Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Freeing!
This Is Not A Book is much like its predecessor (Wreck This Journal), except that it pushes the boundaries of your comfort zone much further. A handful of exercises exhort you to put yourself forward publicly in one way or another, or to risk losing your copy of the book to the results of an exercise. For example, one exercise encourages you to leave This Is Not A Book...
Published on October 22, 2009 by H. Grove (errantdreams)

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars kinda of a slow book
I just got this book a week ago, its a bit disappointing.i do wish that i bought wreck this journal first.im a very creative person, and this book is meh..its ok..it starts off slow but halfway thru becomes exciting. It has things like leave book somewhere overnight, mail it to someone, and im thinking, what if i dont get it back.,its a ok journal..just needs more...
Published on September 1, 2012 by softkittie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Freeing!, October 22, 2009
This review is from: This Is Not a Book (Paperback)
This Is Not A Book is much like its predecessor (Wreck This Journal), except that it pushes the boundaries of your comfort zone much further. A handful of exercises exhort you to put yourself forward publicly in one way or another, or to risk losing your copy of the book to the results of an exercise. For example, one exercise encourages you to leave This Is Not A Book someplace overnight and see what happens.

Others have less of an element of social or fiscal risk to them. An "Idea Formulation Generator" has you make three separate lists of terms (things found in nature, objects you use every day, and words you like), combine one from each list randomly, and use to come up with an idea for a new concept or product. The pages are filled with images, frames, white space, thought bubbles, and anything else needed to leave room for your experiments. The only problem I found is that there were a few places where the layout neglected to leave a blank page in the right place, resulting in conflicting exercises.

If you just can't get yourself to leave your comfort zone and try wacky things, then Keri Smith's publications (I can't really call this one a book, can I?) are not for you! Or maybe they're aimed particularly at you, because you'll need the most help loosening up. (In that case, try Wreck This Journal first, to get your feet wet.) This Is Not A Book is a great method for forcing yourself to think outside the box, color outside the lines, etc., and that's definitely a boost to creativity!

[Review copy provided by publisher]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great project, June 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Is Not a Book (Paperback)
I bought this book to do with my husband, who just so happens to be my BFF as well, To bring us closer and teach us more about ourselves and each other. Well we just got it today and I gotta tell you it was one of the best things I could have spent my money on. We are already having a blast with it. Which is of course the main goal. We were reading the first task: keep this book with you in full view at all times. And it says in the beginning taht only you can decide how to use this-is not a- book, and only you can interpret the instructions how ever you see them, Well we asked ourselves WHY should we do this task, well to us that instruction is meant so that at any given time when ever we feel inspiration strike or a moment of creativity we can just grab it and get creative on that page. for him that means drawing something for me it means writing down an idea. And yet for somebody else that instruction might have a totally different purpose. So you can see how this book really brings out your creativity and forces you to think, and even will teach you somethings about yourself that maybe you did not know before. If you are going to spend your money on a book I highly recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars kinda of a slow book, September 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Is Not a Book (Paperback)
I just got this book a week ago, its a bit disappointing.i do wish that i bought wreck this journal first.im a very creative person, and this book is meh..its ok..it starts off slow but halfway thru becomes exciting. It has things like leave book somewhere overnight, mail it to someone, and im thinking, what if i dont get it back.,its a ok journal..just needs more creative things..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as fun as Wreck this Jounal, March 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Is Not a Book (Paperback)
I bought this as friends recommended to try it after I had bought "Wreck this Journal". This book seems to have a lot of the same things to do in it and it is not quite as fun. It is nice for passing the time if you don't have anything else to do. I think a teenager would benefit the most from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for 10 year old girl, January 1, 2013
By 
This review is from: This Is Not a Book (Paperback)
Huge hit with the 10 year old recipient!!! Just at the age where perfectionism takes over schoolwork, they get something to muck around with and express themselves!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a lot of fun, February 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Is Not a Book (Paperback)
If you get bored often or just want to create something that might be sentimental to you one day i would recommend getting this. It does ask you to do some pretty crazy stuff but it's fun and before you know it you've got all of your pens and art supplies out doodling away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, January 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Is Not a Book (Paperback)
This book is an intriguing little thing. If you have imagination, then it's perfect. Drawing skills are also a plus, but not necessary. Many activities are physical. The best thing about this book? It's yours, and it will be unique as soon as you begin or end. Not for the weak of spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, December 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Is Not a Book (Paperback)
This book was really really good. It was in great condition and it basically came the next day. I was so excited to use it and guess what? I'm finished with it. I finished it in like 2 days.
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as Good as Wreck This Journal, March 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Is Not a Book (Paperback)
As an artist I can say that this book will definitely get the creative juices flowing, but not in the same way as Wreck This Journal did for me. I found that the tasks in this book were a little more demanding, and WTJ had more fun, well, let's face it, destructive activities to do that just felt freeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and creative, February 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Is Not a Book (Paperback)
I liked this so much that I bought two more for Christmas presents this year. It's full of creative, interesting, often funny things you can do with This-Is-Not-a-Book (instead of reading it). It's not for everyone, but if you have a creative, slightly random streak, you'll love this is not a book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

This Is Not a Book
This Is Not a Book by Keri Smith (Paperback - September 1, 2009)
$15.00 $10.37
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.