A Thousand Suns [Clean]

January 1, 2008 | Format: MP3

Some music from this album is free with
Join Amazon Prime
Song Title
Popularity Prime  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: September 13, 2010
  • Release Date: September 13, 2010
  • Label: Warner Bros.
  • Copyright: 2010 Warner Bros. Records Inc.
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 1:35:38
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B0041RM934
  • Average Customer Review: 3.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (662 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #54,160 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

It's 5 tracks in but the second actual song of the album.
Well, as someone who is a huge LP fan and owns all of their albums, I hate to say that I really don't like the new direction at all.
Eric Watson
The lyrics on this album are amazing and the music itself is very creative and different from anything else out there.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

597 of 668 people found the following review helpful By Jane Austin on September 14, 2010
Format: MP3 Music
If you can believe it, this is the first review I've ever written for an album, despite being an amazon customer for years. Why? Because I'm just so damn disappointed in all the negative reviews of A Thousand Suns.

First of all, let me say that I'm not a lyrics person. What I take away from LP's music is a feeling, an emotion, and so far I gotta admit that I'm loving the feeling I get from this album. No, it is not like any of their previous works (though I think we all saw where they might be going as a band after MtM). No, it is not nearly as angry as Hybrid Theory. And no, it is not nearly as catchy as Meteora. So what the hell is it?

To me, it's a recovery album. This may be lost on some readers, but if i picture LP's albums as a man going through life, I see their early music as a very wounded and angry man. The catharsis in listening to those albums comes from realizing that not only does someone else out there hurt as much as you, someone out there may actually hurt even more. I revel in listening to those early CDs for that reason. When Reanimation came out, I saw a slightly more playful side to LP. The wounds were still there, but they were being examined now, looked at in an almost clinical, curious way. Minutes to Midnight disappointed me at first, I'll admit it. The wounded man was no longer angry, but I still was. It took me several looped listens to come to terms with the fact that he had moved on, and was beginning to let some of the old grudges go. It's not a tired album - far from it - but MtM does give one the sense that LP was getting tired of fighting all the time. That they were searching for solace.

A Thousand Suns, then, in my view, is Linkin Park's first glimpse of solace.
Read more ›
58 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
115 of 131 people found the following review helpful By A. Estes on September 24, 2010
Format: Audio CD
What do you do when you're a top-selling rap-rock act and your genre has long since expired? The answer is simple: Evolve. In 2007, Linkin Park did just that. With the release of their polarizing third album, "Minutes to Midnight," they brought an unmistakable pop-rock element to the table, downplaying both the rap and the rock elements that made them such a hit in the first place. While it performed well enough commercially, it alienated a good chunk of their fanbase, paving the way for a predictable "return to their roots" album. Unfortunately for that chunk of fans, the band's latest offering, "A Thousand Suns" is anything but predictable or reminiscent of the Linkin Park of yesteryear. And believe it or not, it's a good thing.

Trading in the undeniable hooks and chunky guitar riffs that populated their earlier albums for synthesizers and hip-hop beats, "A Thousand Suns" is certainly a tough cookie to swallow. While the tasty licks of guitar-God Brad Delson (sarcasm) will forever be missed, the band more than makes up for it in ample amounts of ambience. A semi-concept album, "A Thousand Suns" brings to mind a more angsty version of "Year Zero," with its themes of war and humanity. You may wonder if a band like Linkin Park is up to the task of making such a bold artistic statement, but surprisingly enough, they pull it off rather competently. With Rick Rubin once again serving as co-producer, the band gives the set a centralized theme and sound, even if the songs themselves wander down different paths.
Read more ›
16 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful By painttheblack29 on December 16, 2010
Format: Audio CD
I got hooked on Linkin Park about 5 or 6 years ago when I really started listening to music, and when I say hooked I mean hooked. I would not only listen to Hybrid Theory and Meteora non-stop, but I would listen to any unreleased song I could find. I was a die-hard fan. So naturally when I heard that they were going to put out Minutes to Midnight, I would look high and low for any glimpses of what the new material would be like. When the album finally dropped, I bought it, but was a bit let down. I expected the Mike Shinoda's raps over the rock beat with Chaz shredding the chorus with sing-scream lyrics. Instead, I got a few hard songs, and a bunch of soft ballad-esque songs. But the ballads grew on me, and Minutes to Midnight became one of my favorite CD's. So flash forward 3 years to the release of A Thousand Suns, I basically knew what to expect. The soft songs took some getting used to, but in the end they became favorites.

1 - The Requiem - Leadoff song with an apocalyptic feel. The distorted refrain from The Catalyst adds a chilling perspective to it. Overall a good way to start the album off.

2 - The Radiance - More of a driving beat, with an excerpt from the speech from Mr. Opphenmeier talking about the atomic bomb and relating it to the Bhagavad Gita (a text I just finished for one of my college courses). Not anything really special, just a filler

3 - Burning In The Skies - Really soft electro song with Mike singing the verses and Chester singing the chourus. Beat is made up of electronic drum and a toned down electric guitar and piano. Bridge of the song has some pick-up of the guitar to give it more of a driving beat

4 - Empty Spaces - Think Civil War. Sounds pretty cool.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category