Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flaming Edmund Burke
This pint size book provides some interesting commentary on the writings of Thomas Paine. Although it is also a mini biography, it is foremost a tale of the verbal battle between Paine and Edmund Burke who wrote a criticism of the French revolution entitled "Reflections on the Revolution in France."

Paine always spoke his mind. His fiery remarks helped spark...
Published on September 1, 2007 by Bucherwurm

versus
13 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hitchens injects too many of his own views instead of concentrating on Thomas Paine
I read the first third of the book but then grew tired of it. Its a good book when he focuses on Thomas Paine, but Hitchens can not resist injecting his own views and biases into the book.

When Christopher Hitchens agrees with Thomas Paine he calls him a "free thinker". Which unsurprisingly used today as an euphemism for atheism. The author then criticizes...
Published on April 27, 2009 by Davidmesaaaz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise and insightful (and beautifully written), February 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think Christopher Hitchens is one of the recent masters of clear and concise English prose, delivered with consistent style and flair, and reflecting the insights of one of the brightest minds of our generation. Thomas Paine and Thomas Jefferson were among his heroes, and in this book, Hitchens paints of vibrant picture of Paine's contributions to public discourse in the time leading up to the American and French revolutions. It's a joy to read, and like all of Hitchens, informative and provocative in the best possible way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anyone who knows, July 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Christopher Hitchens debating skills have seldom been excelled. Doesn't matter much if you are in acord with his politics, I certainly wasn't in many cases but few reporters of his vintage got it as right as he did on a wide range of issues. Sorely missed & damn that disease that took him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The late and great Hitch disecting Thomas Paine, January 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A masterful short exposé of the life and work of Thomas Paine. Thomas Paine is often not appreciated as one of the great intellects and influences to democracy and human freedom. The late and great Christopher Hitchens helps make the case on why we should appreciate the life and work of the great Thomas Paine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect companion to Paines "Rights of Man" Read it first if you can., June 16, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thinking of how this book was bought to provide insight and detail for my reading of Thomas Paine's Collected works, I must admit the first few pages only sent me into Paine at an even more furious pace. I should be reviewing this book before the collected works but as it ended up I only just finished it months after reading much of Paine's works. Save the Rights of Man until you read this, I found what I was looking for and more in the manner that only Hitchen's can express it.Great notes on why and towards whom the Rights of man is directed and how it remains relevant today. Will greatly enhance your reading experience even if it could easily have been twice as long.Hitchen's is a master who understands Paine and brings to light things the casual reader may miss. Remember read it first because if you have never REALLY read Paine once you start you will not be able to put him down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little book on Paine, May 9, 2014
By 
JohnL (Research Triangle Park North Carolina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
after hearing a youtube interview with Hitch about Paine, this was a must-buy. great compliment to his book on Jefferson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, January 24, 2014
By 
Philip I. Kyson (Queensland, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas Paine's Rights of Man: A Biography (Books That Changed the World) (Hardcover)
Once again all anybody can say about this man's writing is excellent.
Thomas Paine hasn't yet received to the true recognition of his impacted on the rights of Man.
Hitchens goes a little way to rectify this puzzling issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT WRITING ABOUT A GREAT AMERICAN, September 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hitchen's love and respect for the core American values expressed in the Rights Of Man is clearly and eloquently expressed.
From the Declaration to the original US Constitution to the Amendments that codified and expanded our humanity, it makes me proud to be an American.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute pleasure of language and thinking, October 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hutchins immense knowledge and surgical intelligence are on full display here, giving one of history's famous but not truly known figures his due. Thomas Paine lived the demand for freedom -- a daring gadfly in England, an indispensable catalyst in America, a celebrated hero in France who then fell afoul of the Terror and spent two years in prison. He fell out with Jefferson over slavery not being abolished in the Constitution, then was abandoned by everyone else when he ultimately wrote a rationalist critique of all religion. A hero for our times -- somebody should make a movie....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love history, June 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A man is shaped by his times. Hitchens explains to us how the times in which Thomas Paine lived shaped him and how he, in turn, shaped his time. I never fully understood the impact of Paine not only on America's democratic foundation, but also on those of France and England. This is an excellent study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, May 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas Paine's Rights of Man: A Biography (Books That Changed the World) (Hardcover)
An amazingly well-written book by one of the modern day masters of writing. I truly enjoyed this book and will be reading many more by Christopher Hitchens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Thomas Paine's Rights of Man: A Biography (Books That Changed the World)
Thomas Paine's Rights of Man: A Biography (Books That Changed the World) by Christopher Hitchens (Hardcover - July 23, 2007)
Used & New from: $5.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.