Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shedding the MR. BIGG persona.
I don't dissect music. I treat music like I treat my movies. That being the case, I totally love this cd! I feel that, by leaving the Mr. Bigg persona behind, he has found music that is mellow and soothing, as well as being sexy and sensual, all at the same time. I listened to this disc 3 times and I loved it as much as I did the spin before. It's so hard to believe...
Published 11 months ago by D. Baker

versus
19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ron's Still Got It Even If The Production Fails Him
THIS SONG IS FOR YOU has Ronald Isley sounding his romantic best. However, the mechanical production and unnecessary guest appearances by Kem and Trey Songz drag this album down somewhat. The best songs on this album are the romantic "Dinner and A Movie," the Al Green meets Marvin Gaye title tune (which at 3:04 is too brief), "Make Love To Your Soul," "The Boss" and...
Published 12 months ago by John L. Hughes, Jr.


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shedding the MR. BIGG persona., August 11, 2013
This review is from: This Song Is for You (Audio CD)
I don't dissect music. I treat music like I treat my movies. That being the case, I totally love this cd! I feel that, by leaving the Mr. Bigg persona behind, he has found music that is mellow and soothing, as well as being sexy and sensual, all at the same time. I listened to this disc 3 times and I loved it as much as I did the spin before. It's so hard to believe that this 72 year old man can bring it, but with his legacy being a member of the famous Isley Brothers, you can tell by this cd that he didn't leave his past of beautiful music behind. He brought the sounds with him, and I, for one, am so glad that he was still able to do the thang. GO RONALD!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ron's Still Got It Even If The Production Fails Him, July 16, 2013
This review is from: This Song Is for You (Audio CD)
THIS SONG IS FOR YOU has Ronald Isley sounding his romantic best. However, the mechanical production and unnecessary guest appearances by Kem and Trey Songz drag this album down somewhat. The best songs on this album are the romantic "Dinner and A Movie," the Al Green meets Marvin Gaye title tune (which at 3:04 is too brief), "Make Love To Your Soul," "The Boss" and "Reunion". Really didn't need another "Between The Sheets" sample on "Another Night" and the Victoria's Secret reference on "Bed Time" is about as sexy as the local weather forecast. A variety of styles could have been used on this romantic album to avoid the sameness in the songs like reggae, salsa, Brazilian or Caribbean. In summary, THIS SONG IS FOR YOU sounds more like a set of demos rather than a complete album. Perhaps Ron should hook up with producer George Duke for his next solo project. Duke would keep Ronald's romantic nature intact while providing him with interesting and diverse arrangements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Song's For You (MP3 Music)
True RnB at it's finest. Love his voice, lyrics and arrangements. Bringing it back and loving every single. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Isley is still great!, August 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Song Is for You (Audio CD)
Ronald Isley is still great!! His singing is So Smooth and so easy on the ears, as usual. Great listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back to Isleyland, July 19, 2013
This review is from: This Song Is for You (Audio CD)
I must say Mr. Isley delivers another gem as his career continues on and the isley brothers never get old for the young and old. That being said this is a classic R&B record and is definitely worth a spin in your record player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, July 18, 2013
This review is from: This Song's For You (MP3 Music)
This is a good album. ron isley is one of the best to ever do it & most definitely the best R&B album i heard all year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cd, July 17, 2013
This review is from: This Song Is for You (Audio CD)
Mr. Isley did his thing all the songs are sexy smooth and are for the special nights with that special someone....baby making music at its best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Skool Can always Hit The Bulleye, July 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Song Is for You (Audio CD)
This Song for You by Ron Isley, is just another one of his fantastic showing of his writing and producing ability. I love every song on CD(Album for old school). Still trying to pick my favorite piece. Each one the words are special for me, takes me there, reminds me of.... oh man does it. Way to go brother Isley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the voice is their, however the Production is soggy, August 6, 2013
This review is from: This Song Is for You (Audio CD)
Ronald Isley vocally is still as sharp as all get up, however doing a duet with a Broke Al Jarreau in Kem slows the album way down and the same goes when ROnald is singing with a Broke R.Kelly in Trey Songz. ROnald Isley needs to have the right Producer to keep the right hits and compliment his thing the right way and not water him down. the Production here bogs things way down and alot of this album sounds like 2nd and 3rd tier re threads of better material, the saving grace is Mr. Biggs voice.i hope Him and R.kelly set it off again because he deserves that challenge again and not being stuck with some sleepy time Productions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BlackAmarillo.com Review, July 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Song's For You (MP3 Music)
Ronald Isley has released his 2nd solo project "This Song Is For You" (without the associated tag "The Isley Brothers")

This 13 song project features the hit song "Dinner and A Movie" with special guests Kem on "My Favorite Thing" and Trey Songz on "Lay You Down"

My personal favorites are "The Boss", "He Won't Ever Love You", "Better or Worse" other notable mentions "Dinner and A Movie", "My Favorite Thing", "Bed Time" & "Lay You Down"

"This Song Is For You" is a good project but unfortunately I don't hear any songs that are close to being called CLASSICS!

Let's face it Ron Isley is 72 yrs old, 50 years in the music game as the lead singer of the legendary R&B group "The Isley Brothers" with classic gems like "Do Your Thing", "For The Love Of You", Who's That Lady", "Footsteps In The Dark", "Don't Say Goodnight", "Between The Sheets", etc and from someone who is no doubt an R&B legend his 2 solo projects ("Mr. I" & "This Song Is For You") has fell short of high expectations although the songs are good but nothing overly captivating that I haven't already heard before.

Not quite sure what Ron Isley has going but it appears that his producer(s) are writing songs that is putting him in the same company as new school R&B artists like Trey Songz, Avant, Tank, etc and in my opinion the bar should be set much higher when working with a legend like Ronald Isley.

R. Kelly didn't produce any tracks on this project and knowing that R. Kelly was responsible for reinventing Ron Isley's career and gave him the "Mr. Biggs" character which made him appeal to a much younger audience. It's good to see the likes of a Ronald Isley or a Charlie Wilson appealing to younger and older audiences but at the end of the day it's ALL ABOUT THE MUSIC and "This Song Is For You" is just another good listening project but that's all the kudos I can give.

3 1/2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

This Song Is for You
This Song Is for You by Ronald Isley (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.