Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable Information for Preparing a College Student for Staying in College
Harrison's focus is different from the usual college advice books in that the focus of his book is on actually GRADUATING college. Harrison quotes the dismal statistics of how many students who start college actually finish within six years. Then he gives advice on how to ensure that you (or your child) is one of those who does finish.

Parents may especially...
Published on March 22, 2008 by Phyllis Zimbler Miller

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay
i thought the book was going to be big, or normal sized. Turns out the book is as big as my iphone. Fun book though, gave me the knowledge i needed.
Published 6 months ago by ryan varzandeh


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable Information for Preparing a College Student for Staying in College, March 22, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1001 Things Every College Student Needs to Know: (Like Buying Your Books Before Exams Start) (Paperback)
Harrison's focus is different from the usual college advice books in that the focus of his book is on actually GRADUATING college. Harrison quotes the dismal statistics of how many students who start college actually finish within six years. Then he gives advice on how to ensure that you (or your child) is one of those who does finish.

Parents may especially appreciate his blunt advice, such as: "You need to know to not listen to all that nonsense about college being a time of 'personal exploration.' At up to $50,000 a year, it's job training."
-- Phyllis Zimbler Miller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special Gift from Grandma, October 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1001 Things Every College Student Needs to Know: (Like Buying Your Books Before Exams Start) (Paperback)
This is a remarkably readable book for young people ready to enter college. The advice is concise, but often presented in a humorous fashion. Because it isn't a wordy tome, the book invites readers to read just a little bit more, and the topics covered are important for consideration.

The fresh advice covers topics today's high school students probably haven't though about, and it may surprise them to learn that there are often a variety of ways to address a problem.

The format invites scanning, and that approach will provide insight into issues that weren't encountered at home or in local schools. All the rumors about the freshman fifteen, roommate problems, teachers' expectations, being home sick, making new friends are covered. The advice is to the point and worthy of consideration.

1001 Things Every College Student Needs to Know is a great gift to a grandchild who will soon be attending college.

Orders from Amazon come quickly, and the books are available as needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great help!, July 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1001 Things Every College Student Needs to Know: (Like Buying Your Books Before Exams Start) (Paperback)
I purchased this book because I'm starting college in a month. It has been extremely helpful and made me think about things I wouldn't have thought about otherwise. It had many good tips about every topic. It helped me learn how to stay focused on my goal, which, of course, is graduating on time. I really recommend this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect gift!, August 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1001 Things Every College Student Needs to Know: (Like Buying Your Books Before Exams Start) (Paperback)
Fun to read. Packed full of practical, "real world" advice. As a high School Counselor, this makes the perfect Graduation gift to me to give when invited to grad parties! This book includes everything I want them to know, but probably never had the time to tell them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute grad present, February 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1001 Things Every College Student Needs to Know: (Like Buying Your Books Before Exams Start) (Paperback)
Got this for our daughter in prep for heading off to college. We put it in her Christmas stocking, and she has enjoyed it so much, we ordered several more for her friends for gifts when they graduate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must read for everyone going to college, April 9, 2009
This review is from: 1001 Things Every College Student Needs to Know: (Like Buying Your Books Before Exams Start) (Paperback)
I thought this book would just be "fluff" reading but I was pleasantly surprised. It tells it like it is. No sugar coating. It is better a student be prepared for the real world than to go in thinking everyday is going to be bliss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book, July 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
SO many practical tidbits of advice presented in a SUPER reader friendly format!!! Of course, most of us choose to 'live through stuff' rather than take someone's advice. Anyway...I read through different sections on a regular basis. The 1001 Things Every GRADUATE Needs to Know is equally as good. I sent that one as a graduation gift. Our local high schools plan to give them out as prizes throughout the school year and at Project Graduation events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1001 Things Every College Student Needs to Know: (Like Buying Your Books Before Exams Start) (Paperback)
i thought the book was going to be big, or normal sized. Turns out the book is as big as my iphone. Fun book though, gave me the knowledge i needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Alright., June 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Basic info and a lot of repetition. Not saying it isn't completely worthwhile, but surfing the internet for memes is probably much cheaper than buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book with Practical Advice!, October 10, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1001 Things Every College Student Needs to Know: (Like Buying Your Books Before Exams Start) (Paperback)
This book offers very sound and well-thought-out advice! You can open this book to any page and learn important points that will help any student in college. I didn't find anything in this book which made me feel that the advice was simply the author's point-of-view. And if it is, this is a very knowledgeable man whose words ring true. This is a great book for anybody about to enter college, someone who is already in college or any parent. I have read this book from cover to cover, as well as "1001 Things Every Teen Should Know Before They Leave Home". Both are excellent and would make great gifts for any teenager or parent. Buy the book and decide for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

1001 Things Every College Student Needs to Know: (Like Buying Your Books Before Exams Start)
$9.99 $8.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.