Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think Tank Volume 1: A Collected Work of Smart Comics and Then Some
If you have been reading comics, but reading them in a cave, and have not heard of a little book called Think Tank, you have missed out on a master stroke conducted by co-creator/writer Matt Hawkins and co-creator/artist Rahsan Ekedal that injects a measure of intelligence and social commentary in comics that is missing quite a bit in modern graphic fiction...
Published 20 months ago by Thoco77

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
This was an alright book. The characters and story were pretty flat, and it just runs on its ideas. Only problem is, the ideas are already known to anyone who follows politics and technology. This would have been fascinating about 10 years ago. Now, it's a bit boring.
Published 4 months ago by Danja F.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think Tank Volume 1: A Collected Work of Smart Comics and Then Some, December 6, 2012
This review is from: Think Tank (Paperback)
If you have been reading comics, but reading them in a cave, and have not heard of a little book called Think Tank, you have missed out on a master stroke conducted by co-creator/writer Matt Hawkins and co-creator/artist Rahsan Ekedal that injects a measure of intelligence and social commentary in comics that is missing quite a bit in modern graphic fiction.

The is the story of brilliant scientist, David Loren, who is conscripted by the government to design only the finest weapons of war. Yet, what happens when the moral divide cracks, and David decides that making weapons is no longer his cup of tea? Think Tank becomes a technology driven stealth adventure, as taut and realistic as any thriller on T.V. Excellent story crafted by Matt Hawkins and beautiful black, white, and gray art work by Rahsan Ekedal only engender a feeling of excitement when reading, and it has been the most fun comic on the shelves when it comes to reality based and scientifically researched graphic fiction.

The first trade paperback features an introduction by Larry Marder, a complete cover gallery, and "Science Class", and introspective look on a lot of scientific and military technology and terminology, as well as character dossiers. And don't forget, it includes the first four issues of this thrilling foray into both military and scientific dramatics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars topical graphic novel, March 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Think Tank (Paperback)
This is the first in the Think Tank series -- the story of young genius David Loren recruited by the military to design weapons. AFter nine years without a break, Loren narrates the story as he decides he's had enough of killing people and wants to escape his "captors". His recruitment and early career are told in flashbacks as he deals with current handlers and tries to get out of the research compound.

Loren is a likable narrator, the situation and characters are compelling, and the thrills are believable; on the graphics side, the artwork is b&w realism and the font is clear and readable. There's nothing to dislike in this clever debut, and I look forward to others in the series.

This paperback collects issues# 1-4 of this entertaining series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read comic book!, December 14, 2012
By 
Wolfeyes (Escondido, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Think Tank (Paperback)
This is one of the best new comic books out there. Perfect time to jump on as this trade collects the first 4 issue arc. The tag line on the cover is on the mark. It's made me smarter as I learn something each issue and it also seems to have made me notice more science and technology posts and articles since I started to read it. Matt Hawkins is a talented writer that gets you to care about the characters. And Rahsan Ekedal brings the story to life with his art. Read it, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow., May 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Think Tank (Paperback)
And this is just the beginning. I thought this was a wonderful book, well worth the price and with plenty of extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, March 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Think Tank (Paperback)
This was an alright book. The characters and story were pretty flat, and it just runs on its ideas. Only problem is, the ideas are already known to anyone who follows politics and technology. This would have been fascinating about 10 years ago. Now, it's a bit boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loads of FUN, August 6, 2013
This review is from: Think Tank (Paperback)
THINK TANK is a fully-weaponized comic book of killer fun!

The comic doesn't take itself too seriously, deals with serious topics, and presents readers with some very cool and present technologies. These are all wonderful goals to have in any written work, of course, but the trick is to pull them all together for the reader. THINK TANK does that in spades.

One reviewer compared the main character to Val Kilmer's lead role in the movie Real Genius and that's apt - both are clever, quick-witted, and likable characters. I would never have found this comic if not for a .99 cent deal made available on Comixology. I'm hooked now and can't wait for new issues to come out.

Good stuff! Don't miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What if Val Kilmer's character from Real Genius joined DARPA?, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Think Tank (Paperback)
Matt Hawkin's Think Tank is a really fun book. It's filled with movie references, real science, jabs at the military industrial complex, and cold jokes. The characters are well-developed. The plot moves pretty fast. Ethnic diversity feels natural, neither catering to liberal archetypes or ethnic stereotypes.

The book is in black and white, but it's very easy to tell what's going on and which character is which (not a particularly easy task when all the characters are human and don't wear outlandish superhero costumes)

In conclusion, please buy this book because this one ends with somewhat of a cliff-hanger and I'd really like to find out what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nicola Says ..., March 4, 2013
By 
This review is from: Think Tank (Paperback)
Fantastic. A science-based spy/action story. Inside secret military government weapons and the scientists who make them. This is a brilliant edge-of-your-seat thriller with its fair share of action but most of it is cerebral as David matches wits with the other scientists and the military hierarchy. I guessed the reveal at the end quite early on but was gleeful to have the story go the way I thought it would rather than disappointed to have figured it out. Absolutely love David as a character and could absolutely *see* this graphic novel happening in my head as I read it. The artwork is good and done in b/w, which I am a big fan of when used with the right project; it fits here perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Art and story!, December 15, 2012
By 
This review is from: Think Tank (Paperback)
I purchased the book because I am a fan of Rahsan's work. His art sucked me in but the story was great and kept me coming back for more. Can't wait for the next Vols!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what we needed, December 15, 2012
This review is from: Think Tank (Paperback)
This comic is great. It has everything you could want from a new release. Bleeding edge tech exposure, witty dialogue, great art and Matt even manages to make you smarter. If you enjoy a Sci-Fi underdog story about the individual fighting back against "the man." Then this story has what you are looking for with all the nerdy-ness that you can handle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Think Tank
Think Tank by (Comic book writer) Matt Hawkins (Paperback - December 18, 2011)
$14.99 $10.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.