Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for Thomas fans.
Rocky's magnet is strong enough to pick up the smaller trains so your child can be part of the rescue operations. All the pieces it comes with (including the search light) are also magnetic so, Rocky can pick them up too. My child has lots of fun with this item. Because there are magnets, parents of small children or of children who put just about anything in their...
Published on September 21, 2012 by NeenaJ

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HERE COMES ROCKY WITH HIS SEARCH LIGHT!
Rocky's a favorite of our grandson, but this description says he comes with 3 cargo cars... he doesn't --- he comes with one cargo car, and the other two items are his special train beds that support his large crane arm, which come with the sold-separately Rocky (with a $14 MSRP). The only thing extra in this "4 pack" is a blue (plastic) cargo car with a red base, pretty...
Published on December 22, 2011 by Grandma Zizzy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HERE COMES ROCKY WITH HIS SEARCH LIGHT!, December 22, 2011
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas the Train: Take-n-Play Rocky Search and Rescue (Toy)
Rocky's a favorite of our grandson, but this description says he comes with 3 cargo cars... he doesn't --- he comes with one cargo car, and the other two items are his special train beds that support his large crane arm, which come with the sold-separately Rocky (with a $14 MSRP). The only thing extra in this "4 pack" is a blue (plastic) cargo car with a red base, pretty non-descript, but carrying a search light with the "S.S.R.C." (Sodor Search & Rescue Centre") logo. Rocky's Search & Rescue first appeared on Take-n-Play's 2011 Collectors Checklist, and we paid $18.99 for our grandson's. (Update: Fisher-Price's summer 2013 MSRP is $18. Our grandson already had the Rocky we'd purchased separately, so this is one of the few themed packs that were a little disappointing to us. We don't think that a plastic rail car & the search light are worth the $4 difference in MSRP. But he just REALLY, REALLY wanted that daggoned search light, so we went ahead anyway! ;-)

Update: We've really enjoyed collecting all of the 4 packs, especially those with extra designing on the trains! If you're interested in starting your own collection, there are 19 of them as of summer 2013, and they are (in order of introduction): Gordon's Snowy Special, Spencer's Heavy Haul, Edward & the Jobi Tree, Thomas & the Bees, Percy Hard at Work, Emily Stuck in the Brush, James' Muddy Mess, Hank & the Fishing Cars, Salty's Catch of the Day, James' Ice Cream Express, Percy & Kevin to the Rescue, Surprise Surprise at the Steamworks, Tree Trouble at the Dieselworks, Rocky's Search & Rescue, Thomas Hard at Work, Talking Thomas & Percy Hard at Work, Thomas at the Fair, Muddy Ferdinand, and Tales from the Past Engine Pack.

A little of our own "Thomas" history... As first time grandparents, my husband and I wanted to start some type of collection for our grandson that he could possibly pass along to his own kids one day. Our grandson was 2 1/2 at the time, and had been talking a lot about a certain train named Thomas (a little fella whom - now hard to believe! - we'd never heard of.) After doing some research, it seemed the Take-n-Play line might be the perfect investment to engage and encourage his active imagination, as well as provide a fun way for us to interact with him. What a rewarding decision... we've had SO much fun together with this quality line of trains, vehicles and playsets! As he approaches 4, a large portion of our basement has become a wonderful Sodor land of make believe that we all enjoy visiting - and continues to hold his interest, which is quite a feat given the tendency at that age to move in and out of toy phases so quickly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for Thomas fans., September 21, 2012
By 
NeenaJ (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas the Train: Take-n-Play Rocky Search and Rescue (Toy)
Rocky's magnet is strong enough to pick up the smaller trains so your child can be part of the rescue operations. All the pieces it comes with (including the search light) are also magnetic so, Rocky can pick them up too. My child has lots of fun with this item. Because there are magnets, parents of small children or of children who put just about anything in their mouth should use caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Service., April 30, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas the Train: Take-n-Play Rocky Search and Rescue (Toy)
We could no longer find this product in the UK in a new condition and was something that we had been searching for over a period of time. The cost to buy and ship proved excellent value having finally tracked down a new one and ensured a very happy son when the toy arrived early!
As with all Take and Play sets, they are extremely durable and can stand up to the continuous play that this Rocky has been subjected to since his arrival!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pricey for an engine, but cute., May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas the Train: Take-n-Play Rocky Search and Rescue (Toy)
My son loves all of the engines, but I thought the price of this was a bit high for what you get. It doesn't light up or talk, but it is cute, and will pick up other magnetic toys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Son Was Very Happy, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas the Train: Take-n-Play Rocky Search and Rescue (Toy)
My son asked for Rocky and Harvey for his third birthday, so imagine my surprise to discover that Rocky was almost impossible to find. We were extremely pleased with the quick shipment of this item that arrived in its brand new box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rocky, October 16, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas the Train: Take-n-Play Rocky Search and Rescue (Toy)
very good my grandson loves it.fits in with all his other thomas take-n-play toys,and he's happy for hours of play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thomas the Train, December 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas the Train: Take-n-Play Rocky Search and Rescue (Toy)
No store had this train. So, I was happy to be able to order this through Amozon. Again this was for my grandson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves this Rocky and it's 1/3 the price of anywhere else!, December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas the Train: Take-n-Play Rocky Search and Rescue (Toy)
My son had been begging for a Rocky for almost a year. They don't seem to be available anywhere in store. I checked on ebay first, and buyers were saying the product had been discontinued. People were bidding upwards of $150! Great product, especially for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas the Train: Take-n-Play Rocky Search and Rescue (Toy)
Excellent product, received on exact date ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas the Train: Take-n-Play Rocky Search and Rescue (Toy)
Rocky is a great toy for an Thomas fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Thomas the Train: Take-n-Play Rocky Search and Rescue
$48.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.