Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is the bomb!
THIS BOOK IS OVERFLOWING WITH FACTS ABOUT THE AFRICAN AMERICANS WHO SHAPED THIS COUNTRY AS WELL AS MADE EVERYDAY LIFE A LITTLE CONVIENIENT AS WELL AS MADE A DIFFERENCE IN PEOPLES LIVES.
Published on April 28, 1999

versus
1 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, But Narrow In Scope
Although "1001 Things Everyone Should Know About African American History" is a great way to learn about how people of African descent have shaped America, it is sorely lacking in information about other races. Why not mention the many contributions made by Asian Americans or Irish Americans? I just feel that the book is a bit ethnic-centric, and focuses almost entirely...
Published on July 5, 2010 by Billy Oertel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is the bomb!, April 28, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: 1001 Things Everyone Should Know About African American History (Paperback)
THIS BOOK IS OVERFLOWING WITH FACTS ABOUT THE AFRICAN AMERICANS WHO SHAPED THIS COUNTRY AS WELL AS MADE EVERYDAY LIFE A LITTLE CONVIENIENT AS WELL AS MADE A DIFFERENCE IN PEOPLES LIVES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference, March 21, 2008
By 
J. Paige "paige me" (Houston, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are many good books of reference on African American history published. However, this one ranks among the best. Well written, user-friendly layout, addressing a broad range of topics, this is recommended for a home or classroom library to teach that all members of a society contribute to its advancement and that our society must be inclusive of all members. Every child can be proud of his or her cultural and historical heritage in a country created by immigrants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise, Informative , Readable, Captivating, November 21, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The author states in his introduction that this book is not to be viewed as a text book, but rather to be used as supplement. It's a rather comprehensive supplement with captivating text! This book is organized in easy reading segments that are all numbered 1 thru 1001 & also divided within 6 Parts (Sports, Culture and Religion. . .). I feel as if the author is talking with me personally. History boring? I don't think so with this book! I plan to use this book with homeschooling as well as "homeschooling" myself! Can't wait to learn more of what I missed in school!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good information but details are missing, February 2, 2009
By 
M. Hill (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1001 Things Everyone Should Know About African American History (Paperback)
This book is a great source of Black history. I have the 1996 edition, and noticed that Carter G. Woodson and details about the Black Wall Street in Oklahoma are missing. How could the Father of Black History not be included in any book with Black History facts? The Black Wall Street is one of the biggest tales of Black wealth, and it too is missing. The missing info is disturbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very clear, January 24, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: 1001 Things Everyone Should Know About African American History (Paperback)
I have taken class with Dr. Stewart at George Mason, and just like his lectures this book is very informative without being dull or overbearing. An excellent read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars every american needs to read this book!, December 15, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 1001 Things Everyone Should Know About African American History (Paperback)
I am so thankful Mr. Stewart wrote this book! It is a clear, conscise history that is in turns, overwhelming, sobering and inspiring. Although I was taught some of this in school, it did not have the impact of reading this history in short often 2 paragraph sections. It is a must read for american.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening and Entertaining, August 28, 2007
By 
Robert W. Kellemen "Doc. K." (Crown Point, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's not easy to write a comprehensive history book that is also engaging and user-friendly. Author, historian, and professor Jeffrey Stewart found the way. In 1001 Things Everyone Should Know About African American History, he pens a concise yet encyclopedic narrative that highlights the people and events underlying the amazing story of African American history.

Stewart organizes his work around six sections: Gretat Migration, Civil Rights, Science, Sports, Military, and Religion. This is a book you can read cover to cover or one article at a time in any order.

Reviewer: Bob Kellemen, Ph.D., is the author of Beyond the Suffering: Embracing the Legacy of African American Soul Care and Spiritual Direction .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Awesome Easy Reader for Students, March 8, 2006
This review is from: 1001 Things Everyone Should Know About African American History (Paperback)
This is a wonderful wealth of information written at a level that easily read and interpreted by students. It should become an addition to every classroom library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no title, February 2, 2006
By 
C. L Wilson (Elmhurst, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Took me absolutely forever to read this book - months! But I loved it and certainly learned a lot. Stewart is to be commended for pulling so much information together in a marvelously cohesive book. Prints and photographs are terrific. And for those who want more on the subject, and there is more, believe it or not, there is a black history calendar, a desk calendar, also chuck full of history and info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Uplifting, June 4, 2000
This review is from: 1001 Things Everyone Should Know About African American History (Paperback)
DR.Stewart Does a Wonderful Job Of Presenting this Book Of Facts about African-Americans.it's Important Too Know You Matter.the Contributions here&The People have Forever changed The World.The People who Have paved The Way For this TIme Period&Generations too Come are Due A Big THANK YOU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

1001 Things Everyone Should Know About African American History
1001 Things Everyone Should Know About African American History by Jeffrey C. Stewart (Paperback - May 4, 1998)
$17.99 $15.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.