Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scads of Twists and Turns and a Playful Tone
Cass, Max-Ernest and Yo-Yoji are back in another installment of the Secret Series. As oath-bound members of the Terces Society, the trio once again battles Dr. L and Ms. Mauvais, the evil masters of the Midnight Sun who continue their quest to discover the secret of eternal youth.

With Cass, this time it's personal. After learning a secret about herself, she...
Published on November 30, 2009 by KidsReads

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book
I don't think that this book was as good as the rest of the series, but overall, it was a great read. Recommend this book to everyone.
Published 13 months ago by RomanceGirl


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scads of Twists and Turns and a Playful Tone, November 30, 2009
By 
KidsReads (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This Book Is Not Good For You (The Secret Series) (Hardcover)
Cass, Max-Ernest and Yo-Yoji are back in another installment of the Secret Series. As oath-bound members of the Terces Society, the trio once again battles Dr. L and Ms. Mauvais, the evil masters of the Midnight Sun who continue their quest to discover the secret of eternal youth.

With Cass, this time it's personal. After learning a secret about herself, she lashes out at her mother while they are at a cooking class at an exclusive and unusual restaurant. Cass blurts out harsh and hurtful words and then wishes she could take them back. But before Cass can apologize, her mother is kidnapped.

Shortly afterwards, Cass receives a ransom note from the cruel and calculating (and possibly blind) Chef Señor Hugo. To save her mom, Cass has two days to find a magic tuning fork. She must deliver the fork --- which possesses unholy powers --- to Chef Hugo. And she is also instructed to keep her mission a secret from Max-Ernest and Yo-Yoji, but she desperately needs the help of her friends if she is to rescue her mother.

This latest book in the series has the same playful voice and many familiar characters from the first two entries. In addition to Cass's mother and the evil Dr. L and Ms. Mauvais, Larry and Wayne --- Cass's substitute grandfathers --- are back. The Skelton Sisters, Romi and Montana, make cameo appearances, and thankfully the twins are not as annoying as they were in book two. Also returning are circus clowns, a bearded lady and a master of disguise.

THIS BOOK IS NOT GOOD FOR YOU --- which opens up on Chapter 15 --- also features a girl named Simone, locked in a cage because of her superstar talent and superior sense of taste; monkeys on the loose in a Rainbow Rainforest; a smattering of Aztec history; and a bird with special talents and a deadly snake. From adoption to allergies and chocolate to circus performers, Bosch takes the reader on a non-linear path to the book's conclusion. And, by the end, many secrets will be revealed, not only about Cass but also about Ms. Mauvais, including her first name and a glimpse into her childhood --- her very, very long-ago childhood.

With scads of twists and turns and a playful tone, Bosch delivers an important message: families come in assorted varieties, but the best ones are centered in love, no matter how they are structured. Rounding out the reading experience are an appendix, complete with "chocolossary --- a slightly biased glossary of chocolate terminology," several recipes and Max-Ernest's 100 ways to say hello.

THIS BOOK IS NOT GOOD FOR YOU is about a secret society and a dangerous adventure --- and chocolate, lots and lots of chocolate. What's not to like?

--- Reviewed by Donna Volkenannt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome-Sauce Book, November 7, 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: This Book Is Not Good For You (The Secret Series) (Hardcover)
Readers. You are about to enter a journey of your lives. This book is not only funny but suspenseful. It will make you read and read until you parents scream "Go to sleep!" I select this book to everyone but mostly peoples that love adventure books and funny ones. P Bosch has created another beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Deliciously Great", September 13, 2009
Just like the other books, this book will not disappoint you. This book is quite funny and filled with adventure. Though aimed mainly towards children, I think any adult would also agree. <3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 10-year-old loved this book!, October 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Book Is Not Good For You (The Secret Series) (Hardcover)
My 10-year-old daughter absolutely loved this and the other Pseudonomous Bosch books. She couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, very, very fun, October 9, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Book Is Not Good For You (The Secret Series) (Hardcover)
I love these books. They make us (me & my 9-year-old son) laugh out loud. Clever writing. Buying all three would make a great gift and keep a child happily reading for weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best mystery book ever!, November 1, 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: This Book Is Not Good For You (The Secret Series) (Hardcover)
I'm in 4th grade. I like stories with characters that act like they are somebody else and then later transform back into who they are. This book is the best of all the other books in the secret series! The characters act more interestingly. Chapters 29 to 35 are the best, they are so good. One character in these chapters acts really funny. I didn't want the character to change back because he was acting so funny.

There is one mistake in the book. Something is intentionally wrong with the book from pages 157 to 159.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, June 24, 2010
This book is the best! After I read it, I went to find a chocolate bar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, November 21, 2011
This review is from: This Book Is Not Good For You (The Secret Series) (Hardcover)
Imagine your mother being kidnapped by a crazy chef with a big knife collection. Or having three-hundred year old people that can find you wherever you are hunt you down because you may or may not know a secret. The series you want to read now is, The Secret Series by Pseudonymous Bosch. I just finished the third book out of 5 and couldn't put them down. These books are irresistible.
Cass, Max-Ernest, and Yo-Yoji are three kids brought together by a secret, a secret no one knows where to find. The three after brought together join a secret group called the Terces society. Their arch rivals The Midnight Sun, a group of villains, that want to know the secret and they think Cass knows it. In order to do this they hired a chef named Hugo to go and kidnap Cass's mother so Cass would tell them the secret. Blackmail is what The Midnight Sun are doing. The trio has to find a magic Tuning Fork for chef Hugo to make anything he wants, Specifically a piece of chocolate that when the consumer eats it they will tell all their secrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun-filled and a distraction from the everyday!, September 9, 2011
There's a lot of fun in this book and some great humour. It zips along at a good pace and should make you forget about anything that's troubling you in the real world. That's the mark of a really good book for me, so this one delivers. After you've finished it you might not remember it as a truly 'great' work of literature but it's certainly fun to read while it lasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book is Not Good for You, July 7, 2011
Bosch is back with the third installment in the Secret series, and it's a strong return! I still maintain that the first book was the best in the series thus far, but I did enjoy this one more than I enjoyed the second book in the series. The parallels between Bosch's series and Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events are uncanny--both are whimsical and often break the fourth wall, with the author mysteriously inserting themselves into the plot. The book often resorts to using quirky formatting, which makes it all the more enjoyable (and might, in fact, be my favorite thing about these books). The ending definitely leaves you wanting to know more, and I'm excited to get my hands on This Isn't What It Looks Like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

This Book Is Not Good For You (The Secret Series)
This Book Is Not Good For You (The Secret Series) by Pseudonymous Bosch (Hardcover - September 1, 2009)
$17.00
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.