Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredible Marriage Resource!
What a wonderful book about marriage!

I just finished reading this book and I can't wait for my husband to read it. Not because this book takes the wife's side and does a little husband bashing (because it doesn't) but because it takes a real look at what wives wish their husbands knew about marriage.

Jay Payleitner is a new author for me and, after...
Published on January 17, 2012 by Jenilee Goodwin

versus
18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 52 Ways to Emasculate Yourself for Your Wife
I will preface my thoughts by admitting the following: 1) I haven't been married all that long, and 2) I'm probably not as strong of a Christian as this book is targeted towards. Those two facts alone probably mean I'm not within the intended target audience for this book.

I picked this up thinking that it may share some advice that could make sure that my...
Published on March 12, 2012 by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredible Marriage Resource!, January 17, 2012
This review is from: 52 Things Wives Need from Their Husbands: What Husbands Can Do to Build a Stronger Marriage (Paperback)
What a wonderful book about marriage!

I just finished reading this book and I can't wait for my husband to read it. Not because this book takes the wife's side and does a little husband bashing (because it doesn't) but because it takes a real look at what wives wish their husbands knew about marriage.

Jay Payleitner is a new author for me and, after reading this book, I am impressed with his writing style. His words come easily yet they are challenging and full of truth. I enjoyed how he brought his own marriage lessons into each chapter, helping you see how God has helped him work through these things in his own life.

My husband will like this book for a few reasons:

1. The chapters are short and to the point. The author doesn't over state each topic. He says what he wants to say, gives some scripture and a few ways the husband can improve or take a new look at that area of his marriage.

2. The books has a lot of humor. Most guys will keep reading if it is funny and they can laugh often.

3. This book challenges without beating the husband over the head.

4. The author keeps his tips and helps simple. Everything he suggests is easy to do and said in a way that is very understandable. Yet, his standard is high on important topics like porn, straying eyes, staying married and working hard. He doesn't back down on Biblical issues.

5. It is not an overwhelming book that makes the reader feel like a good marriage is too much work.

52 Things Wives Need from Their Husbands is insightful, thoughtful, well-written and a perfect reference book for both wives and husbands.

Book Description:

Many wives long to have their husbands choose them all over again. To be their knight in shining armor. Their leader. Their listener. Their lover.

In 52 Things Wives Need from Their Husbands, Jay Payleitner, veteran radio producer and author of 52 Things Kids Need from a Dad, offers a bounty of welcome advice, such as

"Stir her pots"
"Buy sparkly gifts"
"Be the handyman"
"Stay married"
"Kiss her in the kitchen"
"Leave your mommy"
"Put her second"

A great gift or men's group resource, 52 Things Wives Need from Their Husbands provides a full year's worth of advice. And no chapter will make husbands feel guilty or criticize them for acting like men!

For the husband who wants to live God's plan for his marriage, this book will put him on the right track.

This is a book you will want to have on your shelf, or at least available for your husband to read! You can find it here on Amazon.

Thank you to Harvest House for providing this book for review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Resource for a Profound Responsibility, March 19, 2012
This review is from: 52 Things Wives Need from Their Husbands: What Husbands Can Do to Build a Stronger Marriage (Paperback)
I had the privilege of producing the Audiobook editions of this book, as well as 52 Things Kids Need from a Dad: What Fathers Can Do to Make a Lifelong Difference. Both narrated by the author. Being locked in the studio with an author gives me great behind-the-scene's insight into what that person is really like.

Taking recording breaks between chapters, I'd often toss a few questions at him, ask him to expound on a point or explain what he meant, even hearing the meaningful (or humorous) background stories that never made it to the print version. It's like the 'Special Features' on a recently purchased movie.

Unfortunately, I can't share everything from those conversations I had with Jay. What I can do is Highly Recommend this book, and any other book he writes on the topic of being a husband and a father. Payleitner isn't perfect and he never claims to have all the answers. But his convictions and standards shine through the simplicity of the various points he's trying to make.

He chose to write a book that would be easy to read, absorb, consume, contemplate and implement. Not because us males are knuckle-dragging neanderthals, too ignorant or emasculated to know any better. But because the role of husband (and father) is so profoundly significant, that intricately erudite or academically verbose vernacular is a waste of time. Payleitner is a busy guy (he's tough to get in the studio some times) and he knows most other men are busy, too. This book is perfect for getting a very simple yet very profound point across, in succinct chapters.

Payleitner is an admirable husband, a fantastic father and an easy role-model for other husbands to follow. We need more guys like him, and we need more books like this.

-TL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource for Men's Small Group, March 5, 2012
This review is from: 52 Things Wives Need from Their Husbands: What Husbands Can Do to Build a Stronger Marriage (Paperback)
Jay Payleitner does a great job of choosing those issues that every couple faces in their marriage. And I love the responsibility he puts on the husbands by focusing on what a wife needs. The quote highlighted in the introduction - "True love begins when nothing is looked for in return." - sets the tone for us men to do what we are supposed to do simply because that's what were supposed to do. The joy of seeing the positive impact on our wives will be well worth the effort.

Men, grab a copy of this book for yourself and a handful for the other men around you (neighbors, golfing buddies, accountability group) and plow through it together. It's a great resource for a small group of men (who are like-minded in attaining a glorious marriage relationship) to explore together. I predict those 52 discussions will lead to years of ever-increasing joy for your marriage.
One Thing - Player's Manual for Men: Doing all for the glory of God
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 52 Ways to Emasculate Yourself for Your Wife, March 12, 2012
By 
Steve (Rockford, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 52 Things Wives Need from Their Husbands: What Husbands Can Do to Build a Stronger Marriage (Paperback)
I will preface my thoughts by admitting the following: 1) I haven't been married all that long, and 2) I'm probably not as strong of a Christian as this book is targeted towards. Those two facts alone probably mean I'm not within the intended target audience for this book.

I picked this up thinking that it may share some advice that could make sure that my marriage survives the "long haul," unlike so many these days. And the book does offer up plenty of advice, but how good that advice actually is I find questionable.

Although the book goes over "52 things," in going through them it felt like most of them focused around a central theme, that being something along the lines of "Just admit to yourself that you're a moron, that your wife is always right, and that you need to just do whatever she asks you to."

The book also seems to be contradictory in some places. For much of the book the text feeds off of the theme stated above, but then takes a short break from it to express that a wife wants a man who can take charge. It challenges you to adjust your personality and behavior, but then points out that the differences between men and women are part of what makes a marriage so great.

It wasn't all bad - there were a few bits here that I thought could be helpful, but those bits were few and far between. As an example, the section about "cataloging" things that make your spouse happy is a great idea. There were some good thoughts about how to deal with responsibilities around the house, and what to do when your life together gets too routine.

However the bad points of this book far outweigh the good, to the point where I certainly couldn't see myself recommending it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical & Humorous!, November 30, 2012
This review is from: 52 Things Wives Need from Their Husbands: What Husbands Can Do to Build a Stronger Marriage (Paperback)
My husband and I both read this book, and it held such insightful information for both of us. The book kept us both entertained and intrigued with its list of things women desire from a marriage relationship and how a husband can best provide for those desires. The best parts about this book for my husband were the short, to the point chapters, as well as the humorous content. For myself, the best parts of the book were the examples he uses from his own marriage to exemplify the points he is trying to make. An important thing that helped my husband to apply or visualize how to apply the ideas in the book was the fact that the book is not to make the husband feel guilty, but rather to give him tips that can be applied almost immediately, because they are so practical! As a wife reading this book, that is something I also appreciated.

This book is a great resource for any man, even one who is not yet married. The author is engaging and humorous. And he has written a work that is applicable to the lives of many!

Thank you to Harvest House Publishers for providing this book for review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book Even for Nearly-Weds!, September 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 52 Things Wives Need from Their Husbands: What Husbands Can Do to Build a Stronger Marriage (Paperback)
I'm not married; I'm a single man engaged to the most beautiful and wonderful fiancee in the world, Melanie, due to be married next December. I'm currently a full-time student, but I decided that I'd get a head start on doing some premarital counseling myself. Words can't describe how exciting and exhilarating it is to be engaged and beginning the process of planning the wedding with my soon-to-be-wife! Most of my life, I've made excuses to not go to church on Sundays so I could sleep in or watch the Cowboys play. A lot of times, I just didn't want to go. Needless to say, I've not had a great relationship with God and Christ for years. Now that I'm engaged and starting to prepare for a wedding and long life ahead with the woman of my dreams, I felt a huge, sudden urge to rekindle the flames with God and Christ; What better way to start preparing an unbreakable foundation for your marriage than through the Gospel? Granted, it's going to take time. But I'm committed to staying the path. Why? Because I want to. I desperately desire for Christ to be in my life. I wanna yearn for God to do His will through me. I need to be that man, not just for myself, but because my fiancee needs me to be that godly man as her husband. Likewise, our future children ( God willing) will need a godly and loving father. But I didn't want this to be a mission that Melanie couldn't be a part of. It's important to me that we both be on the same page and that we both pursue Christ in all of our endeavors.

So, I perused around Amazon for some great books written by Christian authors, psychologists, etc., that Melanie and I could use along with the Bible (the best source of marriage counseling period!) to prepare ourselves for married life. Anything that would help us begin to start scratching the surface of fathoming what a marriage entails and the future hardships destined for any married couple, especially newly-weds. In all, I found 16 books that talk about God's intentions for the incredible mystery of marriage, how to honor your wife and sacrifice beyond measure to fulfill her every need, and God's views and intentions for sex between husband and wife. When I told Melanie what I had done and what my intentions were behind it all, I definitely surprised her and took her aback. But she was so happy and glad that I was taking such initiative.

In "52 Things Wives Need from Their Husbands," Jay Payleitner does a great job explaining what wives need from their husbands throughout the entire marriage. I personally thought the book was very insightful and informative. I like the fact that Jay uses Scripture to solidify what he's saying. It's an extremely quick read, only 2-3 pages per chapter, and it's actually pretty humorous throughout the whole book. Jay does a really great job relating to the reader in some of the things he's struggled with personally. This book is short, direct, and to the point. He doesn't drone on and on about each of the 52 things, but he tells it how it is. I respect him for that. Again, even though I'm not married I found this book to be extremely useful and helpful for preparing myself (although it won't do much until I actually experience it myself!) as best I can to be the best husband for Melanie. I'd recommend this book to any engaged nearly-weds, newly-weds, and veteran married couple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Outstanding Payleitner Book, October 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 52 Things Wives Need from Their Husbands: What Husbands Can Do to Build a Stronger Marriage (Paperback)
Jay Payleitner continues to strike the perfect balance between inspiration and motivation. This is an insightful and entertaining book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Practical Guide, April 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 52 Things Wives Need from Their Husbands: What Husbands Can Do to Build a Stronger Marriage (Paperback)
This is a fairly well written book, that has a religious tone. It's easy to read, and offers practical advice...though nothing necessarily innovative or earth-shattering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, yet Profound, May 30, 2012
This review is from: 52 Things Wives Need from Their Husbands: What Husbands Can Do to Build a Stronger Marriage (Paperback)
Jay Payleitner hit the nail on the head when he wrote this book. These are 52 things wives need from their husbands. There are things, such as helping in the kitchen, helping out around the house, and cutting the apron strings. Perhaps the biggest gift a man can give his wife is the one mentioned in chapter 30--to trade his fancy sports car for a minivan.

I love this book, not only for its profound content, but also for its concise writing. The chapters are short and to-the-point. The writing is full of humor and realism. This book is perfect as a gift for the newly married. It is also perfect for those of us who have been married for a while. It just may be the book for wives to just have "laying around" for their husbands to thumb through. This book is awesome! I recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, but no magic pill., April 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 52 Things Wives Need from Their Husbands: What Husbands Can Do to Build a Stronger Marriage (Paperback)
An easy to read and engaging book. Light hearted and humorous, I enjoyed it without getting a lot of the answers for my marriage, having said that; I highlighted 10 chapters of the 52 as useful. These I will try and use in my marriage. I guess other husband may find golden advice in some of the other chapters.

Always better to do something than nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

52 Things Wives Need from Their Husbands: What Husbands Can Do to Build a Stronger Marriage
$12.99 $10.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.