Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$20.31+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 13, 2011
A good introduction to the fairly new field of "Service Design", this book is more a less a motivation to start doing things. Through interesting case studies and short articles by various contributors, many aspects of Service Design are brought forward, followed up by a section dedicated to the tools service designers use within their profession.

Especially this section makes the book valuable to me as it presents in print an overview of many methods and tools that may be encountered 'in the wild' during projects, all laid out in the book in such a way that it is easy to use them on-site during sessions or meetings.

I think that for the academic reader the book will perhaps not dive deep enough into the discourse about the value and meaning of Service Design (and Design Thinking), but I definitely recommend this book to people that are working within the field or are interested in the subject. The practical and concise approach stimulates the reader to apply the mentioned tools within own projects and use the case studies to get inspiration.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2011
If you're like me, you have a mini-library of those user experience books that are most meaningful to you. I've recently finished reading what is now the latest addition to my own professional mini-library: This Is Service Design Thinking, by Marc Stickdorn, Jakob Schneider, and numerous collaborators and co-authors. This book is likely to become the quintessential service design textbook for students, educators, and professionals alike.

The book covers a non-definition definition of service design, explaining that it's really the successful amalgamation of various fields (including but not limited to interaction, product and graphic design and operations management). It is quite refreshing to see the lack of a solid statement for what service design is as we designers tend to belabor definitions of our disciplines and sub-disciplines to a fault.

The authors then proceed to explain a framework for what service design is through 5 principles. As an advocate for simplicity, I'd further coalesce the five principles that the book presents. Service design places importance on

1) people--both customers and service providers
2) participatory, ethnographic processes and approaches
3) tangible, visualized design artifacts

The remainder of This Is Service Design Thinking covers the following topics in discreet sections:

- Who are service designers?
- What is the process that service designers follow?
- What are examples of tangible deliverables, tools, and case studies that result from the service design process?

The content, visuals, layout, flow and overall book design are incredibly effective and actionable and I'd recommend it to anyone in the field of design who is interested in exploring how the service economy will intersect with the work you do.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2015
Service Design Thinking is an emerging field that recognizes that the product design principles need counterparts in designing services for customers that are user centric; that are delightful, pleasurable, usable all the while serving utility to the customer.

Understanding the value and the nature of relationships between people, organizations is central to designing services. Viewing your service through the customers’ eyes, and designing the experience to be consistent for the customer is the essence of service design thinking.

Service Design methods and tools are ways for a business to gain a comprehensive, empathic understanding of customer needs. Service Design as a practice at consulting firms results in design of systems and processes aimed at providing a holistic service to the user.

The best part of this book I liked is the set of cases discussed in the last section of the book. Includes service design projects in Europe by consulting firms of government institutions, a hospital, a bank among others. The cases explain the client’s context, the specific service design problem being tackled, and make references to the methods and tools that were used in solving the problem. For example:

- using a emotional customer journey map while designing for a new service offering at a bank, to understand what are people really trying to achieve, how, and what do they use. What are they experiencing and feeling while trying to reach the desired outcomes.
- using priority grids to identify issues that can be solved quickly with little effort and highest impact on customer creation at a hospital

The other sections of the book cover the principles of Service Design, the participants (product designers, interaction designers, graphic designers, social designers, strategists, operational managers, design ethnographers ) and the principles of service design.

The section on the tools for service design falls short. It lists all the popular design techniques – stakeholder maps, customer journey maps, personas, storyboards etc and few I haven’t been exposed to before. The explanations and examples are not adequate though. I have seen other books cover the methods and tools much more comprehensively.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2016
I heard about service design back in Italy. I actually didn't understand what it meant. For me, it was marketing. It was design thinking. It was "smoke". However, I kept this book under the radar for later reading. It took a week to finish this book, according to several websites, one of the fundamental documents on service Design.

Now the definition is clearer and more real in my head.

The book is simple and goes straight to the point:
- Introduction and Context
- Toolbox (the most interesting part)
- Business cases (unfortunately, most of the solutions are too old and outdated)
- Essays

Don't feel like I know service design after reading this book, however, I can see where to use it and how I can include this tools into my very own (and eclectic) toolbox.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2014
Really just a catalog of (albeit very cool) practices, doesn't really hang together well. Wanted more of a framework than what as presented
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
This book provides a really good overview of a lot of techniques and skills involved in service design. Even better, the design of the book itself is simply stunning. There was a lot of thought put into how to organize this book and the information design. I've never enjoyed just flipping through pages or finding a section as much as I have with this book.

Whether you're buying this for yourself or for someone you know, if you're interested in service design specifically or just design in general, you will find something to love in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2012
A book that make a union between a business thinking with creative thinking, using service design like glue. There is examples, articles inside that boost your thoughts about business and where you could to improve your service and your vision about how do you provides your service.

The book itself can make you think about 'how you could to design better services' and it provides tools, thoughts and practice examples that help you collaboratively or alone, to look with empathic eyes for your customer. Highly Recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2016
This book has 3 clear sections that do a credible job of explaining Service Design and the thinking that goes into it supported by the views of many experts in the business.

The section on service design tools is valuable in its own right. I found the introduction a little lightweight and would have preferred more substance in terms of service dominant vs product dominant logic and why service design is now so prevalent.

The last section with a few essays on the future was interesting and I wish that there had been more of this section.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2016
I cannot recommend this book. It's extremely abstract and theoretical, and could have been produced by academics in lab coats. Anyone familiar with the former generation of waterfall software requirements will spot the heavy hand of categorization and overly rigid organization a mile away.

We don't need a book that invents new defined terms for obvious parts of design (like "Idea Generation").

What is needed is less talk about what service design thinking is (this term is used so many times over and over it becomes meaningless), and more concrete examples of what successful design is written by the people doing it.

Save the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2012
I like to do the right things but also try to do them right. This book helps conceptualizing some simple techniques in ways that can bring new results. Sometimes the simples questions are the ones we never ask ourselves and our assumptions swamp the path of effectiveness by obstructing the real goals with red-tapes and conventional thinking. This book helps regaining the centre of the purpose. It helps understanding that every piece of the service is improvable.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse