff and Gabriel. Of course things don't exactly go smoothly with their time with the shifters, but that's par for course with Chicagoland and makes things all the more interesting. Also, speaking of Gabriel? Oh my goodness! The prophecy? Yep, it's everything I was hoping for, and just that reveal more than made the entire book, especially Ethan's reaction. That being said, despite the reveal of what the green eyes meant, things are still pretty vague as to how things will actually happen. I seriously cannot wait until the next book to see where things lead with this!

It never ceases to amaze me how these books can have so much jammed into them, but never once feel overwhelming.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful By BookGeek on February 4, 2014
Format: Paperback
There is nothing really wrong with this book, it's just boring. Boring, because it's more of the same. The City of Chicago are still bullies, Merit and gang stumble upon yet another magical mystery that only they can solve and nothing much else happens. Lots of series have formulas and monster of the week type formats, but in my opinion Chicagoland suffers for it. There just isn't much holding me to the series beyond the fact that I love Ethan Sullivan, but even he fell flat for me in WILD THINGS.

We finally learn the meaning behind Gabriel's infamous prophecy and I kind of guessed it years ago. But! But after years of reading this series, the prophecy seems illogical and against the lore Chloe Neill has spent years setting up. More, Merit has been taken from normal girl to Ms. chosen one, special, first of her kind, McAwesome. Completely against the premise that a grad student becomes a vampire. All of a sudden she's something more, which isn't what I signed up for. I'm kind of tired of the "chosen one" angle, no matter how simple or intimate the anomaly is.

Then there is the mystery. I have often felt that Merit and team were weak detectives, and they are, but for some reason the characters in this particular installment seem to think that they are getting better or accomplishing feats, when really they are just bumbling around in the dark. They stumble across leads without any real deductions or investigative prowess. Everything is solved with a single phrase or action. Too easily wrapped up with not enough tension or resolution. In fact, I could care less about the villain.

The ending was intriguing and I'll no doubt read the next book without such high hopes, but interest non the less.

I am really disappointed and underwhelmed by this book,
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By K. Eckert on March 5, 2014
Format: Paperback
This is the ninth book in the Chicagoland Vampire series by Neill. I thought this book was much better than the last few books in the series. It feels like Neill finally has a new story arc starting that will encompass the next few books. The tenth book in this series, Blood Games, is scheduled for an August 2014 release. The most recent info I could find says that Neill is contracted for a total of 13 books in this series.

Ethan and Merit seek shelter at the Brecks because the Mayor wants to arrest Ethan. While there they are supposed to partake in a celebration with the Shifters, but an attack by harpies leaves them with a new mess to deal with. On top of this all a rep from the GP has arrived in Chicago and wants reparations for the GP vampire Representative that was killed by Cadogan house.

This book did an excellent job of ramping the series back up to its former glory, the series had been slowing down a bit over the last couple books. If you had a bit of trouble with the last couple books in the series, you can breathe a breath of relief...this book was much better and very fast-paced. This book was back up to the level of the earlier books in the series.Not only did Ethan and Merit solve a contained mystery but there are also a couple longer terms story arcs started as well.

Merit and Ethan have both grown a lot and are in a comfortable (while still steamy) place in their relationship. I enjoyed watching them work as a team to protect Cadogan House.

Mallory and Catcher are also mending fences. Mallory and Merit are also working on mending their friendship. It was great to have the perky and fun Mallory back even if she is a bit more worn and world-wise than she was at the beginning of the series.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Frequently Bought Together

Wild Things (Chicagoland Vampires) + Biting Bad (Chicagoland Vampires) + Blood Games (Chicagoland Vampires)
Price for all three: $34.64

Buy the selected items together