Customer Reviews


366 Reviews
5 star:
 (253)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun, Good Humor, Great Movie
"The Three Amigos!" is good fun, a rare comedy that plays well with the whole family. Slapstick, wit, funny songs, sight gags, all tongue-in-cheek transcends generation.

The Plot?
Three actors get fired by their production company and try to make it on their own. Their first gig in Mexico turns out to be more than act. Much to their surprise, they were...
Published on August 29, 2005 by A.Trendl HungarianBookstore.com

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, terrible transfer
I love this movie, but this transfer is horrible. It was taken from a movie print instead of an original copy of the movie, so it's grainy, has serious stability issues, and is generally not pretty. Not only that, but it's letterboxed on the disc, so if you have a 16x9 television, you'll be watching the movie with black bars on all sides of the screen, with the actual...
Published on July 13, 2010 by D. Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun, Good Humor, Great Movie, August 29, 2005
This review is from: Three Amigos! (DVD)
"The Three Amigos!" is good fun, a rare comedy that plays well with the whole family. Slapstick, wit, funny songs, sight gags, all tongue-in-cheek transcends generation.

The Plot?
Three actors get fired by their production company and try to make it on their own. Their first gig in Mexico turns out to be more than act. Much to their surprise, they were hired to protect a town from a thieving band of bad guys, lead by El Guapo, an unusual bandito with a strong vocabulary.

As great movie comedy goes, "The Three Amigos!" might be overlooked. It doesn't have the constant laughter that might be expected. Why? It has an intelligent plot.

While calling this a serious drama would be forgetting that Steve Martin, Chevy Chase, and Martin Short are the stars. Steve Martin, though, in the last 20 years, has veered away from total silliness, except when the humor is organic to the plot.

Of all the scenes I found funny, one with Martin Short hanging from a piñata, when El Guapo comments how the Three Amigos keep appearing, like they are falling from the sky. As expected, Short falls. Predicted, and still funny.

There are nuances of Monty Python in here, and some fantastic parody of silent films. Each of three stars purposefully overplays his role is makeup reminiscent of the great Buster Keaton. Overall, the balance between plot and humor, over-the-top and subdued humor works in grand fashion.

I fully recommend "The Three Amigos!"

Anthony Trendl
editor, HungarianBookstore.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sew! Sew like the wind!, March 4, 2002
This review is from: Three Amigos! (DVD)
This is Steve Martin, Chevy Chase, and Martin Short in their comedic prime, playing recently fired silent movie actors forced to earn money by ridding a small Mexican village of its evil oppressor. They assume it is nothing more than a Public Appearance gig, but the enemy is quite real!
This movie is kinda goofy, kinda silly, and all funny. Each of the three comics gets his turn to shine in memorable gags, and there are too many of those gags to list here. Watch for a pre-"Saturday Night Live" Phil Hartman and John Lovitz in an early scene. Funniest bits: Short and Martin running out of water in the desert, Short telling his story of being "discovered" by Lillian Gish's sister, summoning the Invisible Swordsman, Chase trying not to blow his cover in front of the main villain and his henchmen, and Steve Martin's character learning that the supposedly "staged gunfight" is actually real.
Cost of DVD with shipping -- [item price]
DVD player -- $200.00
Microwave popcorn -- 85 cents
Laughing your [head] of watching "The Three Amigos" -- PRICELESS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lip balm?, December 15, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Three Amigos! (DVD)
Regardless of what the critics say, this movie is hilarious. The comic chemistry between Steve Martin, Chevy Chase, and Martin Short is great, and you'll remember the classic one-liners for years to come. The quality of the DVD version is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The critics be damned, December 9, 1999
By 
Mark Michinok (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Three Amigos [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is, without a doubt, one of the greatest movies ever made. Not only are the comedic situations hilarious, but a classic 'heros save the day' situation touches your heart while tickleing your funnybone. I could never understand why the critics all miss the joke while countless others share my absolute love of this cult classic. It ranks up there with the best of the Saturday Night Live alumni celluloid offerings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, clean slapstick comedy, June 30, 2006
By 
This review is from: Three Amigos! (DVD)
I remember seeing "The Three Amigos" in the movie theatre way yonder in my days of youth. At the time, I thought it was the funniest film I had ever seen. Three of my favorite SNL stars Chevy Chase, Steve Martin, and Martin Short in one film. How much funnier can a movie be? Not much.

Chevy, Steve, and Martin plays three recently out of work actors in Hollywood. They are contacted by Carmen (the lovely Patricia Martinez), thinking that the characters they play in a film are real, to help out her town who are being bullied by a bunch of bandits headed by El Guapo. The trio of out of work actors thinks that Carmen is looking for actors to perform for her and her townspeople. The miscommunication quickly leads to one hilarious scene after another.

It's hard to pick a favorite scene. I love the singing bush, the dance number in the ol' Mexican dive, and the final showdown between the trio and El Guapo's gang. Hopefully someday "The Three Amigos" will receive a proper dvd treatment which would include bonus footage as well as better sound and picture. There is nothing crude or obscene about "The Three Amigos" except maybe the shooting scenes but they were obviously fake and not very realistic. This is a good family film to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She'll be riding three white fools when she comes., May 18, 2001
By 
Gabriel (Bury St Edmunds, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Three Amigos! (DVD)
Just wait, stop and think for one minute... Steve Martin, Chevy Chase, Martin Short... put them together, in a film, with funny little costumes, horses, a great comic-script, some stunning catchphases and incredible characters... and my friend you have yourself a film.
I have always loved this film but lost touch with it until its latest release on DVD. The actors' achievements before and since say enough, but their comic timing and performances in the film are absolutely outstanding to watch and have me in fits of uncontrolled laughter each time... no matter what I do, it happens everytime, I even know what gags are coming up, that doesn't help! I give in to the tears and surrender to the comedy giants popping up on the screen in front of me.
The story tells of three actors who, for reasons they explain, feel they should be getting a bit more... it doesn't turn out the way they planned, and when offered to take up their screen legend personnas 'The Three Amigos' to fight injustice for real, the decision has to be made whether to fight and die like men, or run like pigs. Which one do you think they pick?
Scenes to watch out for: My Little Buttercup / Piarie Lullaby / The Singing Bush / The Final Defeat of the baddies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can I have your watch when you are dead?, March 17, 2000
By 
This review is from: Three Amigos! (DVD)
I get weird looks for saying this is one of my favorite movies of all time, but hey, let them stare. I still constantly quote this movie. I met my boyfriend when he broke out into "My Little Buttercup" in the middle of Biology Lab and I sang with him. This movie is campy and silly...but it's supposed to be. Summon the invisible swordsman? Oh, man, that's classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good movie, no special features, December 30, 2002
By 
This review is from: Three Amigos! (DVD)
This is another movie that my girlfriend could not believe i have never seen. What makes this one even stranger is that friend from college had been talking about this movie for years, and i still had never seen it. Now i can finaly say that i have seen The Three Amigos .
The premise of the movie is that a Mexican woman sees a movie of the Three Amigos saving the day. Only, she does not know it is a movie and thinks it is a newsreel. She invites the Amigos to help save her town from the bandits. Having just been fired from their movie studio, they accept, thinking that it is a chance to do a show and get paid for it. The movie stars Steve Martin, Chevy Chase, and Martin Short.
The movie is funny and enjoyable as we see the Amigos go on the comedic misadventures. The only negative is that i had just seen Blazing Saddles and could not help making comparisons to it. The Three Amigos falls short in comparison.
There are no special features on the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A true comedy classic, July 5, 2009
This review is from: Three Amigos (DVD)
This movie is a real riot! The characters, dialogues and situations are simply laugh-out-loud funny.
I am not sure this movie is getting it's' due credit, but at $5 this is simple a steal. The replay value alone is worth so much more! Get it!

P.S. The actors metioned as the main cast in this specific product are not really the principals (those are, of course, Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short) although they do appear in the movie. I think Amazon was just trying to differentiate this dvd from the other one that is out of print but that still appears in the catalogue.
Still, Amazon should do something about this so as not to confuse people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Transcendent Infamous Amigos, November 23, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three Amigos! (DVD)
I saw this movie when it was first released with a friend and all our kids and today I was looking for dvd's for Christmas presents for my now grown kids and came upon this one. I started laughing just thinking about it. Not only is this probably one of the best comedy's ever made, you can watch it with your whole family without having to explain anything and just have a good time. I'm going to be with my family on Christmas and we're going to watch this together along with a "trivia" game following for fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Three Amigos
Three Amigos by John Landis (DVD - 2009)
$5.98 $5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.