Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Waylon Classic--Essential!
Buddah's outstanding reissue program has put another sorely missed (and sorely needed) record back into circulation.
For several reasons, "This Time", originally issued on LP in 1974, stands as a landmark in the "outlaw" (now alt.country) movement in country music. The first Waylon album to be recorded outside of RCA-owned studios since 1964,...
Published on October 18, 1999 by Patrick Moore

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a more layed back acoustic waylon
I got this original record in 1981 so it had been around for awhile. But I myself had only been into Waylons music a couple of years. It seems to me this is more layed back then a lot of his other stuff. It's produced by Willlie Nelson and there is an acoustic feel about it. The title song This Time was Waylon's first number one song. Which I didn't know at the time...
Published 15 months ago by john thomas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Waylon Classic--Essential!, October 18, 1999
This review is from: This Time (Audio CD)
Buddah's outstanding reissue program has put another sorely missed (and sorely needed) record back into circulation.
For several reasons, "This Time", originally issued on LP in 1974, stands as a landmark in the "outlaw" (now alt.country) movement in country music. The first Waylon album to be recorded outside of RCA-owned studios since 1964, it was originally declined for release on the grounds that, because it was not recorded in RCA studios and no RCA engineers were used, it violated the contract AFTRA had with RCA. Waylon held firm, and the record was released. Another reason was that then-producer Danny Davis rejected the title song five years earlier. That very song became Waylon's first #1 record (Billboard, 1974). The album that almost wasn't rose to #4 in the summer of 1974.
So, how about the music? The music has held up well. The CD was mastered from the album masters, so it is a bit top-heavy on the treble. But the bass is very present, especially on songs like "Louisiana Women" and "This Time".
The five bonus tracks are a real treat. Three of the tracks, "That'll Be The Day", "If You're Goin, Girl", and "It Doesn't Matter Anymore", have never been heard by the public. The other two are previously unreleased alternate versions of previously available tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Waylon Jennings sound, March 13, 2000
This review is from: This Time (Audio CD)
A classic album from Waylon. No one can sing like this, and it stands to remind us how unique he really is among fellow artists. A great surprise are the tracks with Waylon and The Crickets, produced by rock and roll guitar legend Duane Eddy. I had heard about these for years, and now they finally surface. These are not alternate takes, as someone noted in an earlier review. These are the original versions, cut in 1974 at RCA studios in Hollywood. Unfortunately, the project was cut short and we are left with these five tracks, but we'll take 'em gladly. Buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A High Water Mark That Stands Today, November 27, 2000
This review is from: This Time (Audio CD)
This album is infused with Willie Nelson's sensibility , writing and production. But make no mistake, this all Waylon, singing real and modern western songs at a level that no one has reached since. Recorded in 1974, just before the "Outlaw" lable was to take hold, this album sets a high water mark that still has not been reached in today's recordings. The sound is pristine. The song selection is what really makes this a great recording. It miness modern western themes much like the early writing of Larry McMurtry.Each song is personal yet universal. Waylon's voice moves deeply and passionately thru the western terrains calling up old cowboy songs, coyote wilderness, and a lamentation for what has been lost. The singing can not be matched.The additional five CD recordings added to this compilation detract from the original album, coming from different recording periods and would have been better placed on recordings from those sessions. Still this is a five star collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Start of Something Big, October 28, 2006
By 
Paul W. Dennis (Winter Springs, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Time (Audio CD)
THIS TIME was an excellent album that pointed the way to bigger and better things for Waylon, The title tune "This Time" was the first Waylon tune to hit #1 on the Billboard Country charts ("The Taker hit #1 on the Cashbox charts in 1970). The title tune was the only chart hit on the album but "Pick Up The Tempo" and "Louisiana Woman" were part of his live show for years, and "Slow Movin' Outlaw" could have been his theme song. The five bonus cuts don't really fit the rest of the album as far as the general sound of the album, but I for one am glad to have them.

Three of the tracks are Waylon's tribute to his first producer and former boss Buddy Holly. Waylon's take on Holly's "That'll Be The Day" is very different from Holly's version in tempo and feel with Waylon having altered the lyrics slightly to make it more of a brag than the original. "It Doesn't Matter Anymore" again is a bit more resigned than Holly's recording. The third Holly track is a medley of "Well All Right" / "It's So Easy" / "Maybe Baby" / "Peggy Sue".

Great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, June 5, 2014
By 
Janet Marshall (HESPERIA, MI, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Time (Audio CD)
Anything by Waylon is great. I have everything from 8 tracks to cassettes and now cd's. Love him, everyone should have this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Take Some Time for "This Time", June 14, 2013
By 
Robert Driskell "RDrisk5150" (Oklahoma City, OK United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Time (MP3 Music)
I've been catching up on Waylon Jennings for the past few months. I had heard all his hits, but never really listened to much of his other music. I must say that I am pleasantly surprised, and impressed, with the music I am hearing from him. Whether it be his early recordings or anything else throughout his long musical career, you can rest assured that you will not be shortchanged when you buy Waylon's music. I only wish I had appreciated his talent while he was still with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a more layed back acoustic waylon, June 1, 2013
This review is from: This Time (Audio CD)
I got this original record in 1981 so it had been around for awhile. But I myself had only been into Waylons music a couple of years. It seems to me this is more layed back then a lot of his other stuff. It's produced by Willlie Nelson and there is an acoustic feel about it. The title song This Time was Waylon's first number one song. Which I didn't know at the time. I thought it was Only Daddy That'll Walk The Line. Pick Up The Tempo is my favorite song on the cd. It is a Willie song and shows their sense of humor. And the bonus songs have an excellent Buddy Holly medley. Overall a good cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Waylons Best!, March 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Time (Audio CD)
Excellent early Waylon album! Almost perfect tempo all through it! I listen to it almost daily as I work on the internet!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waylon and willie., February 18, 2013
By 
J. Robson (Middleton, WI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Time (Audio CD)
This is a good one. Waylon and Willie together for the first time. I don't know how I missed this one with the number of CD's I have from these two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waylon Jennings, Brilliant, November 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This Time (Audio CD)
Here is a brilliant and versatile artist that I believe is better than J.Cash, or W. Nelson but for some reason didn't get the accolades deserved of his talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

This Time
This Time by Waylon Jennings
Buy MP3 Album$9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.