Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The incomparable and notorious Gabors
Prolific author Darwin Porter doesn't disappoint with this book about the Gabors: Jolie the mother and sister, Zsa Zsa, Eva and Magda.
Jolie raised her girls to be courtesans and to marry rich and powerful men. Beautiful Zsa Zsa marries Burhan Belge a Turkish Muslim who was the head of Turkey who can't bring himself to consummate his marriage to a Jewess. Yes, the...
Published 18 months ago by J.C.

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is a hard read!
Dear Editor: I am still struggling to read this book. The digital download needs to be looked at again. Words come together making it very hard to follow, I think this is a disservice to the author. I am reading this on my ipad 4 so please don't think it's only a kindle issue. Please fix.
Published 17 months ago by Avid Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The incomparable and notorious Gabors, September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Those Glamorous Gabors: Bombshells from Budapest (Paperback)
Prolific author Darwin Porter doesn't disappoint with this book about the Gabors: Jolie the mother and sister, Zsa Zsa, Eva and Magda.
Jolie raised her girls to be courtesans and to marry rich and powerful men. Beautiful Zsa Zsa marries Burhan Belge a Turkish Muslim who was the head of Turkey who can't bring himself to consummate his marriage to a Jewess. Yes, the Gabors being Hungarian Jews feared for their lives while living in Budapest, Hungary as World War II approached. Zsa Zsa went from First Lady of Turkey to the last Empress of the Ottoman Empire. She was not an empty headed blonde bimbo but well versed and savvy regarding politics, diplomats and the elites from different governments. She orchestrated her escape from her sexless Turkish marriage and embarked on an affair with Attaturk the father of Turkey also a Muslim.
Ambitioius Zsa Zsa makes her way to Hollywood to join her equally ambitious sister Eva as both had gone there to break into movies.Eva, as beautiful as Zsa Zsa , embeds herself into the Hollywood scene full of consentual sex partners and eventually finds herself a rich American husband. Their desires to become stars in Hollywood are realized and both performed in many productions as well as Broadway runs. They have numerous affairs with Tinseltowns bisexual studs. Eva even has an affair with the mobster Bugsy Siegel. She is best known for her role as Lisa Douglas in T.V.'s Green Acres. Zsa Zsa also has a long term affair with the international playboy Porfirio Rubirosa from the Domenican Republic. He becomes obsessed with her for the duration of his short life eventhough Zsa Zsa is married to her great love actor George Sanders. Magda marries a poor Polish Count with a title and goes to live in Warsaw Poland and become a Princess. Her life is not replete with as many affairs as her sisters but she does embark on affairs.
World War II begins. The author gives us history of the war and the rise of the Nazis and Adolph Hitler whom Zsa Zsa met prior to the war when she was the Turkish First Lady. Budapest is captured by the Nazis, invaded by the Russians and bombed by the United States.
Zsa Zsa goes to Washington to seek help to save her family that are left in Hungary from being exterminated by Hitler. Jolie and her husband have to flee via Portugal and eventually have to leave all their possessions behind and arrive in the U.S. Some of the Gabor family were killed by the Nazis. Magda manages to escape from Poland and come to the U.S.
Zsa Zsa wrote in her memoirs and left out a lot of her sexual trysts but this author doesn't leave out anything. This book is a testament to their social climbing all their lives that has rendered them a place in American history as they slept their way to fame and fortune and it exposes their many secrets.It is a fascinating read jam packed with information about their love of luxury, jewels and money; their sexual conduct, their sometimes loveless marriages, their quest for notoriety at any cost and their many affairs with famous and not so famous people, i.e., kings, princes, dukes and millionaires.So many men, so little time.
Both Zsa Zsa and Eva are well known for their many appearances on TV talk shows such as The Merv Griffin Show.
It is great entertainment and a page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is a hard read!, September 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dear Editor: I am still struggling to read this book. The digital download needs to be looked at again. Words come together making it very hard to follow, I think this is a disservice to the author. I am reading this on my ipad 4 so please don't think it's only a kindle issue. Please fix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only the Gabors could pull this off, September 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Those Glamorous Gabors: Bombshells from Budapest (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book and thought many parts were very funny. Especially the quotes attributed to Zsa Zsa. I literally laughed out loud at some of them. It is a little difficult to read because someone forgot to usethespacebar, but I managed to get through all 750 pages. The only thing that can get tiring is you can hardly get through a paragraph without one of them telling you how beautiful they are. OK, WE GET IT, you are all beautiful nymphomaniacs. Interesting never the less. Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild, loose women, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Those Glamorous Gabors: Bombshells from Budapest (Paperback)
I was shocked to read the loose morals that the Gabor sisters had. Eva and Zsa Zsa where as loose as a goose when it came to men. I wonder how much of that Porter wrote is true. Still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very unique family, November 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Those Glamorous Gabors: Bombshells from Budapest (Paperback)
Full of interesting information, very well written. The Gabors were a glamorous and loving family.
Photos which were unexpected were interesting to view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally OUTRAGEOUS, September 25, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "jbd12" (Glen Oaks, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Those Glamorous Gabors: Bombshells from Budapest (Paperback)
Sex on every page including everyone(who was anybody) during Hollywood's golden age. Amazing stories & dialog such as Tallulah's cat fight with Garbo during the filming of "Royal Scandal".
Tallu introducing Eva to Garbo, Garbo replying " I'm not here to talk about some blonde thing"
Later, Tallu to Garbo - "You forget when I first met you when you passed through NY. You were an un-retouched Swedish dumpling, with frizzy hair buck teeth and lest I forget, the shadow of a double chin, puppy fat accumulated by eating too many Swedish pancakes with sugar-coated lingonberries. Makeup, of course, could never do anything for those clodhopper feet of yours"
Magda is the unsung hero saving many Jews from the gas chamber during the Hallocaust. And I have to give credit to Zsa Zsa for her efforts to get her parents & sister to US(during WW 2) while Eva partied every night.
This put is lots of fun & highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hungarian madness, September 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Those Glamorous Gabors: Bombshells from Budapest (Paperback)
Darwin Porter is a very bad writer. Every first sentence of every paragraph in this book used the word "had", and since the book is monumentally long (700+ pages), there must be thousands of them. This is mostly a cut-and-paste, and most of the quoted conversations never actually occurred, they are simply transposed from other books.

That having been said, this was a lot of fun to read. Porter does an incredible amount of research, and it's all crammed in here. Given that the Gabor ladies, especially Zsa Zsa and Eva between them, had relationships with so very many interesting men, this covers a lot of history of the 20th century. I didn't find a whole lot of errors in here, other than the fact that it was all constructed. Very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Fab Fab Gabors, January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I LOVED this book for ALL the wrong reasons - it is a complete hagiography - and you get the feeling that the author too got a little worn down by the end and actually admitted that Mama Gabor raised her Three Little Princesses as Courtesans at least - High Class Horizontals at lMost. The Gabors would have been fun, fantastic, fabulous and infuriating to know - and oh how you wish you had known them. By the end of their lives I don't think even they knew quite what was fact and what was fiction, They had backbones of stainless steel and balls to match - knew when to walk. when to run and when to take everything and run, They had their share of hardship and tragedy as everyone does - but I think it was the husbands, lovers, friends and children who were left tossing in the wake of the last of the great galleons of Courtesanship that I really felt for. The four Gaborteers really seemed to be all for one and one for all in their glitterring aims and famedriven goals - we will never see their like again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Those Glamorous Gabors: Bombshells from Budapest (Paperback)
I loved the book . It took you through their lives and several countries history at the same .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is very entertaining!, March 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Those Glamorous Gabors: Bombshells from Budapest (Paperback)
I knew who the Gabor sisters were when I was growing up but this book gives more insight on their childhood thru being popular adults. What a life they had! What I do find interesting is their time in Hollywood and the famous stars they met. It certainly has given me a different perspective of the famous Hollywood celebrities in that era of time. I mentioned this book to a dear friend of mine and told her she would be very interested in reading this book. Some of the chapters that I read, I must say, I would find myself saying "really?" Like I said it is very entertaining! A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Those Glamorous Gabors: Bombshells from Budapest
Those Glamorous Gabors: Bombshells from Budapest by Darwin Porter (Paperback - September 10, 2013)
$24.95 $17.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.