Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now Sale

Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$7.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 28, 2008
This was a wonderful movie. The ending brought tears to my eyes. I do agree, as many reviewers have already posted that this an adult family film. So put those kiddies to bed first. I highly recommend this film for purchase or rental. Enjoy.
0Comment16 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2012
This has become one of my favorite holiday movies.... but to be honest I watch it all of the time.. It doesnt have to be a holiday to enjoy a few hours with the Whitfields..

Loretta Devine - one of my favorite actresses in Hollywood steals every scene she is in..

Who can forget the Baby Oil Shower Scene - (Get your minds out of the gutter..) but let's just say.. Cheaters Beware...

Watching Chris Brown sing This Christmas still gives me goosebumps...

This movie is filled with great actors/actresses - Idris Elba (Need I say more) - Regina King - Delroy Lindo and many more...

If you are looking for an entertaining & heartfelt movie.. Give "THIS CHRISTMAS" a try..
33 comments12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2011
I love this cast for me it made the xmas cut..with my movies
it's a repeater for me and with me that's important at xmas.
it was thought out well.And it's nice to see a black family
enjoy xmas traditions.... love it and chris did well with
donny hathaways song... that's a classic song.jones from NJ 12-8-2011
11 comment14 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2007
This Christmas looked like it was going to pass without any cinematic holiday cheer. Luckily audiences will find a special gift at their local multiplexes from Preston A. Whitmore, a filmmaker whose latest picture comes wrapped up with so much holiday mush that it would be hard for even the biggest scrooge to scowl at its spirited Christmas message

It's the most wonderful time of the year again, and the Whitfield family plans to continue their holiday tradition of bringing the entire clan back home for a few days of presents, good eating and family squabbling. The only problem with This Christmas is that each of the children has brought more than just gifts. Absence without leave, surprise pregnancies, interracial relationships, cheating husbands and angry bookies are just a few of the surprises in store for the family's matriarch, Ma Dear, making it a Christmas that will either tear the Whitfield's apart or bring them closer than they've ever been before.

With This Christmas, Preston A. Whitmore successfully bounced back from his sophomore slump. The choice to "Crossover" into the holiday genre is a big move, though looking at the filmmaker's oeuvre, he seemingly defies categorization. Written with heart, This Christmas isn't just impressive for its well balanced drama and comedy. Its ability to transcend its targeted audience to become a holiday film that can be enjoyed by anyone who has ever experienced family dysfunction makes the picture a refreshing surprise.

With an all-star, African American cast including Delroy Lindo, Loretta Devine, Idris Elba and the lovely Sharon Leal, Screen Gems certainly seems to be pushing the racial factor when marketing This Christmas. While this strategy will probably draw in adequate box-office receipts (See Tyler Perry's success), This Christmas will draw the majority of its fans next Christmas when it finds a wider audience on DVD.

Though many of the family's problems translate to touching and humorous bits of cinema, This Christmas ultimately suffers from one fatal flaw, too much conflict and no easy way out of it. There is so much going on, that the tidiest and most satisfying conclusion seems far too difficult to reach. It also seems that the character of Joe, played by Delroy Lindo, has the answers to everything. Able to pacify everyone from street thugs to the U.S. government in a single night, Joe gives Santa Claus a run for his money on this Christmas Eve.

However plausibility isn't the strong suit of the Whitfield family. There are plenty of nit-picky details audiences will pick up on that could easily take them out of the narrative. While viewers might scoff at bits such as buying the picture-perfect Christmas tree on Christmas Eve, the performances from the actors, tight editing and gorgeous cinematography will help get you through This Christmas.

If filmmakers should write what they know, then Preston A. Whitmore certainly knows Christmas and family far better than war or basketball. A solid holiday outing sure to please any audiences that comes across the film, Whitmore's well executed dramady should resonate far longer than This Christmas.

-Joe Russo
11 comment15 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2007
I did not expect for this movie to be good at all, I can not wait to purchase this the DAY it comes out. I thought the scene where Regina King's character beats her husbands behind was hilarious, so creative! Destroying the SUV was great as well!
0Comment10 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2008
I'm so happy this movie is FINALLY out on dvd. I saw it twice in the theater and fell in love with it. I've always been a Chris Brown fan, and his talent really shines in this movie. This is the type of movie that gives you the warm fuzzy feeling :-)
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 2, 2008
There are parts of this movie that remind me of Soul Food - the daughter with a college education who can't cook to save her life, the daughter who didn't go to college but stayed home; she cooks well, has a husband and children and seems to always put the needs of others before her own. I enjoyed Soul Food, but this movie is much better!
Regina King is a beautiful, talented actress who does well in both dramatic and comedic roles. If you want a good laugh, you have got to see her in this movie! Delroy Lindo is cool no matter what role he plays. Idris Elba is a fine actor who brought depth to the film. Whether he's singing or acting it's obvious that Chris Brown was born to entertain. Loretta Devine, I love her down-to-earth demeanor. She seems like the kind of woman who would invite you into her home, treat you like family and wouldn't let you leave without feeding you; she was perfect for the role she played. Sharon Leal - I used to watch her on Boston Public and I'm so glad that she's on the big screen now. Everyone who acted in this movie did well. This one is worth watching not only at Christmas, but any time of the year!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2009
This is the story of a solidly middle-class African-American family that reunites for Christmas for the first time in seveal years. Ma'dere is the Matriarch who's Los Angeles home is where the vast majority of the story takes place. As with any family gathering there are topics that are best not discussed. When they are discussed here they end up in fights -verbal or physical (an excellent sister-on sister catfight stands out here). One sister is encouraging the siblings to sell the family dry cleaning business and split the profits. One bother is running from loan sharks. One brother is AWOL from the Marine Corps and One sister has brought along the man she's dating at a historically Black college. I really enjoyed this movie, all the casts were magnificent and so beautiful I am looking forward to watching it again. This is a Christmas Movie indeed.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2009
This was an enjoyable but not great movie. All of the actors involved turned in stellar performances. Regina King is one of my favorites and she definitely did not disappoint in this movie. Idris Elba and Columbus Short are so handsome their mere presence made this movie enjoyable to watch.

The family drama, in my opinion, was not plausible. Although it's never really stated, from conversations it appears that Senior, the husband of the matriarch Ma'Dere has been gone for many years. All of her children grew up without him, and are now adults. It just made no sense to me that she'd still be afraid of how they would feel if she divorced him and moved on with her life.

My other issue with this movie was that although it's titled This Christmas, and has lots of Christmas songs playing in the background, Christmas was more of a prop or back-drop for this movie than a major theme. This film could easily take place at Easter, Thanksgiving, or even the 4th of July and nothing about the plot would need to be changed.

But this was an enjoyable movie. It's a great DVD to own and pull out to play around the holidays.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2012
I watch this year round!- There needs to be a sequel. If I had the money, Id make it myself.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.