Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Think Outside the Inbox: The B2B Marketing Automation Guide
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars28
5 star
86%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
14%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 14, 2015
The book provides only the most general advice on using marketing automation or lead nurturing. It is also in serious need of updating. For example, the book mentions Jigsaw.com, but that was acquired by Salesforce.com several years ago.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2013
I am more than a little surprised about the great reviews this book got. I ordered it thinking it was going to lay out the basics of using marketing automation tools. There was a lot about emails, websites and very, very light duty information about actually setting up a sustainable marketing automation program.

I'm don't often review books, but just had to share that I personally was not impressed.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2012
It is very basic content. It's ok if you are completely new to the topic but if you have been working around b2b sales and marketing through Internet is not worth it for more than a couple months. I suggest you spend your ten bucks on something more substantial.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2010
As a small business owner with a very specialized consulting service, I am the sales and marketing team. Any help I can get to automate marketing to bring in leads, qualify those leads, follow-up, and close deals pays off huge. This "Marketing Automation Guide" does a great job of introducing basic concepts, relating them to real-world scenarios, and providing tons of actual concrete examples.

I loved the "[...]" analogy -- David and Adam go into great detail describing exactly how to profile, grade, and score leads with an actual points example, that surely comes from their real-world experience and knowledge in this industry. They even snuck in some actual case studies to prove they know their stuff!

I would recommend this book to any business owner looking to improve their sales pipeline.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2010
Think Outside the Inbox should be required reading for any business looking to jumpstart online sales. Generic email blasts are ineffective, assuming they even make it past spam filters. Co-authors David Cummings and Adam Blitzer explain marketing automation, which enables companies to track a customer from prospect to purchase. More importantly, it integrates with existing systems like your CRM tool, so you can track your sales prospects and marketing campaigns through a single interface. In the online world, nearly everything can be measured, which means that you know which marketing dollars are working. Marketing automation tools also help you to score prospects, which makes your sales team more efficient.

As the President and CEO of an interactive agency, I recognize the importance of an integrated marketing strategy. While my company's focus is on driving traffic to a client's website, that is only one piece of the sales process. Acquiring a B2B customer is a challenging process that can have a long sales cycle, but it can be made easier by using a marketing automation tool. Admittedly, I was unfamiliar with the term until recently, but understanding it is crucial to growing your business. Marketing automation brings together disparate tools like CRM, Google AdWords, email marketing, and web analytics into a single interface. While it's great to know in aggregate how many unique visitors you had, it's even better to know how one prospect interacted with your website. Did they request more information? What is their title? How frequently do they come back? In turn, knowledgeable sales reps can approach prospects with targeted information that is more likely to lead to a sale.

The authors have done B2B marketers a tremendous service by sharing their knowledge and experience. Reading the book is the first step, but you need to implement the advice given in the book to see results. The technology can be intimidating until you understand it, but marketing automation will make your business smarter, more efficient, and more profitable.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2010
As a marketing professional responsible for lead generation and providing our sales team with "sales-ready" leads, "Think Outside the Inbox" has provided me with a foundation for success.

For professionals new to online marketing, "Think Outside the Inbox" provides real-world advice on how to create successful lead-generation and email marketing campaigns. The section on "Timing" would have saved me months of learning, had I read it earlier in my career.

For the experienced online marketer, the book provides an advanced framework for scoring and grading leads. (A new technique to ensure the leads you pass to your sales team are ready to buy.) The next section on "Staying in Touch" is a great primer for bringing cold leads back to life.

"Think Outside the Inbox" is an easy and entertaining read that can help you get up and running with marketing automation quickly.

I recommend this book for any person that wants to learn how to generate more leads and sales for their organization.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2010
"Think Outside the Inbox" is a great guide for "marketing 2.0," where marketing is not only responsible for campaigns but revenue and proving program ROI. This book provides readers with a solid foundation for understanding the key pieces of the b2b marketing tool kit: customer relationship management, search engine optimization, social media, macro and micro web analytics and marketing automation. Novice and exoerienced marketers will find tips and helpful research on why organizations large and small need to move beyond email for targeted, timely and personal interactions with their existing customers and prospects.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2015
Fast delivery, described perfectly, no complaints.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2010
This book is a quick read and logically organized. I read it in 1.5 days. It includes a nice overview of email marketing fundamentals but then quickly goes into how you can leverage marketing automation to make your efforts more natural. Of course, if you write like a used-car salesperson that probably won't help. But if you are trying to create a valuable dialog with your customers which might result in an eventual sale, this is an excellent book on how to do it with a marketing automation tool. Lead scoring, drip marketing, and grading are all covered. If you do not know what these are then you should definitely get the book. One sidenote: the authors are from Pardot and I found the book closely matched the Pardot system but it was not a sales pitch. The elements they cover are part of any good marketing automation solution.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2010
As a marketing automation consultant, I had the pleasure of meeting David and Adam on several occasions, so I already knew that they're very knowledgeable about marketing automation. Their book gives a concise and complete overview of marketing automation technology and best practices.

This book is an introduction to Marketing Automation, ideal for readers who haven't worked with a marketing automation system yet, or who have just started. Experienced marketing automation users will definitely find some useful information - personally I picked up some new ideas around email deliverability - but it's not the target audience.

What I like about the book is that - although it covers all aspects of marketing automation - it gives extra attention to email marketing and landing pages. Lead scoring, visitor tracking and multi-step campaigns may be the sexy parts of marketing automation, but email marketing and landing pages are the real workhorses.

The only minor quibble is that it sometimes sounds like marketing automation is the magic potion that solves all your ailments, while in reality it takes a fair amount of effort to gain the maximum benefits. However, if you ignore those jubilant paragraphs and focus on the many best practices, this book will give you a tremendous start with marketing automation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse