Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, short stories that are captivating
James Herriot's books are delightful - A young country vet who moved to the Yorkshire dales in the 1930s and describes his experiences with the land, people and animals. You instantly feel a strong, common bond with the writer, and are transformed to a simpler, better time. He offers a glimpse into a life that was uncomplicated, peaceful, and without all those things that...
Published on November 23, 2001 by Mark

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
This wasn't at all what I wanted. It was suppose to be the book that has all the little tid bits of things to do...such as lemon juice to clean...ect Instead I got a religious book. Not what I wanted at all. Ended up in the garbage!
Published on October 6, 2011 by Lori


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, short stories that are captivating, November 23, 2001
By 
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful/the Lord God Made Them All (Hardcover)
James Herriot's books are delightful - A young country vet who moved to the Yorkshire dales in the 1930s and describes his experiences with the land, people and animals. You instantly feel a strong, common bond with the writer, and are transformed to a simpler, better time. He offers a glimpse into a life that was uncomplicated, peaceful, and without all those things that have come to define us in our society. His books are about people and the country, and the animals that surround them. He never dwells too long on something and as a result his writing style is in its simplicity, captivating. He takes a light-hearted view of himself and his profession - he reveals himself as unexperienced, always ready to have a good laugh about himself without condenscending, and as someone who is not morally or intellectually superior as so many of today's books heros reveal themselves to be. Even though his stories took place before and during the second world war, we do not feel out of place, but instantly at home. His books are divided into short stories, and make for excellent, easy reading, and unnecessary to start at the beginning - You can just start at any chapter in the book and instantly feel you know everything about him, even if you have never read any of his books before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is perfect for anyone who loves life!, July 23, 2002
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful/the Lord God Made Them All (Hardcover)
As not only an animal lover, but (hopefully) an up and coming veterinarian, James Herriots books seemed like a great thing to look into.
Herriot's books bring the Yorkshire countryside directly into your home. He brings the world of hard work, late nights, confusing symptoms, and the unknown of a vets life into the readers heart, but at the same time he also shows the thrill of pulling an animal back from the brink of death or bringing another life into the world.
This wonderful combination starts off when Herriot leaves for the RAF to fight in World War II, but as he goes through basic training his mind (and the book) wanders back to his days in Darrowby doing what he loves best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Herriot does it again!, June 24, 2000
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful/the Lord God Made Them All (Hardcover)
This is another wonderful book that makes you feel like you are right there with James. He has a wonderful way to descibe the little things so well you can see it in your mind. I traveled the countryside with him and meeting all types of different folks,down to earth people who touched me almost , but not quite , as deeply as the animals he ministered. As a nurse I appreciated the details he used and as a lover of animals I feel like I know them too. Way to go! I love each of his books more than the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for everyone to enjoy., March 15, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful/the Lord God Made Them All (Hardcover)
The opening story in "All Things Wise And Wonderful", has got to be one of the best stories I've ever read. It's very touching and inspirational, but it's only the precursor of good things to come. The stories contained in this book can be enjoyed by anyone of any age. Herriot will have you laughing, crying, frustrated and just about any other emotion you can imagine as you follow him on his rounds through Darrowby. Even if you have no interest in veterinary medicine or farming, you can enjoy everything that goes on. A five-star fantastic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I thoroughly enjoyed every one of them, July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful/the Lord God Made Them All (Hardcover)
One of the most enchanting books I've ever read!! All 4 books of this series are a must for any animal lover. I thoroughly enjoyed every one of them. I originally read them many years ago and was thrilled to find them in 2 volumes on Amazon. Read the first two, All Creatures Great and Small/All Things Bright and Beautiful, first. I will keep these books and read them again and again. I laughed and cried all through each book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase - arrived on time and in mint condition, April 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful/the Lord God Made Them All (Hardcover)
And....it's an original edition....not one of the abridged editions that seem to be what is available to purchase for "new".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent books for all ages!, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful/the Lord God Made Them All (Hardcover)
Recd practically over night. Great book and so fun! I enjoy the fact that books you are looking for are found at different
stores but you only have one bill to work with.....and one place to look!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Herriot-lovers!, March 13, 2013
By 
G.K. (Denton, Tx) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful/the Lord God Made Them All (Hardcover)
Have read all of Herriot's books and just had to have my own copies of everything. One of my favorite feel-good authors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, March 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful/the Lord God Made Them All (Hardcover)
I've always enjoyed Herriot's books so I was glad to find this combo of two I had never read! The book is like new!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase, January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful/the Lord God Made Them All (Hardcover)
I chose this rating because everything was as I expected as far as shipping and quality of product. There is, however, always room for perfection, hence the 4 star rating. I always recommend Amazon for online buying because of the service I've experienced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

All Things Wise and Wonderful/the Lord God Made Them All
All Things Wise and Wonderful/the Lord God Made Them All by James Herriot (Hardcover - Nov. 1999)
Used & New from: $0.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.