Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad.
I enjoyed the comic Thor, Son of Asgard and this animated movie followed the comic fairly well. It is an entertaining movie that has some great art. If you can sit down and enjoy a story without picking at the faults every chance you get, buy it. I will wait for it to reach the below $10 range but I don't think anyone would be dissapointed in this if they like the...
Published on May 21, 2011 by Christian Smith

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Like The Cover at All
I am a sucker for Marvel or DC animated movies. I buy them all. Sometimes I strike out. I hit a grounder with this purchase. I'll be brief. This movie is OKAY, but the cover leads you on, a lot.

Thor and Loki are very young in this, making the film feel like it was directed at kids. The action is sub par, and the animation is not up to movie quality...
Published on March 28, 2012 by The Man With No Name


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Like The Cover at All, March 28, 2012
This review is from: Thor: Tales of Asgard (DVD)
I am a sucker for Marvel or DC animated movies. I buy them all. Sometimes I strike out. I hit a grounder with this purchase. I'll be brief. This movie is OKAY, but the cover leads you on, a lot.

Thor and Loki are very young in this, making the film feel like it was directed at kids. The action is sub par, and the animation is not up to movie quality levels. This looks like a cartoon series on Disney XD or something.

Kids will like this probably... Adult Marvel fans will be left lacking.

If this is under 10 bucks, I would say buy it, over 10, move on.

-Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trying to act grown-up, June 24, 2012
Forget space aliens, Chris Hemwsorth, or Asgardians who happen to be space aliens. "Thor: Tales of Asgard" is an animated tale of mini-Thor (Matthew Wolf) before he became the Renaissance-festival spouting, opera-dressing, hammer-wielding Norse god we've all come to know and love.

The first thing fans will notice is the wide-eyed, clean animation of "Tales of Asgard." The colors are vibrant, the details few, and the movement just above being a choppy distraction. This is the animation that you'll likely see on Saturday morning cartoons, but when one character claims that the only thing more frigid than Nilfheim is the land of the Valkyries it's clear this is meant for a PG-13 audience. It's kind of like hearing a swear word come out of your twelve year old.

The second is that this tales is firmly set in a fantasy realm, which essentially makes it like a session of Dungeons & Dragons. There's the sorcerer who's just learning to use his magic (Rick Gomez as Loki), the perpetually grumpy fighter (Paul Dobson as Hogun), the huge lover of mead and meal (resident dwarf-like character Volstagg played by Brent Chapman), and the lover of women (the bard role played by Alistair Abell as Fandral). They're all lovable lunks in their own way - Loki's a weakling, the Warriors Three are carousing blowhards. Then there's Sif (Tara Strong)¸Thor's rival in arms and affection, who finds offense in the Einherjar's deference to Thor in combat. In short, Thor is a royal brat.

When he realizes that everyone is catering to him, Thor decides to strike out on his own by capturing Surtur's sword, a flaming blade capable of leveling mountains. He is pursued by Frost Giants, Odin's soldiers, and finally a drow named Algrim (Ron Halder). With his long pointed ears and white hair it's clear that the dark elf is right at home in Thor's mythology. That's right, "Tales of Asgard" is so D&D it even features a dark elf!

Thor rarely gets to use a hammer, a running joke through the film. He still talks in archaic language, which can become tiring when everyone talks that way. Things don't pick up steam until the final act, when the Frost Giants and Asgard are on the brink of war. The final showdown between surprising antagonists elevates "Tales of Asgard" above standard cartoon fare.

The writing for "Tales of Asgard" isn't bad, but the animation does it a disservice by being a little too cute for subjects like love, betrayal, and murder. Like the titular teenager himself, "Tales of Asgard" wants to be more grownup than it looks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad., May 21, 2011
By 
Christian Smith (HOUSTON, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thor: Tales of Asgard (DVD)
I enjoyed the comic Thor, Son of Asgard and this animated movie followed the comic fairly well. It is an entertaining movie that has some great art. If you can sit down and enjoy a story without picking at the faults every chance you get, buy it. I will wait for it to reach the below $10 range but I don't think anyone would be dissapointed in this if they like the Young Avengers-this was the better of the two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thor, Like You've Never Seen Him! THOR: TALES OF ASGARD: A Critical Review, May 31, 2011
Long before the seven-foot, blond, muscle bound, Nordic warrior is seen swinging his "Mjolnir" hammer at his clowned-costumed brother, Loki, Thor was the elder teenage prince who lived in the majestic royal court of his father Odin, King of Asgard and yearned to show his military skills.

This is a full-length feature animation film of the early years of Thor, Loki and The mystical Nine-Kingdom realm of Nordic folklore. This takes place long before he becomes the superhero most of us know him as.

This is also a brilliant piece of animated storytelling to boot.

****** ********* ***********

As someone who has bought and loved comics as a kid and more recently as a buyer of Alex Ross' "graphic novels," THOR has always been an enigma for me. I don't ever remember as a kid ANY issue of Thor where they talked about his background. Every issue was an epic battle with Loki. Those stories got old REAL quick. After awhile, I only ran into Thor when he was with the Avengers.

In THOR: TALES OF ASGARD, my many questions have been answered. This is a phenomenal animated movie. If you're familiar Nordic or Northern European folklore, many of the characterizations are present here.

This film is not in any way like a take on a television animated, this has the feel of a Disney feature. The concept was well thought out and each character/ community had very distinct personalities from the people of Asgard, to the Valkyries, to the Frost Giants.

No superheroic, super powered feats, this is a story of a father and son and the boundaries that are crossed into manhood.

For Thor, his rite of passage means to stow away aboard the "Warriors Three" ship in search of the magical Lost Sword of Sutur. Along the way there's a bar fights, flying horses, trespassing on distant lands, long treks up glacial mountain tops, snow sprites and ferocious Frost sentries, leagues of Amazonian maiden warriors, a flaming sword, an avenging Dark Elf and armies marching upon the grounds of Asgard.

I don't miss the Thor of the comic book pages, this is like an illustrated page from The Lord of The Rings with all of the pomp and adventure.

In addition to this hour and fifteen minute movie is a fascinating documentary on the Making of.

This is a great introduction to the comic book hero, but unfortunately it's so good that any other Thor has to be reworked in light of it.

THOR: TALES OF ASGARD, 5 very, very big stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's About Time Marvel!, December 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a truly enjoyable experience not only for a fan of the comic book but as one interested in Norse mythology. Now I realize that there is an animated feature but beware it is not for younger children. The animation is excellant and the story is enjoyable with one flaw...it is too short. I want more. It was so much fun to see Thors journey from spoiled brat to noble son of Odin. I hope Marvel continues in this vein of story for its characters. They have lost alot of ground to DC who knows how to make a good animated movie based on its characters.

Another thing missing was Balder The Brave. Why does Marvel disrespect this wonderful character?

The special features are enjoyable with a behind the scenes featurette and an extra episode of the Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mighty Thor!, October 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thor: Tales of Asgard (DVD)
This was a very great DVD about Thor before the Hammer! It gives you a good background story. The artwork is fantastic and I would highly recommend it for any one who loves Comicbookc, magna, cartoons, etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The youthful follies of Thor, September 23, 2011
This review is from: Thor: Tales of Asgard (DVD)
I honestly don't know a lot about the comic book Thor. I know quite a bit about the mythological one, but I've never really been into the comic books.

So I went into "Thor: Tales of Asgard" with a fairly open mind. This cartoon is a pretty average for its first half (much coming-of-age-and-learning-responsibility plot), and the animation is not exactly great even at its best moments. But the plot is well handled, the characters are well written, and the climactic battle between Asgard, the Ice Giants, and a wild card with an unstoppable weapon.

Teenage Thor is shocked when he's told that he only wins against Asgard's greatest warriors because they have to let him, and that nobody respects him. So after Odin forbids him to go out in search of adventure, he and his reluctant brother Loki stow away on the Three Heroes' ship. Their goal: To find the legendary sword of the Fire Giant Surta, lost in the frozen wastes of Jotunheim.

Unfortunately, Odin soon discovers that not only have his sons left Asgard against his orders, but they're causing lots of mayhem wherever they go. And after finding the sword, Thor accidentally sparks off a war between Asgard and the Frost Giants, leading an army to lay siege to his home city. Now not only must the five travelers find a way home, but they must somehow avert a massive war -- and stop a deadly foe in their own number.

"Thor: Tales of Asgard" isn't the best comic book movie I've seen -- definitely not on the level of most Batman animated movies, or the Green Lantern ones. This is mainly because of the animation, which is very Saturday-morning cartoon. Simple forms, solid sheets of hair, very thick cylindrical calves, and angular figures, and pretty interchangeable faces (especially the women!).

But the rest of it is actually pretty well done. Lots of flashy battle scenes, some clever foreshadowing (Loki's comfort with Jotunheim's weather), and some genuinely dramatic moments (Thor's horror at some of the Frost Giants actually getting KILLED). While the first half is fairly standard coming-of-age story, the second half has a very dramatic, epic feel, which is only added to by the formal language used in the script.

However, there WERE a few things that confused me. For instance, who was that woman teaching magic to Loki at the beginning? It seems like she's going to be a corrupting influence on him, but... she never appears again.

But they do give some very nice character development to Thor and Loki. One is brash, arrogant but good-hearted, and must be taught the true price of his actions; the other is intelligent and cautious, but has a definite dark streak hinting at what he will do someday. The Three are fun, Sif is a pretty standard love interest, and Algrim is a tragic, painfully dignified figure who can't quite quell his hate. The scene where he goes berserk is a bit silly, though.

"Thor: Tales of Asgard" isn't a great animated movie, but it's a pleasant way to spend a few hours. Lots of action, a likable hero, and some powerful character development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A young version of Marvel's Thor done right, September 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
All the negative reviews had me sceptical about this and kept me from seeing it sooner. Just a little proof can't always trust user reviews. Great Art, Good Voice Acting, Story fit for a history buff like me and a Thor fan, I thought this was a great little American amine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not As Bad As I Thought It Would Be, June 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just watched this last night and it was pretty good. Ok, so its weird seeing Thor with a sword, we know. Its Thor as a teenager(im guessing 17) so Mjolnir was not in his life yet. I liked the art style. The story was good and the action was great. "Warriors 3", Enchantress, Sif, Loki and Odin all make an appearance in this movie. Its not boring like ppl are saying, its actually funny at times. For me, the Dark Elf stole the show. Its a very detailed story and had more of a tv series feel to it but thats not an issue. Not really any special features except for the "Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes" Thor episode. Overall it has big fights, great scenes, its not short, the Dark Elf is crazy lol and its worth the watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, June 6, 2011
By 
Ron Price (Nashville, TN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thor: Tales of Asgard (DVD)
I actually enjoyed this movie. I was quite skeptical when I first heard that Marvel was creating a movie about Thor & Loki in their youth, but I was quite satisfied when I actually watched this movie.
The artwork was great. The storyline was also great. It goes into some of Thor's adventures before he became The Mighty Thor that most people know him as today. In this storyline, Thor & Loki explore the ups and downs of life as well as how to handle the power that they have as the sons of Odin. The action in this video is intense & does not leave the viewer bored. This movie would definitely be a great companion to the Thor movie in theaters too. I definitely recommend it to Thor or Marvel Comics fans. It will not disappoint!

loki & Thor friends
Characters: the Enchantress, The Frost Giants, The Warriors Three,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Thor: Tales of Asgard
Thor: Tales of Asgard by Sam Liu (DVD - 2011)
$9.98 $6.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.