Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Great Compilation
Judd Apatow's movies all have one thing in common, aside from the comedy: they're earnest and sentimental. The music that Apatow has gotten from THIS IS 40 (like with his previous FUNNY PEOPLE) is a mix of mostly warm, older artists' rock-n-roll. Aside from the opening "Yes, I'm Your Angel" by Yoko Ono, most of these songs are without whimsy or much potential for...
Published on December 28, 2012 by T. A. Daniel

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A practice that bothers me
The album is "buy the whole album" or don't buy anything. I like some of these songs, and there is no reason to force people to buy the ones they don't care about. It's a mixed Cd basically. I can understand an artist putting their entire album for sale as a whole, but this is a collection of very different artists. Want to buy the three Lindsey Buckingham songs...
Published on January 20, 2013 by J. McVie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Great Compilation, December 28, 2012
Judd Apatow's movies all have one thing in common, aside from the comedy: they're earnest and sentimental. The music that Apatow has gotten from THIS IS 40 (like with his previous FUNNY PEOPLE) is a mix of mostly warm, older artists' rock-n-roll. Aside from the opening "Yes, I'm Your Angel" by Yoko Ono, most of these songs are without whimsy or much potential for comedy. For someone just interested in this, that's great: you don't have to put up with some of the silly musical asides that many comedies have. Instead, the THIS IS 40 soundtrack is a pretty good compilation that doesn't require listeners to have watched the movie to get the most of it.

This soundtrack is built from mostly older artists, with the exception of a few tracks (Fiona Apple, Norah Jones, Wilco, Ryan Adams). Accordingly, this compilation will probably appeal more to older fans out there, much like the FUNNY PEOPLE soundtrack. Graham Parker has two songs on this collection, not surprising due to his involvement in the movie's plot, and they are both pretty outstanding. His collaboration with the (always good) Punch Brothers, "What Do You Like?", is worth checking out. The mostly volatile of these songs is Fiona Apple's "Dull Tool," and with the exception of this song, this set of songs will probably put you in a good mood.

If you're looking for a mellow, rock-based album, THIS IS 40 is a pretty good mix of great songs. Plenty of great artists included on this, and perhaps not surprisingly, it works great on its own as a standalone entity. Album highlights: "Live and Die" by the Avett Brothers; "Sick of You" by Lindsey Buckingham; "What Do You Like?" by Graham Parker and Punch Brothers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good new Lindsey Buckinham material, June 15, 2013
This review is from: This Is 40 (Audio CD)
I bought this cd for the three Lindsey Buckinham songs. The best song on this cd is Brother and Sister featuring Norah Jones, it sounds like a song from Tango in the Night. the other two songs sick of you, and she acts like you sound like songs from Say you Will album. If your looking for new Fleetwood Mac music then this is for you. Fleetwood Mac might release a new album, but I don't they will anytime soon. Im happy with this cd I think other people would be also. This is a close to any new Fleetwood Mac album your going to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of good new stuff (along with some good old stuff), January 2, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For a modern soundtrack with big name artists, an amazing number of the 16 cuts are brand new -- and that includes new and pretty darn good songs from Fiona Apple, Norah Jones and Graham Parker. The older cuts by the Avett Brothers, Wilco, et al are also really good if you don't have them already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this!, February 23, 2013
By 
Kat b (Boulder, CO United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great soundtrack! I have thoroughly enjoyed listening to it. The music fit very well in the movie and it definitely works as a CD in an of itself. Fiona Apple's "Dull Tool" is the standout track. I can't get enough of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is 40, June 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this after seeing the movie on cable TV. All the songs are good especially the Ryan Adams and Lindsey Buckingham songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good compilation, but I wasn't initially looking to buy the whole album..., June 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This ended up being a good buy, but at first I was just looking to purchase the Fiona Apple track as it's not available on Spotify or anywhere else for individual purchase. I only bought this album because I had a gift card, but I ended up really liking it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Soundtrack, November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Is 40 (Audio CD)
This is the best soundtrack I've heard since "Garden State." Great artists, strong tracks, very enjoyable from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A practice that bothers me, January 20, 2013
By 
J. McVie "shipreich" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
The album is "buy the whole album" or don't buy anything. I like some of these songs, and there is no reason to force people to buy the ones they don't care about. It's a mixed Cd basically. I can understand an artist putting their entire album for sale as a whole, but this is a collection of very different artists. Want to buy the three Lindsey Buckingham songs? Sorry. You also have to buy Yoko Ono! So instead of getting money from me for three tracks, they get nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite movie soundtracks ever, December 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Is 40 (Audio CD)
One of my favorite movie soundtracks ever! it tells the story of love in its roller coaster form through its music and these artist! Also, wonderful movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album especially for a soundtrack, December 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great songs on this soundtrack. Gives Graham Parker and Lindsey Buckingham a bunch of new fans I bet and I love the new Ryan Adams song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

This Is 40
This Is 40 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.