Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My son loves it. . . It's "Thomas Quality"
Had to return the first one sent; wouldn't shut off, but Amazon corrected the issue VERY quickly. My son is very happy with it now. Runs like the others I've purchased. These (two set) cars do not come apart though (Gordon is the same way). They are permanently connected; I don't recall reading that in the description. A lot of the others can actually be separated from...
Published on April 26, 2010 by BoeshieOno

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Coupler and wire breaks, ruins toy
I love the Trackmaster toys as an alternative to wooden railways that are more expensive, less detailed and not as suitable for power. However, the design flaws and poor quality coming from Fisher Price need improvement. In the case of the tender locomotives, the battery is carried in the tender and the motor is in the locomotive. Only a thin plastic coupler holds them...
Published on December 19, 2010 by Ben


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Coupler and wire breaks, ruins toy, December 19, 2010
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Thomas the Train: TrackMaster James (Toy)
I love the Trackmaster toys as an alternative to wooden railways that are more expensive, less detailed and not as suitable for power. However, the design flaws and poor quality coming from Fisher Price need improvement. In the case of the tender locomotives, the battery is carried in the tender and the motor is in the locomotive. Only a thin plastic coupler holds them together and an electrical wire between the two will break when the coupler fails. It's short and difficult to splice. The result is a ruined toy simply because the child carries the locomotive around by holding one segment or the other. My boys have a cousin with virtually every Trackmaster locomotive. Most of the tender locs have broken couplers. Fisher Price needs to fix this so the battery is in the engine and the tender can decouple without breaking the toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wires from "coal car" broke, August 14, 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas the Train: TrackMaster James (Toy)
The wires that lead from the coal car to the train broke after about one month of play. I had to take James to the "steam works" and solder in a new wire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars James, January 17, 2012
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas the Train: TrackMaster James (Toy)
We love James and play with him every day. The battery compartment is unreliable, though. The battery must stay suspended in the slot, and any time its banged or dropped(with kids, it will be often) the battery dislodges and we have to open him up to fix it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My son loves it. . . It's "Thomas Quality", April 26, 2010
By 
BoeshieOno (Bel Air, MD USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas the Train: TrackMaster James (Toy)
Had to return the first one sent; wouldn't shut off, but Amazon corrected the issue VERY quickly. My son is very happy with it now. Runs like the others I've purchased. These (two set) cars do not come apart though (Gordon is the same way). They are permanently connected; I don't recall reading that in the description. A lot of the others can actually be separated from each other. More train cars can be attached to it though. For the most part, good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another one of my sons's favourites, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas the Train: TrackMaster James (Toy)
This version is not the talking version, but it is lighter (and probably faster) as it only takes 1 AA battery. The linkage to the coal tender is also a standard linkage, so it means that the coal tender can be removed, and the train should also be less likely to break (there are no wires between the two parts of the train).
All in all, a nice train, which is one of my son's favorites, and capable of pulling many trucks.

Update: I have noticed that some reviewers complain about the wire in the coupling being broken. It seems that Amazon here is the problem. There is obviously more than one version available for sale. Which one you get seems to be pot luck! Our train has a single AA battery in the engine, and not in the tender. Ours is like the photo which shows the white switch on the engine not the tender!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun, October 8, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Thomas the Train: TrackMaster James (Toy)
This was the second engine my daughter picked after Thomas, of course, and she adored it. He has definitely stood the test of lots of playtime and still runs well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It comes with a detachable caboose!, May 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas the Train: TrackMaster James (Toy)
There is nothing funnier than having your toddler say caboose... maybe it's just me...

Good quality, withstands toddler abuse.

It is battery operated! If you have multiple TrackMaster items I would suggest rechargeable batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James the Train, May 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas the Train: TrackMaster James (Toy)
Love these trains. I have a collation at my house. A favorite toy for all the kids that visit my house. They have tracks that are easy to use and they also run on the floor, even some rugs. Kids love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality toy, January 28, 2014
By 
Limar (Tucson, AZ) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas the Train: TrackMaster James (Toy)
I bought it for my son and it is good quality toy. Highly recommend it for anyone who want to make happy their kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great find, July 18, 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thomas the Train: TrackMaster James (Toy)
My son had been looking for a "big James" since he already had him in the smaller wood version. It was tough to find, so we were really happy to find this. The plastic of course isn't as durable as the wood, but he loves that they are so much bigger and still fit on the same track system. I myself, don't mind the fact that they are more affordable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Thomas the Train: TrackMaster James
$22.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.