Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great School Starter
This is the perfect book for any youngster starting a new school year. It speaks directly to kids and their fears about school. Each kiddo tells what they wish for the new year. Some are funny - a water fountain that dispenses chocolate! Most are rather telling and even poignant - a hope to remember homework, not lose things in your desk, and a hope to make friends...
Published on October 27, 2010 by J. Prather

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay Short Book
We liked this book because it was funny, but we did not like it because there were no main characters or problems to solve. One thing the author did well was include great illustrations. Our favorite parts were the funny wishes. We would recommend this book if you like short books that are funny, but I would not recommend it if you prefer longer books that have more of a...
Published 20 days ago by Sharon Green


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great School Starter, October 27, 2010
This is the perfect book for any youngster starting a new school year. It speaks directly to kids and their fears about school. Each kiddo tells what they wish for the new year. Some are funny - a water fountain that dispenses chocolate! Most are rather telling and even poignant - a hope to remember homework, not lose things in your desk, and a hope to make friends. My personal favorite- I hope we get at least one snow day!

The illustrations are bright and cartoony and add just the right note of whimsy. This would be a great discussion starter to read on the first day of class for anyone from Kindergarten to grade 2. It's great for parents and educators to remember the concerns that kids have at the start of a new year, and this book really seems to sum it up perfectly. A great effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Day Joyful-Jitters Guaranteed!, August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This School Year Will Be the BEST! (Paperback)
Fabulous illustrations and a cleverly created text make this book a wonderful gift for a young student heading back to school. I purchased this for a five-year-old, and it was happily received and frequently enjoyed!

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun first day read aloud, August 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This School Year Will Be the BEST! (Paperback)
I used this as a read aloud with my third graders the first day of school. We followed it up by having them come up with goofy things they wish our class would do (field trip to space, an elephant for the class pet, etc...).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun book for younger students!, November 7, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This School Year Will Be the BEST! (Paperback)
My students LOVED this book!! They thought it was hilarious! I had them do a reading response to this using the header, "This school year will be the best because...." They drew pictures and talked about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way to Jump Start reading and writing, August 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This School Year Will Be the BEST! (Paperback)
Adorable. My class of second-graders loved it. We all wrote about how to make this our best year ever. Wonderful activity for the start of a new tear!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We really enjoyed reading it!, September 19, 2014
This review is from: This School Year Will Be the BEST! (Paperback)
We liked this book because it made us think of our first day of school when we talked about our hopes and dreams. Also, some of the students had funny ideas of what they hoped for the school year. We like books that make us laugh, and this book did just that. One thing the author did well was she tried her best to get the reader to laugh out loud. She did a nice job at providing visuals of what each student hoped for. For example, when one student hoped for a chocolate fountain at lunch, we could actually picture ourselves drinking from a fountain that squirts out chocolate. Another example is, when a student hoped that she wouldn't lose the materials in her desk, we pictured a student’s disorganized desk, immediately. Our favorite part was when the students and the teacher sat around in a circle, just like we did in our classroom. Our favorite character was the teacher because she did exactly what our teacher did on the first day of school. We would recommend this book if you like books about school, that are short, sweet, and funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for the beginning of school year., June 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This School Year Will Be the BEST! (Paperback)
This is a great book to read at the start of a school year. It is fun and excites the students for the next 10 months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, September 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This School Year Will Be the BEST! (Paperback)
This is a GREAT book! My class really enjoyed it! It's a wonderful book to use at the beginning of the school year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book to read at the beginning of a ..., August 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This School Year Will Be the BEST! (Paperback)
Great little book to read at the beginning of a school year. The story line is exciting with all the possible activities that can happen in a school year. The illustrator did a wonderful job helping to bring the story to life. I found the book to be a great source of conversation when talking about what the new school might look like with my 2 1/2 year old granddaughter who attends her preschool program three days a week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Okay Short Book, September 2, 2014
This review is from: This School Year Will Be the BEST! (Paperback)
We liked this book because it was funny, but we did not like it because there were no main characters or problems to solve. One thing the author did well was include great illustrations. Our favorite parts were the funny wishes. We would recommend this book if you like short books that are funny, but I would not recommend it if you prefer longer books that have more of a story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

This School Year Will Be the BEST!
This School Year Will Be the BEST! by Kay Winters (Paperback - July 11, 2013)
$6.99 $6.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.