Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music for the Season
I love this Christmas album. It combines two of my favotrite things: Christmas music and Michael Bolton. What a great combination! I feel that Michael Bolton's voice adds to the emotion of some classic Christmas music.
The version of Ave Maria that he sings with Placido Domingo is by far the best I have heard. There are no words that can describe how I feel...
Published on February 26, 1999

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars for a select audience
Michael Bolton has a pleasant enough voice. Certainly this album will be a big hit with his fan base. It is a pretty good "Top 40" type of album. "Silent Night" starts out as a lovely, melodious ballad, but then Michael starts with vocal theatrics, a la Whitney Houston. It detracts from the carol. "Santa Claus is Coming to Town" is lively. "Have Yourself a merry...
Published on December 18, 2005 by Treigh


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music for the Season, February 26, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: This Is the Time: The Christmas Album (Audio CD)
I love this Christmas album. It combines two of my favotrite things: Christmas music and Michael Bolton. What a great combination! I feel that Michael Bolton's voice adds to the emotion of some classic Christmas music.
The version of Ave Maria that he sings with Placido Domingo is by far the best I have heard. There are no words that can describe how I feel when he sings Joy to the World. When the first words are sung, I am filled with, well, absolute joy! This is the Time is a wonderfully done song and his duet is great. This song really describes the feelings that surround the Christmas season.
Michael Bolton's albums have never disappointed me, and this one is certainly not and exception. Everyone who loves Christmas and Michael Bolton as much as I do should definitely own a copy of this CD!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Att. Michael Bolton lovers!!!!!!!, December 23, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: This Is the Time: The Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Michael has done a wonderful job of putting together this album. His duets with Wynonna and Placido Domingo are great. The version of "Ave Maria" is beautiful if you love opera or not. He show's his vocal power to do arias. This is a great CD to own if you like Micheal Bolton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful music, December 9, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Is the Time: The Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Our family just loves Michael Bolton's Christmas CD. It's not the traditional kind of Christmas music but if you like Bolton's voice as we do you'll enjoy the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great x'mas album!, November 30, 2001
By 
joe (penang, malaysia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This Is the Time: The Christmas Album (Audio CD)
this is just the one that i'm looking for, a good voice with all the classical x'mas melodies.
"silent night" and "santa claus..." r just great coming out from his mouth and u'll be swinging along with him. this is a mixture of slowies and rock x'mas songs, may be it's better for grannies but i think the young people will enjoy it, too cause it's so good and when i hear his voice, the tears just come like that! share ur x'mas with michael bolton! merry x'mas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars for a select audience, December 18, 2005
This review is from: This Is the Time: The Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Michael Bolton has a pleasant enough voice. Certainly this album will be a big hit with his fan base. It is a pretty good "Top 40" type of album. "Silent Night" starts out as a lovely, melodious ballad, but then Michael starts with vocal theatrics, a la Whitney Houston. It detracts from the carol. "Santa Claus is Coming to Town" is lively. "Have Yourself a merry Little Christmas suits Michael's voice perfectly. This is a good match. "Joy to the World" is not. Michael does this gospel-style and wails in the beginning. Then it goes into a rock and roll/gospel version. This does not work with such a traditional carol. It is rather disconcerting. It is interesting that he should attempt a duet with Placido Domingo on "Ave Maria." He actually does a commendable job. While the blend is not perfect, it is acceptable and you actually hear some depth and power in Bolton's voice that he rarely uses. "The Christmas Song" is another tune well suited for Michael's voice. The drums in "O Holy Night" absolutely ruin the piece. If you didn't know the melody or lyrics you would think you were listening to slow dance music. It certainly does not sound "holy." He actually makes "White Christmas" sound more reverential. This seems rather odd. "White christmas" is another tune suited for Michael's voice, proving once again, that he does best on pop tunes. His versions of more sacred songs range from poor to almost terrible, with the exception of the "Ave Maria." I suspect that Placido Domingo would refuse to do a terrible version of that piece. The last two tracks are typical Bolton, but end the album well, as they are well-suited for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Christmas CD`s, December 3, 2004
By 
This review is from: This Is the Time: The Christmas Album (Audio CD)
This Christmas album is one of the best I`ve ever heard. Every year I start the Christmas season listening to it and never get sick of it!!! Mr. Bolton`s talents are once again spread all over this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Wife, she loves it!, June 1, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like Michael Bolton & Christmas, you'll love this. My wife is big Michael Bolton fan and really enjoys this..quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 27, 2014
Excellent love this music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars usual bolton, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Is the Time: The Christmas Album (Audio CD)
nothing new i only ordered because i was looking for the music that was on honda commercials and no not on this album,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Time: the Christmas Album, April 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Beautiful selections of Christmas songs, Michael has been blessed with an exceptional voice which is so easy to listen to at anytime, would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

This Is the Time: The Christmas Album
This Is the Time: The Christmas Album by Michael Bolton (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.