Customer Reviews


3,245 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,499)
4 star:
 (521)
3 star:
 (135)
2 star:
 (47)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


317 of 334 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power of love, bonds of friendship, love of country, struggle to survive...
I read many books in a year. Some I read for entertainment and others to increase my knowledge. Then there is the rare book that does both of those things, plus touches your heart as well. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini does just that. Hosseini's The Kite Runner was a magnificent book, and I enjoyed A Thousand Splendid Suns even more.

Splendid...
Published on June 1, 2007 by Cynthia K. Robertson

versus
66 of 75 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good but not great
A Thousand Splendid Suns is well worth the read. It's lovely and breathes life into a place very far away from us - in miles as well as spirit. It will, of course, be compared to The Kite Runner and I, myself, feel compelled to do so. I found the characters in The Kite Runner to be more three-dimensional, less stereotypical and more vivid. These characters, by...
Published on May 31, 2007 by C. Caine


‹ Previous | 1 2325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

317 of 334 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power of love, bonds of friendship, love of country, struggle to survive..., June 1, 2007
I read many books in a year. Some I read for entertainment and others to increase my knowledge. Then there is the rare book that does both of those things, plus touches your heart as well. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini does just that. Hosseini's The Kite Runner was a magnificent book, and I enjoyed A Thousand Splendid Suns even more.

Splendid Suns follows the lives of two Afghani women, Mariam and Laila, as they move from children to adults. The book spans 30 years, beginning with the Soviet invasion and ending with the overthrow of the Taliban. It's difficult to explain more of the story without spoiling the plot, but these two women go from being enemies to unlikely friends. A Thousand Suns is a moving story about the power of love, the bonds of friendship, the love of country, and the struggle to survive. I hated to see it end.

I like books that teach me something, and there is a lot to learn in Splendid Suns. Previously, I didn't know much about the political turmoil in Afghanistan and the various factions vying for power. I knew women had an appalling time living under the Taliban regime, but I didn't realize how horrible conditions really were. The childbirth section will fill you with horror. I also learned of the natural beauty of Afghanistan and her fascinating history.

I was especially moved by Hesseini's eloquent writing and observations. In writing of friendship, "Boys, Laila came to see, treated friendship the way they treated the sun: its existence undisputed; its radiance best enjoyed, not beheld directly." There aren't too many writers who can produce back-to-back masterpieces. Khaled Hosseini is one of those rare talents who can pull off such a feat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Will Be Disturbed & Will Feel Great Empathy., July 30, 2007
This is not a book for the timid, this is a melancholy story with four parts that eventually overlap. This emotional rollercoaster ride of a story covers the period from 1964 to roughly the present day in the hardluck country of Afghanistan. It centers on the lives of two women, Mariam { a harami= illegitimate} raised in a hut by her mother, the only highlight of her destitute life is the Thursday visits from her father. When her fathers family rejects her she is forced into a marriage with the brutal shoemaker Rasheed. A devout follower of the Taliban's cruelty towards females. Laila lives down the street from Mariam in very different circumstances. She is raised in a modern family, by a loving father & depressive mother.

The book covers the issues of class, religion, work, education, sexual roles, & raising children. All are highlighted by the tumult of Afghanistan's history. This is a very descriptive, well written story, you can feel & sense the characters lives. The first half was a little slow, & it is clear that this will be a "blue journey." The sacrifices these two women gives the reader a slideshow of the harshness of their lives. Part three, is the peak of the story. This is where the two women's relationship truly meshed. The fourth part sees Afghanistan opening to modernity & is less traumatic. A very good & poignant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It took seven hours..., May 24, 2007
....for me to read The Kite Runner.

I read A Thousand Splendid Suns in six.

This book is less disturbing than The Kite Runner. There is more quiet desperation. A bit less personal story, and a bit more history.

But, it is no less gripping. The story and the history are beautifully woven together. The author holds nothing back in painting a stark picture of what it means to be a woman in a culture where they are valued only for how well they keep a house, and how many sons they produce. A culture where they are subject to the whims of men. Those that value them as worthwhile human beings are welcome oases - they seem to be the exceptions in their world, rather than the norm.

He also paints a stark picture of how much harm religious fanaticism and intolerance can do.

But, it also paints a picture of hope that the winds of change can blow cool and refreshing.

It also shows us the rich history of Afghanistan, a country that has endured, much like Nana said that women must. It shows a country and a people with much potential.

My eyes welled in a few places. At one point, I had to stop reading, close my eyes, and gather myself as the story hit close to home. I even laughed (Islamic flamingos.) By the end, tears were streaming down my face, and I was once again left feeling immensely satisfied.

It is rare that you find a writer who, with their first novel, shows that they are an immense talent. I had previously only ever read one such author in my life. From the first chapter of The Kite Runner, I knew that Khaled Hosseini would be one of them. A Thousand Splendid Suns is more proof of it.

I am already looking forward to what he produces next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 75 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good but not great, May 31, 2007
By 
C. Caine (New York, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A Thousand Splendid Suns is well worth the read. It's lovely and breathes life into a place very far away from us - in miles as well as spirit. It will, of course, be compared to The Kite Runner and I, myself, feel compelled to do so. I found the characters in The Kite Runner to be more three-dimensional, less stereotypical and more vivid. These characters, by contrast, were less different from one another, less real, less deep and rich and fully drawn. Still, the reader does care about them and about their decisions, their fate, their ultimate capacity to "hang together". I remember reading somewhere that the ending of The Kite Runner was written one way and the author forced to change it to be more American-ized and more Hollywood. I remember feeling somewhat vindicated because I'd recognized that the ending didn't quite gel with the rest of the book's power. I felt he'd taken the easy way out. In this new book, too, I feel he's learned a bit of the Hollywood novel writing technique and we see it in the predictability and one-dimensionality. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the story, cared what happened, learned more about the countries I've only gotten to read about in newspapers and the book breathed life into an otherwise opaque world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


514 of 612 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Behind the burqa, March 23, 2007
With his second novel, Khaled Hosseini proves beyond a shadow of doubt that "The Kite Runner" was no flash in the Afghan pan. Once again set in Afghanistan, the story twists and turns its way through the turmoil and chaos that ensued following the fall of the monarchy in 1973, but focuses mainly on the lives of two women, thrown together by fate.

The story starts decades before the Taliban came into power in 1996, and ends after the era of Taliban rule. The main character begins life as a "harami" - the illegitimate daughter of a wealthy man and one of his housekeepers. Forced to live in a small shack with her emotionally disturbed and possibly epileptic mother, Mariam lives for Thursdays, the day her father comes to see her, bearing small gifts and showering her with the affection she craves. Naturally, Mariam wants to be a part of her father's life and fit in with his legitimate family, but when she attempts to force his hand, she is rebuffed and feels betrayed by his reaction. Her impetuous actions bring an end to the life she has known for fifteen long years, and lead to an arranged marriage to a much older man, a shoemaker, whose views on the rights of women mirror those that the Taliban would soon enforce.

During the time that Mariam is dutifully enduring her unhappy marriage, a neighbor gives birth to a baby girl, whom they name Laila. By her ninth birthday, Laila has grown up to be a beautiful child with blonde hair, turquoise-green eyes, high cheekbones and dimples. Unfortunately, her mother lives only for the day her older sons will return home from fighting the jihad, and is consumed by the vision of a free Afghanistan. Laila's best friend is a boy named Tariq, her confidant, defender and co-conspirator, and by the end of communist rule in 1992, Laila is fourteen, and beginning to see Tariq in a different way that she does not quite understand.

The enthusiastic rejoicing at the end of the jihad is silenced by the internal battles of the Mujahideen, and when the bombs start falling on Kabul, Laila and Tariq are forced apart. Circumstances can make strange things happen, and Laila soon becomes a part of Mariam's husband's household, by necessity rather than choice. The rest of this unforgettable story reflects the heart-rending sacrifices of these women, and allows the reader a peek behind the burqa, to the heart of Afghanistan.

There are parts of this book that will have grown men surreptitiously blotting the tears that are on the verge of overflowing their ducts, and by the time you get to the middle, you won't be able to put it down. Hosseini's simple but richly descriptive prose makes for an engrossing read, and in my opinion, "A Thousand Splendid Suns" is among the best I have ever read. This is definitely not one to be missed.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Knowing and loving are born of this same dust", July 4, 2007
"A Thousand Splendid Suns" by Khaled Hosseini is a book that the author researched while visiting Kabul. It is a story of friendship between two very dissimilar women who were ages apart in background and in education. They became close in order to survive and to endure the environment that they were forced to live in. The reader grows to understand that there existed between them a closeness like that of a mother and daughter. This intimacy was built upon much mutual respect and much love which these two (2) stunning characters generated for each other. The novel is really the story of the lives of Laila and Mariam.

The title for this novel comes from a 17th Century poem by Saib-e-Tabrizi which was a beautiful poem written in praise of Kabul. The excerpt from which the title originated goes like this: "One could not count the moons that shimmer on her roofs, or the thousand splendid suns that hide behind her walls."

But the beautiful poem begins its praise of this city with these lines:

"Ah! How beautiful is Kabul encircled by her arid mountains
And Rose, of the trails of thorns she envies
Her gusts of powdered soil, slightly sting my eyes
But I love her, for knowing and loving are born of this same dust

These lines above symbolize so much of this novel. It is the understanding of their fate and the knowing and the loving of each other; it is the sticking by their heritage and their people which clearly demonstrates how Mariam and Laila were also "born of this same dust". The thorns in their lives which they both had to endure did not silence them and in their own ways they each made a contribution to each other to contribute either to each other's life or to the other's legacy.

In reading this novel, the reader will be stymied by what the women of Afghanistan had to endure in the face of oppression and in some instances complete domination. Mariam's and Laila's story is not, I imagine, the story of every woman, but it is their story, told so eloquently, by Hosseini.

Reading the novel will make you sad, it might make you feel uncomfortable and in some parts you will wish that you could do something; even though you realize that this is a book of fiction. But literature that tells a story as powerful as this one, and possibly with as much truth about circumstances in it...cannot always be happy. The reader must be willing to look into the window of these women's lives and realize that the spirit of these women will not be broken and that both will be able to make decisions that they are strong enough to endure. Giving back to others "born of this same dust" is the ultimate gift that both women can give to Kabal, its people and to each other.

A worthwhile book.

Bentley/2007
A Thousand Splendid Suns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Follow Up To THE KITE RUNNER, June 9, 2007
By 
Timothy Kearney (Haverhill, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
To say that Khalil Hosseini had a challenge ahead of him when he started A THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS is an understatement. His novel THE KITE RUNNER has been one of the best selling novels of the decade, could one day be regarded as a classic, and was his debut work. How can anyone match that kind of success? Well, by returning to the familiar while also telling a different story, Hosseini may have accomplished just that feat in his follow-up to THE KITE RUNNER, A THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS.

Once again Hosseini takes readers to modern day Afghanistan, mentioning events that take place between 1959 and 2003 as he did in THE KITE RUNNER, but to a large extent this is where the similarity between the two books ends. Unlike its predecessor which was more a plot driven story, A THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS focuses more on characters. First we meet Miriam whose life is marked more by tragedy and loss than anything else. At first she's too young to understand what is happening in her world, but as she grows and begins to understand the cruelty is that is much a part of her existence, we feel pity for her. In the second section, we meet Laila, the free spirited daughter of a father who is a teacher and lover of literature and a mother who at once was a spirited woman ahead of her time until losses that seem inevitable in that part of the world overwhelm her. Laila's family lives near the adult Miriam though there's hardly any contact between the neighbors, but Laila's life is far different from that of Miriam. Laila lives in a limited world, but even in its limitations it's a world of possibilities. Her father has hope that Afghanistan's troubles are temporary. Laila has a childhood friend Tariq who was injured by a landmine and the two grow from platonic childhood friends to would be lovers. It only changes when a series of tragedies then enter the picture. Giving more than a description at this point could ruin the power of the book, but in the hands of a writer such as Hosseini, readers can be assured it will be powerful and heart wrenching.

As a writer, Hosseini made wise choices by returning to Afghanistan or the setting of his story. He knows the country well and knows there are many stories that can be told. He also made a wise choice in writing a less plot driven novel. By focusing on the characters, he's still able to tell the story in an exciting and engaging manner. In the end, we don't find this work to be the same story as the first, the only difference being the gender of the main characters. We also see some writing techniques that Hosseini seems to love. He's masterful at slight but significant plot twists, occasional slimy characters, and characters that are genuinely emotive

I think that fans of THE KITE RUNNER will enjoy A THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS. Book clubs will again choose this novel as a selection and I am sure there will be many conversations comparing the two works. If people reading this review have not read THE KITE RUNNER yet, I would recommend doing so. I think the first book does give us a good understanding of modern Afghanistan and its problems and where the first story consists primarily of male main characters in a male oriented world, it does give a reader a frame of reference that makes it easier to read A THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS. If anything, my only criticism of the book, and it's a very slight criticism at that, is that Hosseini may be relying on readers who are familiar with THE KITE RUNNER prior to reading this work, which can be a danger since it's not a sequel. Still, it's an excellent novel and worthy of the many wonderful reviews it has received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A look into daily Afghan life, August 6, 2009
This review is from: A Thousand Splendid Suns (Paperback)
Khaled Hosseini follows his best-selling debut novel "The Kite Runner" The Kite Runner with a sequel that is every bit as splendid as the title suggests. The tone is set early: this is a story about the hardships women face in Afghanistan. Mariam is the daughter of a well-to-do man. Her mother had ended her own life, and Mariam feels a great shame about her life...is married-off to a much older man named Rasheed. Rasheed believes women are the property of their husbands and forces Mariam into a degrading life. This causes the young lady to live a fearful existence...for his temper can result in punches, slaps, and kicks...only to be followed by insincere apologies.

Laila is the second heroine in the story - she becomes Rasheed's second wife. Her life, though a bit brighter, also finds sudden tragedy. She was raised by an intellect who encouraged Laila to follow her dreams. One day, a wayward rocket fired by a warring faction lands on her house and kills her parents. Tariq, her boyfriend, had fled with his family only to become refugees in Pakistan. So now poor Laila, who once had a promising life, finds herself alone. When she discovers she is pregnant with Tariq's child and learns Tariq has been killed (supposedly) near the Pakistani border, she agrees to marry Rasheed.

Once Laila and Rasheed get married, Mariam becomes jealous of Laila, that is, until Aziza )Laila's child) is born. Mariam eventually becomes a second mother to Aziza, and the two woman become friends...and later allies, protecting each other from the abuse suffered by Rasheed. Some have mentioned that this book starts slow...and yes, it does. But eventually Khaled Hosseini's impeccable writing talent shines through and the emotions these two women must tolerate makes the reader forget about the early flaws. His ability to convey daily life for women in this harsh reality is something truly special and evident as to why Mr. Hosseini is a well-renowned author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterfully written, incredibly moving novel, May 24, 2007
A Thousand Splendid Suns is one of those rarest of novels, a work of fiction that stakes an uncontested claim to the status of literature immediately upon publication. Khaled Hosseini has written a majestic, sweeping, emotionally powerful story that provides the reader with a most telling window into Afghan society over the past thirty-odd years. It's also a moving story of friendship and sacrifice, giving Western readers a rare glimpse into the suffering and mistreatment of Afghan women that began long before the Taliban came to power. Not only does the novel reveal the ruthlessness and pure evil of the Taliban, its chronicle of Afghanistan's bloody, repressive recent history helps demonstrate why we must remain constantly vigilant as the nation's move to democracy inches forward a little bit at a time. Centuries of embedded traditions and cultural proscriptions cannot be changed overnight, yet never again must the women of Afghanistan be forgotten.

Hosseini treats us to two main characters, each of whom embodies the time-honored endurance and suffering of the Afghan woman. Mariam grows up with her mother Nana in a humble home isolated from the hustle and bustle of the nearby city of Herat. Jalil, Mariam's father, visits once a week and dotes on his little girl, and it is Mariam's dearest wish to join Jalil's family in the city. Her mother disabuses her of such notions, offering her child a radically different opinion of her father. Mariam is illegitimate, and Nana tells her that she will never be recognized as Jalil's daughter. Mariam learns this lesson for herself at age fifteen, setting in motion a dark series of events that soon finds her married to an older man, Rasheed, in the city of Kabul. Scared, lonely, and dealing with a weight of guilt over her mother's death, Mariam soon finds misfortune permanently affixed to herself as her surly husband grossly mistreats and ignores her.

Meanwhile, young Laila grows up in the same Kabul neighborhood, the daughter of a teacher and a spirited mother. Her constant companion is Tariq, a boy who - despite having lost a leg to a land mine - never hesitates to defend her. Not surprisingly, she falls in love with Tariq, but the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan tears them apart just as their love manifests itself physically. As the mujahideen fight the Soviets and then turn on one another in the political vacuum left by the Soviet withdrawal, Kabul becomes a war zone, its days and nights filled with the mortal uncertainty of rocket impacts and gun battles. Fate is particularly unkind to Laila, who ultimately finds herself all alone, injured, and extremely vulnerable. Harboring a great secret in her heart, she reluctantly becomes Rasheed's second wife. Not surprisingly, Mariam resents this young girl whom Rasheed has brought into her already unhappy home, but in time, after Laila becomes a fellow victim of Rasheed's disdain, insults, and physical abuse, the two women develop a close relationship, one strong enough to sustain them through even harder times ahead.

The novel takes us through thirty years of tumultuous Afghan history, as seen through the eyes of two remarkable but representative, long-suffering women, from a time when women could basically lead their own lives, through the socio-economically devastating years of the Soviet invasion and the mujahideen resistance, on through the even more destructive years after the Soviets pulled out and Afghan warlords turned upon one another (killing countless innocent civilians in the process), all the way up to the Taliban seizure of power and its displacement by American and Allied forces in the wake of 9/11. As Mariam's mother taught her, endurance is the key to surviving as a woman in Afghanistan. Increasingly insolated as events unfolded, women such as Mariam and Laila had no one to turn to but each other, as their very humanity was taken away from them by increasingly repressive leaders and their own ever-more-violent husbands. Some women broke under the pressure of so much turmoil and heartache; others fled the country to escape the danger and repression; but women such as Mariam and Laila simply endured in the face of hellish circumstances.

I'm a man, and I know enough not to pretend I understand women, but the power of Hosseini's eloquent writing produced in me a feeling of real kinship for Mariam, Laila, and Laila's daughter Aziza. I am quite sure this is as close as I will ever come to truly beginning to appreciate the scale of the Afghan woman's plight. So many memorable scenes, so many horrible events stand out in the lives of these brave women. The best they could hope for was to be ignored - spared the physical and mental abuse of husbands, and in many cases relieved to hide themselves behind the burquas the Taliban insisted they wear in public. The Taliban stripped them of their very humanity, making them less than slaves, yet these women refused to be crushed by the system, exhibiting a kind of unparalleled courage and self-sacrifice that few men could ever hope to match. History enumerates the crimes of the Taliban, but Hosseini paints a truly compelling portrait of life in a land where flamingoes could not be painted without trousers covering their bare legs and where many citizens risked obscene torture just to obtain black market copies of the movie Titanic.

There is tragedy in A Thousand Splendid Suns - heart-breaking tragedy - yet the story is ultimately an inspirational epic with the power to enlighten the reader spiritually as well as historically. As you read this engrossing novel, all cultural and political barriers separating you from Hosseini's characters disappear and you cannot help but me moved by the sad fact that our fiction has been many a poor Afghan woman's reality. This eye-opening read has the power to change your view of the world and your place in it, and that makes it a truly masterful piece of literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Afghani 'War and Peace' That Promises To Be One of 2007's Best Novels, May 22, 2007
Khaled Hosseini's "A Thousand Splendid Suns" is a genuine instant literary classic, and one destined to be remembered as one of 2007's best novels. It should be compared favorably to such legendary Russian novels like "War and Peace" and "Doctor Zhivago". And yet it is ironic to compare Hosseini's latest novel to such classic works written by Tolstoy and Pasternak, especially in light of their country's recent sordid history with Afghanistan, Hosseini's country of birth. However, I believe that this comparison is most apt, since he joins them in recounting most vividly, an intense, horrific period in his homeland's recent history, which shows no immediate prospect yet of a peaceful resolution. Hosseini also demonstrates that he is both a literary master of exquisite detail and dialogue which so easily reminds me of Salman Rushdie's extraordinary literary skills; these are demonstrated most notably in his great early novel "Midnight's Children". Indeed Hosseini, like Rushdie, is yet another South Asian writer committed to writing great novels in the English language, demonstrating once more the Indian subcontinent's rapid ascendancy as an important source of original first-rate English language literature. Fans of "The Kite Runner", his critically acclaimed literary debut, will rejoice after reading his second novel, and share my observation that he has become one of our most compelling writers of contemporary fiction.

Afghanistan's tumultuous, tragic recent history is told in riveting, exquisite detail by Hosseini, which is seen through the eyes of two extraordinary young intelligent women. We are introduced first to Mariam, the harami (bastard) daughter of wealthy Jalil Khan, a prominent Herat businessman, and his servant, Nana. And then later, but still early on in the novel, we will meet Laila, the youngest child of Babi and Fariba, both members of Kabul's early 1970s educated middle class. Mariam's heart-wrenching efforts in trying to gain her father's acceptance as his legitimate daughter lead unexpectedly to personal tragedy and a new life as the wife of Rasheed, an elderly Kabul shoemaker. Against her own free-spirited will, and inquisitive nature, Mariam reluctantly submits to age-old Islamic Afghani customs even as she realizes that some fellow Afghani women - Khan's legitimate daughters from his three wives - are acquiring a Western-oriented educated lifestyle in the provincial city of Herat. In Kabul, Afghanistan's capital, the relatively illiterate, young Mariam soon finds some solace in a brief, tenuous friendship with the older Fariba. Fariba's husband Babi is a Kabul University-educated former teacher fully conversant in both traditional Afghani literature and Western civilization. When Kabul erupts into a bloody civil war soon after the fall of its Communist regime, Babi will teach their daughter Laila both modern Western mathematics and medieval Afghani poetry at home; its war-ravaged streets permanently ending her attendance at a local Western-oriented primary school.

Hosseini has cleverly compared and contrasted traditional Islamic Afghani customs with Western civilized values, especially with respect to women, through the unexpected metamorphosis of Laila's character from a free-spirited, intelligent school girl to a tradition-bound Afghani bride, as Rasheed's second wife, forced into this arrangement by both a romantic farewell tryst with Tariq, her childhood best friend and lover, and a personal tragedy brought on by a vicious civil war on the streets of Kabul between rival Afghani tribal warlords. Eventually she will find a soul mate and a friend in the older Mariam, both realizing that they've become virtual slaves to their older husband, who is all too willing to hide behind fundamentalist Islamic tradition as he makes their lives within his household a living embodiment of Hell.

Nearly fifty years of tumultuous, often bloody, Afghani history are described in graphic detail via Hosseini's elegant, poetic prose. The 1973 coup d'etat against the Afghani monarchy, led by a member of the royal family, is followed five years later by another coup against the self-proclaimed president for life, leading inexorably to a Communist regime and the Soviet occupation of Afghanistan. The relatively tranquil Soviet occupation, and then later, evacuation of Kabul is succeeded by the bloody civil war amongst warlords, and the subsequent rise and fall of the Taliban regime. All of these events are interwoven neatly by Hosseini into the tragic lives of his two heroines. And yet, as readers will find out eventually, not all is lost in the mutually entangled lives of torment and pain for these two women, since Hosseni does end his novel on a hopeful, indeed triumphant, note. A triumphant note that is most worthy for a novel which successfully carries through the ambitious literary scope of Hosseni's fictionalized recent history of Afghanistan, much in the same fashion as his literary predecessors Tolstoy and Pasternak. A splendid 21st Century novel that is most worthy of comparison to "War and Peace" and "Doctor Zhivago".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Thousand Splendid Suns
A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini (Paperback - November 25, 2008)
$16.00 $10.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.