Start reading Thou Shalt Not Road Trip on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Thou Shalt Not Road Trip [Kindle Edition]

Antony John
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $16.99
Kindle Price: $11.84
You Save: $5.15 (30%)
Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $11.84  
Hardcover $14.34  
Hero Quick Promo
12 Days of Kindle Book Deals
Load your library with Amazon's editors' picks, $2.99 or less each today only. Learn more

Book Description


From the award-winning author of Five Flavors of Dumb comes a novel featuring one crazy road trip full of rejection, redemption, and romance. Perfect for fans of John Green’s An Abundance of Katherines, or Sara Zarr’s Once Was Lost.

Sixteen-year-old Luke’s self-help book Hallelujah has become a national bestseller and his publisher is sending him on a cross-country book tour along the historic Route 66. Unfortunately for Luke, his irresponsible older brother Matt is coming along as chauffeur. When Matt offers to drive Luke’s ex-crush, Fran, across the country too, things really get crazy. In this journey of self-discovery, Luke has to loosen up and discover what it truly means to have faith to win the girl he loves.

"A highly readable balance of humor, heart, self-discovery, and shenanigans."—BCCB

"Christian values are conveyed with humor, devoid of potentially preachy pitfalls."—School Library Journal

"Features multifaceted teens whose faith is integrated with their thinking but doesn't define them completely . . . [A]n upbeat read with a unique premise, great settings, and just a little more."—Booklist


Editorial Reviews

Review

"A highly readable balance of humor, heart, self-discovery, and shenanigans."
(The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books)

"Christian values are conveyed with humor, devoid of potentially preachy pitfalls."
(School Library Journal)

"Features multifaceted teens whose faith is integrated with their thinking but doesn't define them completely . . . [A]n upbeat read with a unique premise, great settings, and just a little more."
(Booklist)

About the Author

Antony John won the Schneider Family Book Award for his novel Five Flavors of Dumb. As a choirboy in England, he got to hear a whole lot of confusing theological discussions. Throw in a spiritual connection with Route 66, and you get Thou Shalt Not Road Trip. He lives with his family in St. Louis, Missouri.

Product Details

  • File Size: 391 KB
  • Print Length: 336 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0803734344
  • Publisher: Dial (April 12, 2012)
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005GSZIHQ
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,291,885 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
(6)
3.8 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Format:Hardcover
Because I loved his first book, Five Flavors of Dumb, I asked the author for an ARC of his new book, Thou Shalt Not Road Trip, and he graciously complied. This does not bias my review.

This book is about a boy named Luke who writes a best-seller Hallelujah at Bible camp, and because of his growing fame, goes on book tour. He's piloted by his older brother Matt, who just happens to bring his girlfriend, Alex, and her sister, Fran. Luke has a complicated history with Fran, and this trip just magnifies how far they've grown apart.

I'll admit I had a love and hate relationship with this book. Antony John's strength lies in developing characters who are real and very flawed. Because of this, they are allowed to grow and change throughout the book. To me, Luke is not a very likeable guy. He's holier-than-thou, whiny, and almost embarrassingly naive. But when I dug into my own soul, I have known teenagers like him. And part of the reason I felt such a strong dislike for him is because I used to be him, once. So I should allow him grow as I have grown. While Luke was not likeable at the beginning, at the end, I could see glimpses of the adult that he might be.

There were other wonderful aspects of this book. Fran was a beautiful character who we learn to love more and more as the story progresses. Another character that I was completely surprised by was Colin, his agent. To me, his conversation near the end with Luke was probably one of the most true and poignant passages in the whole book.

I did have one significant issue with this book. To me, the passages of Luke's book were not that compelling. I couldn't fathom how it became a bestseller. Part of the problem is that the rest of the book is so well written. I feel that dichotomy worked against the story.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
Format:Kindle Edition
It’s been a full six months since I read an ARC of Thou Shalt Not. I didn’t write a review at the time which is not the smartest thing to have done. However after six months I still remember the story line and characters from this book which is saying something.

Antony John’s last book, Five Flavors of Dumb, was a big hit with me so I was excited to have a chance to read an early ARC of Thou Shalt Not. I’ve been on a similar Road Trip when I graduated from High School. My trip was seven weeks long and took a little different path than the road trip in this book but our paths crossed many times along the way. It was fun to hear so many great places I visited years ago described.

There are some Christian undertones to this book which of course is no issue for me. I found Thou Shalt Not to be well written and very entertaining. Another great book from Antony John!

Rating: 4 Stars – Great Book

Content: I didn’t take any notes and I read this 6 months ago. I remember some language and innuendo. Sorry!

Source: The Teen Book Scene ARC Tour
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a road trip worth taking! July 8, 2012
By K Rez
Format:Hardcover
What do you get when you take a trip on The Mother Road with a teen Christian author, a rebellious teenage girl, and a couple facing a crossroads in their relationship? You get another wonderful read by Antony John entitled "Thou Shalt Not Road Trip."

John takes us on a book tour with Luke Dorsey who has just read one of the most recent top selling Christian books - "Hallelujah." Due to a conflict in schedules with Luke's publisher, Luke's brother Matt is put in charge of making sure Luke completes his book tour from LA to St. Louis. What Luke doesn't realize is that Matt has invited two other traveling companions to join them - his girlfriend and her sister (who is in the midst of a classic teenage rebellion...and who used to be Luke's high school crush). Instead of taking interstate highways to each tour stop, Matt is determined to get from place to place on the Historic Route 66.

Luke's strong faith is challenged during his Route 66 trip as his friends, family and fans help him reexamine his positions on just about everything.

While this was written for a young adult audience, I think a much wider audience will enjoy it! There's a sense of nostalgia for those who remember Route 66 or who have ever seen one of the quirky sites along what's left of the legendary road. More importantly, these are interesting characters who challenge each other, as well as the readers.

I highly recommend this book for adults and teens, alike.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

More About the Author

Antony John was born in England and raised on a balanced diet of fish and chips, obscure British comedies, and ABBA's Greatest Hits. In a fit of teenage rebellion, he decided to pursue a career in classical music, culminating in a BA from Oxford University and a PhD from Duke University. Along the way, he worked as an ice cream seller on a freezing English beach, a tour guide in the Netherlands, a chauffeur in Switzerland, a barista in Seattle, and a university professor. Writing by night, he spends his days as a stay-at-home dad--the only job that allows him to wear his favorite pair of sweatpants all the time. He lives in St. Louis with his family.

Visit him at: http://www.antonyjohn.net

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category